We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location! Very caring Staff! & extremely clean!”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #2 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location! Very caring Staff! & extremely clean!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

About 10 of the rooms available have straight ahead ocean views with balconies to sit out on and enjoy your wine and snacks while watching the sun set.

Snacks and wine glasses provided by the hotel. -
Bring your own bottle of wine.
All the other rooms have pick a boo views of the ocean..

Additionally the location is perfect for getting in line to dine at the Sea Chest Restaurant.
(This restaurant do not take reservations.
But they are right next door to Moonstone Landing).
See my review of Sea Chest Restaurant here on Trip Advisor.

We stayed for 3 nights and got to see at least 5 different sets of management running the place. ALL of which really seemed to care about each of the guests and really trying to help make the guests stay in Cambria fulfilling.

The hot tub area has just been redone as of 2/14/14 and in a clean earthy modern style.
Also each of the rooms floor has recently been redone, from carpet to a hard surface flooring.

The rates are quite reasonable and you may be able to do just as well by calling direct. 800-830-4540

We look forward to staying here again -
The next time we return to visit Cambria and the Hearst Castle.
`

Room Tip: The rates are quite reasonable and you may be able to do just as well by calling direct. 800-830-45...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LumenateTHEway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Manager at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Wow, we love it when our guests love every aspect of their stay! We're glad you noticed the upgrades we are making to the property. From the new wood flooring in the first floor rooms to our newly updated Spa. It's always our goal to provide a relaxing and memorable stay for our guests. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    202
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
98
413
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay an extra night in Cambria a couple weeks ago. We pulled into the Moonstone landing on a whim on the way out of town. Kira was working the front desk and she was very kind to us and got us a 1st floor ocean front room with a patio for $150 a night.

It was only 10 am and we were able to put our stuff in our room right away. The room was very nice, excellent view of the coast and a great bathroom as well. The continental breakfast was ok. But for sure a good choice when heading to moonstone beach. We will be sure to check it out on the way to the coast once again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ledieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We'll be sure to let Kiera know how much you appreciated her hospitality. Providing superior guest services is something our staff takes pride in. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again should you ever be in the area.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location right across the road from the beach. The balcony rooms are pricey but have the straight ocean view. I stayed in a partial ocean view room. Nice afternoon snack provided and limited breakfast. Rooms have a nice "fireplace" for heat, table and chairs and a comfortable bed. Watch the rate. When she couldn't find my reservation she offered me a drop in rate but then found it and up went the price. Didn't like that increase after the lower offer, heard the negotiating with couple before us so watch the price you pay. Liked the plug ins in the bedside lamps for my electronics.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleetlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, our guests' love the gas fireplace in the rooms, they provide a wonderful ambiance while heating the room. We are sorry to hear about the confusion on your room rate. There are so many varying factors on the rates that without knowing your specific circumstances it's difficult to say what transpired, ie; an internet reservation versus reservations made over the phones, AAA rates as well as rates based on current occupancy. We will be sure to address this with our staff. Thank you for choosing us for your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We planned on staying at Moonstone Landing for one night, and decided to extend it a second night because of all the great things about this hotel. First: location- it is right across the street from the Moonstone Beach board walk and every room has a view of the beach and ocean. Second: loved the staff! Very personable as well as efficient (usually you get one or the other- here- they were great!). Third: the rooms are so cute! Fireplace, plenty of room, and the best bed! Plus- cable tv and wifi. Fourth: The hotel is very clean and updated- while we were there, it was evident they are updating each of the rooms. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a partial ocean view- the lower the room number, the more view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our family owned and operated property takes great pride in providing a comfortable stay. We're glad you noticed the upgrades we have made and continue to make to our property. Including the new Flat Screen T.V.'s, new lamps, wood flooring in our first floor rooms, and a complete update to our outdoor Spa. We are now in the process of re-painting all of our rooms with a new color scheme that we are truly excited about! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a fabulous surprise to find this gem. It was a last minute booking late in the day and one of the last rooms left. Big room, big bed (albeit not as comfortable as one would like), a fireplace and the most spectacular view from our balcony. This is a little gem!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted you loved your ocean front room and the view. We can honestly say that our property boasts the best ocean front rooms with views in the area. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your stay.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Location is WONDERFUL - right on the beach ! Complimentary breakfast and "munchies" in the afternoon were vey much appreciated.
Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill and Sea Chest, two restaurants within walking distance, are great places for a waterfront meal (Sea Chest is serving only seafood and takes no credti cards but well worth visiting).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarateKid51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
It's always a delight to hear when a guest loves every aspect of their stay. We're glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. With our property being located directly across the street from the ocean and within walking distance of 2 restaurants, our location definitely can't be beat. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed at Moonstone Landing for 2 nights. Our room which we were very happy with was very clean, comfortable, spacious and had a side ocean view. There was a choice of juice, cereal, fruit, bread and pastries for breakfast, hot drinks were also available throughout the day. In the early evening there was a selection of cheese, crackers, crudités, dips and sparkling cider, a nice touch. The location across the road from the ocean could not have been better, there are two good restaurants within easy walking distance, we also enjoyed the walk into the first part of the village where there are more restaurants, the further village area where there are even more restaurants is too far to walk at night. The staff were all very polite and helpful, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's clear you enjoyed every aspect of our property and it's offerings. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing as your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing