We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
57
17
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
17
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi tubeach morningblue dolphin innwedding cakeocean wavescookieselectric fireplaceseascapeprivacyanniversarydrivewaykeurigmoonstoneshighwayrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 79 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Check in and service for these 3 cottages is provided by the Blue Dolphin just a block along Moonstone Beach Drive. The nearby Sand Pebbles is under the same ownership. First time staying at Cambria, although passed through many times before. Cottages have exceptionally high quality furnishings and fittings, and the standards set by the owners (and apparently monitored by the management --something often not found! )-- are very high indeed. Everything which can be thought of, has been. Mariner Cottage (rearmost of the 3) a wonderful, comfortable place to be in in a first class location.
Just as at Blue Dolphin, breakfast is offered to be delivered to the room at a time requested. Although including several delightful options, such as smoked salmon, this offering is a little inflexible and we felt the arrangement committed us too much to a specific time. However, in answer to a request we were assured that breakfast would be available to us at the Sand Pebbles Inn if we wanted; we did, and it was - we were welcomed there.
At around $200 in late October, the cottages are certainly not cheap, but heck, this is Cambria, and this is the best location in town. Although difficult to criticise, our reasons for giving, reluctantly, only a 4-level rating are that the cottages are very small, and do present some difficulty to people like us, visiting California for a couple of weeks from the UK and having quite a lot of baggage; and the small site makes parking pretty difficult, particularly if you have a large car. But superb, nonetheless.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed in the Mariner cottage (farthest from the road) because we were scared off by previous reviews that indicated that the front cottage was too close to the road and traffic. In all honesty, when we were there, there simply wasn't enough traffic for that to be an issue. Perhaps in peak season it could be annoying, but if you want the front cottage, I'd say go for it although I was glad I saved the money by being further back. We still had an excellent view of the ocean from our room. Half the time we were there, it was too foggy to see the ocean anyway so proximity to the ocean was a mute point. The room itself was cute & clean albeit really too small for comfort. The sink in the bathroom was one of the smallest I've ever encountered. The robes and slippers were a nice touch. My husband really appreciated the free internet access since the previous 3 nts. we stayed in Yosemite, it was not complimentary. The breakfast that was delivered to our room each morning was very good and it was nice being able to eat in our pajamas! The Moonstone Cottages are only 10 min. from Hearst Castle (no stoplights), making it a good choice for someone plnanning on going there. Morro Bay was maybe 20 min. away, again making the Moonstone Cottages a good choice if you want to kayak in the quiet waters of Morro Bay. The restaurant next door was very good albeit very expensive. We really enjoyed walking along the boardwalk right across the street and even climbing down to the ocean to get closer to the crashing waves. All in all, it was a wonderful experience. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention how friend;u and helpful the staff at the Blue Dolphin Inn was. That's where you check in -- just about a block down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

After reading the previous review 2 days before our trip we began to panic a bit. This was our 20th wedding anniversary trip and we really wanted a good experience. I called the office to confirm the check-in location at the Sand Pebbles, and asked if breakfast was still delivered, and was told by the nice lady that it would be. When we arrived, the people at the Sand Pebbles could not have been more accommodating. They gave us all the necessary info, and showed us where the breakfast would be served if we chose to come over to the hotel to get it. However, a friendly and helpful guy in the breakfast room told us all we had to do was call in our order the night before and they would bring it over. including the freshly made waffles if we so chose. We then drove to the room, with some trepidation based on the review below. After about 5 minutes at the Seascape, we wondered if that person had gone to the same place. Yes, the road is right there, but it is that way for all the properties on that street that face the ocean. There is not that much traffic--we were there for the weekend on the first Saturday of the high season, with perfect weather by the way. The deck is not particularly private, but I didn't think the website implied that it was. Certainly no one walked onto it while we were there. The room itself was very nice, clean and decorated in a vaguely nautical manner. Great bathroom with a big tub and separate shower, small kitchenette with a microwave and sink, flatscreen tv with a dvd, internet...basically, everything you would expect for the price. The staff made us a cake for our anniversary, which we ate with thankful delight.

All in all, we would highly recommend this cottage. It's cute from the outside, nice on the inside, clean, helpful and friendly staff, and located right across the street from the coastal path. Sunset was gorgeous, and Cambria itself is as fine example of American Tourister as you could ask for. One note if you go, avoid the restaurant that is a few steps away. Mediocre, indifferent service, and expensive. Great location seems to have made them complacent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I booked the most expensive of 3 cottages described as 'peaceful, tranquil and private' (Seascape) for a Sunday night stay. On our arrival at 4.00pm we found the Dolphin Inn, where an e-mail a few weeks previously had told us to check in, closed and obviously undergoing a major renovation. A note on the back of the building directed us to the Sand Pebble Inn which was several hotels back along Moonstone Drive . The Seascape cottage was very exposed to the road(Moonstone Dr.) and all the passing traffic both car and foot. It was hard to hear the surf over the noise of passing cars and the view was not of the beach or surf as across the road there was a wooden walking path and then a steep drop to the beach. Cars, vans and even small RVS were parked at various points on the road. The small exposed patio at the front of the cottage was only raise a few inches above the road level and had a tiny bench on it less than 4 feet I think. The cottage was just wide enough for a double bed and the only way to sit by the fire(gas) was to move the small upright chairs in to the walk by space at the bottom of the bed. The kitchenette was a small surface at the back of the room with the usual appliances. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub on one side of the door and a toilet and dark shower with a curtain on the other side of the door. I don't think there was a door in to the bathroom which was visible from the front door as you entered or from outside if lights were on. While we were looking at the cottage two sets of people came right up to the front of the patio to remove a brochure advertising the cottages from a box placed there. Of course they stared in the windows also. The only way to be private in this cottage was with all the blinds closed. Parts of the hardwood floor were scratched and did not look very clean. We were told at the Pebble Inn that they were not delivering breakfast to the cottages any more as it was too far away but we were welcome to walk over and have breakfast(self serve) at the inn. This was a major disappointment for our 24th. wedding anniversary. Eventually the receptionist at the Sand Pebble Inn gave us an oceanfront room there but otherwise we would have left as we felt so uncomfortable. The two other moonstone cottages looked similar but were set back on the long narrow lot between Moonstone Dr. and highway 1, one behind the other with a little staggering so you could see the ocean from the door of the second cottage. There was an empty lot to one side of the cottages and a few cypress trees on the cottage lot but not a"grove" as advertised.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank feuilte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed in "The Mariner" cottage, and it was fantastic. Overall experience was superior. The staff was very pleasant, courteous, and accomodating. The cottage we stayed in was very clean, in a great location, very comfortable, in a scenic & romantic setting, and contained all the amenities we needed & more.

Since this was our anniversary celebration, we received a nice gift of a beautiful cake delivered to our cottage. It was delicious. After telling the staff we loved the cake and would like to purchase one to enjoy a second time, they took the time to bake another, deliver it to us, and all for no charge. Very sweet!!

We will most definately return to this cottage and very much look forward to that.

We very highly recommend this lovely place to stay in Cambria. The cottage is located very close to the scenic beach and pretty walking area to view the wildlife and scenic seashore. We encourage you to take advantage of this romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CoronaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews