We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #2 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get the upgrade!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Two couples stayed one night late February. When we booked I asked for at least one room with 'a view'. Upon registering we realized a partial ocean view was a glimpse of the water over the parking lot with no outside patio/balcony. Disappointed, I asked about a better view and the clerk was very gracious and offered the last of the ocean front rooms on the first floor at a very good price. It was definitely worth it, the view was amazing to enjoy on our private patio! There are only about 8 or 10 rooms facing the ocean across the road, the rest border the parking lot. (It would have been nice to have some kind of guest patio or something to look out over the water without having to pay the extra room charge) The rooms themselves were huge, very nicely appointed, big bathroom, nice sitting area, and oh that fireplace! They had a nice continental breakfast in the morning and a sweet hot tub although not on the water-that would've been perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for their best price on ocean front, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upnorthsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your oceanview room. We can honestly saw we offer some of the best oceanview rooms in the area. We're glad our staff was able to accommodate you. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    201
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
409
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is one of the nicest places to stay in Cambria. The people couldn't be nicer. The rooms are fantastic and some have wonderful ocean views without the steep price! A fireplace in every room. Huge bathrooms. Huge rooms. Wine and goodies in the afternoon at sunset. A pleasant and filling help yourself breakfast in the morning. It's spotless and they are currently doing maintenance to keep the rooms in good repair and ready for high season. This is being done do quietly that only if you see it, like we did, would you know they are doing it. Comfy beds! Lots of pillows. Right on the beach. And right next door to the BEST seafood restaurant in town, The Sea Chest. They have a wonderful enclosed hot tub that can be used all day and into the evenings. It's easy from the guest rooms do you the guests don't hear it.

Room Tip: Choose room 210, 208 or 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksondlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Wow, thank you for the fabulous review. We're glad you liked the recent upgrades we've made to the rooms. We have been really excited about all the positive feedback we have been receiving from our repeat guests, such as yourself. Thank you for staying with us again, we value you as a guest.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

About 10 of the rooms available have straight ahead ocean views with balconies to sit out on and enjoy your wine and snacks while watching the sun set.

Snacks and wine glasses provided by the hotel. -
Bring your own bottle of wine.
All the other rooms have pick a boo views of the ocean..

Additionally the location is perfect for getting in line to dine at the Sea Chest Restaurant.
(This restaurant do not take reservations.
But they are right next door to Moonstone Landing).
See my review of Sea Chest Restaurant here on Trip Advisor.

We stayed for 3 nights and got to see at least 5 different sets of management running the place. ALL of which really seemed to care about each of the guests and really trying to help make the guests stay in Cambria fulfilling.

The hot tub area has just been redone as of 2/14/14 and in a clean earthy modern style.
Also each of the rooms floor has recently been redone, from carpet to a hard surface flooring.

The rates are quite reasonable and you may be able to do just as well by calling direct. 800-830-4540

We look forward to staying here again -
The next time we return to visit Cambria and the Hearst Castle.
`

Room Tip: The rates are quite reasonable and you may be able to do just as well by calling direct. 800-830-45...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LumenateTHEway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Manager at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Wow, we love it when our guests love every aspect of their stay! We're glad you noticed the upgrades we are making to the property. From the new wood flooring in the first floor rooms to our newly updated Spa. It's always our goal to provide a relaxing and memorable stay for our guests. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay an extra night in Cambria a couple weeks ago. We pulled into the Moonstone landing on a whim on the way out of town. Kira was working the front desk and she was very kind to us and got us a 1st floor ocean front room with a patio for $150 a night.

It was only 10 am and we were able to put our stuff in our room right away. The room was very nice, excellent view of the coast and a great bathroom as well. The continental breakfast was ok. But for sure a good choice when heading to moonstone beach. We will be sure to check it out on the way to the coast once again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ledieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We'll be sure to let Kiera know how much you appreciated her hospitality. Providing superior guest services is something our staff takes pride in. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again should you ever be in the area.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location right across the road from the beach. The balcony rooms are pricey but have the straight ocean view. I stayed in a partial ocean view room. Nice afternoon snack provided and limited breakfast. Rooms have a nice "fireplace" for heat, table and chairs and a comfortable bed. Watch the rate. When she couldn't find my reservation she offered me a drop in rate but then found it and up went the price. Didn't like that increase after the lower offer, heard the negotiating with couple before us so watch the price you pay. Liked the plug ins in the bedside lamps for my electronics.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleetlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, our guests' love the gas fireplace in the rooms, they provide a wonderful ambiance while heating the room. We are sorry to hear about the confusion on your room rate. There are so many varying factors on the rates that without knowing your specific circumstances it's difficult to say what transpired, ie; an internet reservation versus reservations made over the phones, AAA rates as well as rates based on current occupancy. We will be sure to address this with our staff. Thank you for choosing us for your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We planned on staying at Moonstone Landing for one night, and decided to extend it a second night because of all the great things about this hotel. First: location- it is right across the street from the Moonstone Beach board walk and every room has a view of the beach and ocean. Second: loved the staff! Very personable as well as efficient (usually you get one or the other- here- they were great!). Third: the rooms are so cute! Fireplace, plenty of room, and the best bed! Plus- cable tv and wifi. Fourth: The hotel is very clean and updated- while we were there, it was evident they are updating each of the rooms. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a partial ocean view- the lower the room number, the more view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our family owned and operated property takes great pride in providing a comfortable stay. We're glad you noticed the upgrades we have made and continue to make to our property. Including the new Flat Screen T.V.'s, new lamps, wood flooring in our first floor rooms, and a complete update to our outdoor Spa. We are now in the process of re-painting all of our rooms with a new color scheme that we are truly excited about! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a fabulous surprise to find this gem. It was a last minute booking late in the day and one of the last rooms left. Big room, big bed (albeit not as comfortable as one would like), a fireplace and the most spectacular view from our balcony. This is a little gem!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted you loved your ocean front room and the view. We can honestly say that our property boasts the best ocean front rooms with views in the area. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your stay.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,692 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing