We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
57
17
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
17
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi tubeach morningblue dolphin innwedding cakeocean wavescookieselectric fireplaceseascapeprivacyanniversarydrivewaykeurigmoonstoneshighwayrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a drive along PCH 1 from LA to Monterey and spent 2 delightful evenings in the Garden Gate Cottage which is one of 3 available at the Moonstone Cottages in Cambria. What a delight...quiet, romantic, beautiful. We enjoyed watching the sunset, walks along the beach, and just quiet time! The cottage was lovely. The first cottage (I can't remember it's name) has a totally unobstructed view of the beach. Each morning a basket with yogurt, fruit, and pastries was dropped off at the door. The only negative would be that they were having unusually warm temperatures and there is no a/c and no ceiling fan. A ceiling fan would have made our stay perfect!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank suzonnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed in the Mariner cottage. The room was dusty. Mirrors over bar sink & coat hooks were smudged noticeably. Shower had a couple strands of hair in it - not from us. The stuffed bear on the bed also had hair (not from us) on it as well.

We watched the maid going from cottage to cottage cleaning on the morning of our departure. The Seascape & Garden cottages took her all of 20 mins to clean. Gross! It was full occupancy the night before. Maid should be doing a better job of cleaning the rooms.

OUR BIGGEST GRIPE - at check in, we were told that they had to send a maintenance guy to our cottage to repair something on the tv. We expect repairs to be done BEFORE we check in! It was really annoying having to wait 25 mins for this maintenance guy to do the repair.
Note: There was something creepy about the maintenance guy. We had noticed him w/the maid on the morning of our departure as mentioned above. He was noticeably upset w/her & they were arguing about something. Neither one of them greeted us w/a "good morning" when they saw us standing there. We felt it was very unprofessional behavior for a guest to witness!

Cottages are cute but we don't know if we'll book again.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank norcalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I first saw a review of the Moonstone Cottages in Sunset Magazine, and I can honestly say that our stay in the Mariner's Cottage exceded our expectations. The cottage is comfortable, and a wonderful place to unwind from the world. I highly recommend the property, and the Blue Dolphin Inn staff, which manage the cottages, are wonderful. In particular the staff were extremely helpful suggesting activities and restaurants in the area. We wanted a different experience from the "motel" by the beach properties along the Central coast and were very pleased with our experience. We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tweetiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed in the Mariner's Cottage last year on our anniversary and are going again this year for our anniversary. It obviously made quite an impression on my husband. We have stayed at many b&bs around California and have had quite a lovely time. But this was unique since it was just you and your honey. If you're looking for a quiet getaway where you don't have to worry about socializing with others during breakfast and you want it to be totally private, this is the place for you. You're right by the beach and next door to a restaurant (Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill) that serves a wonderful breakfast. Also, The Sea Chest is just down the street. There is a fridge and coffee maker, etc. My husband and I just went to a local market in Cambria and picked up some milk and breakfast goodies (like bagels & cream cheese, fruit, and some cinnamon rolls from one of the bakeries) and that was our breakfast for the weekend. We could eat in our Pjs in the comfort of our own room. We had a fabulous time and are looking foward to going again in a few weeks!!!!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank tobascolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

Moonstone Cottages is the most unique vacation spot I have ever been to. We had our own private cottage, practically on the beach. The gardens were fantastic and full of color. The rooms were designed with the best in mind. Everything was so extravagent. But most of all it was private. We had the best time.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Taunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews