We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good, but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #2 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very Good, but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is great for the area but its very different. First, the doors open to the outside with a metal key. There is no AC in any room and the heat is a fake fireplace. Only one window opens if you want air from the sea and breakfast is poor. Coffee, frozen bagels and oatmeal is your "free" breakfast. There is a small hot tub and a great view across the street plus boardwalk. Staff is also not there all night but its the middle of know where on the PCH.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmonstrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    199
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
97
402
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel twice now and we are sure to go back. The ocean front rooms are a splurge, but the views can't be beat. Plus, the rooms have big jetted garden tubs and walk-in showers! We brought cheese and wines so each night we could have a cheese plate on the patio while watching folks walk and drive by, and the in-room fridge was perfect to keep our goodies cool. The continental breakfast is pretty lackluster, but that would be the only thing I can think could improve.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColleenQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

There were 6 of us and we had 3 seafront facing rooms at the end of a drive from San Francisco down the coast road. The rooms were all of a good size with well equipped bathrooms and the views were spectacular - watching the sun setting over the sea. The only surprising thing was that the corridors to the rooms are all open at the ends so quite a breeze past the bedroom doors. There is also no lift up to the first floor, but if you park at the back you are then on the same level as the first floor at the front. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful and recommended several places in Cambria where we could eat, since there is no restaurant on site. The breakfast was a bit limited but adequate for our needs. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us and we are glad we stayed. This is a good hotel for a 1 night stopover. We booked a sea view room and to sit out on the terrace watching the waves was a great way to wind down. We had a great nights sleep in really comfortable beds. A nice continental breakfast was included and complimentary snacks in the afternoon.
The service offered by the staff from check-in to checkout was exceptional and the best we had throughout our trip - well done.
Would pass on the recommendation to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandar044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel looks like it is very new. Everything was clean and like new. Good size bathroom with granite sink counter and marble on the floor and walls. The bedroom had a fireplace and had modern wood flooring. They serve a good continental breakfast too. The king bed had white sheets, down comforter and duvet. Anthony would be proud of them.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms might be somewhat quieter. We could hear people walking above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in mid July 2014. Friendly staff, clean, spacious, comfortable room with tasteful furnishings. We had room 110 with a partial ocean. The pastries at breakfast were delicious. The room was a little noisy, so I would recommend getting a second story room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As with most hotels, it's always best to reserve the top level floors in order to avoid any noise from above. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your destinantion, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Only stayed here for one night on 3rd July 2014. Staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. We had a partial sea view room on the first row away from the front of the property. This allowed us to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean which was great. Breakfast was also one of the best we had in any of the hotels we visited on our two week tour of California.
The best element was the location just across the road from the fantastic beach. We were lucky enough to see the sunset as the clouds cleared during the afternoon which is really something we will remember. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the grill restaurant along the beach front.

Room Tip: Sea view of closest possible to the sea make all the difference here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisatkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience.

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing