We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Excellent location right across the road from the beach. The balcony rooms are pricey but have the straight ocean view. I stayed in a partial ocean view room. Nice afternoon snack provided and limited breakfast. Rooms have a nice "fireplace" for heat, table and chairs and a comfortable bed. Watch the rate. When she couldn't find my reservation she offered me a drop in rate but then found it and up went the price. Didn't like that increase after the lower offer, heard the negotiating with couple before us so watch the price you pay. Liked the plug ins in the bedside lamps for my electronics.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Sleetlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, our guests' love the gas fireplace in the rooms, they provide a wonderful ambiance while heating the room. We are sorry to hear about the confusion on your room rate. There are so many varying factors on the rates that without knowing your specific circumstances it's difficult to say what transpired, ie; an internet reservation versus reservations made over the phones, AAA rates as well as rates based on current occupancy. We will be sure to address this with our staff. Thank you for choosing us for your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Moonstone Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 664 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We planned on staying at Moonstone Landing for one night, and decided to extend it a second night because of all the great things about this hotel. First: location- it is right across the street from the Moonstone Beach board walk and every room has a view of the beach and ocean. Second: loved the staff! Very personable as well as efficient (usually you get one or the other- here- they were great!). Third: the rooms are so cute! Fireplace, plenty of room, and the best bed! Plus- cable tv and wifi. Fourth: The hotel is very clean and updated- while we were there, it was evident they are updating each of the rooms. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a partial ocean view- the lower the room number, the more view you get.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our family owned and operated property takes great pride in providing a comfortable stay. We're glad you noticed the upgrades we have made and continue to make to our property. Including the new Flat Screen T.V.'s, new lamps, wood flooring in our first floor rooms, and a complete update to our outdoor Spa. We are now in the process of re-painting all of our rooms with a new color scheme that we are truly excited about! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a fabulous surprise to find this gem. It was a last minute booking late in the day and one of the last rooms left. Big room, big bed (albeit not as comfortable as one would like), a fireplace and the most spectacular view from our balcony. This is a little gem!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front overlooking the ocean
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted you loved your ocean front room and the view. We can honestly say that our property boasts the best ocean front rooms with views in the area. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your stay.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Location is WONDERFUL - right on the beach ! Complimentary breakfast and "munchies" in the afternoon were vey much appreciated.
Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill and Sea Chest, two restaurants within walking distance, are great places for a waterfront meal (Sea Chest is serving only seafood and takes no credti cards but well worth visiting).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarateKid51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

It's always a delight to hear when a guest loves every aspect of their stay. We're glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. With our property being located directly across the street from the ocean and within walking distance of 2 restaurants, our location definitely can't be beat. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed at Moonstone Landing for 2 nights. Our room which we were very happy with was very clean, comfortable, spacious and had a side ocean view. There was a choice of juice, cereal, fruit, bread and pastries for breakfast, hot drinks were also available throughout the day. In the early evening there was a selection of cheese, crackers, crudités, dips and sparkling cider, a nice touch. The location across the road from the ocean could not have been better, there are two good restaurants within easy walking distance, we also enjoyed the walk into the first part of the village where there are more restaurants, the further village area where there are even more restaurants is too far to walk at night. The staff were all very polite and helpful, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's clear you enjoyed every aspect of our property and it's offerings. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing as your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I frequent Cambria, this was the first time staying at this hotel. It is located on the main hotel street right across the street from the ocean. It was a great room with partial ocean view, can't complain given its price compared to other properties in the area. The fireplace was wonderful. The only thing was that the free breakfast was lacking in quality, no protein, just bunch of pastries. The other thing was the evening reception lacked the wine to go along with it. I would pay a little extra just to have those perks. Otherwise it was a great stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hanh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your room, Many of our guests love the ambiance of the fireplace in the room. We appreciate your feedback, it's always helpful to hear what guests are looking for. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The first night was pretty perfect. After my drive from a dental appointment that was unexpected I wanted to skip LA traffic and went straight to the hotel. Part of the aftercare for a couple of days was to rinse with salt and the lady at the front desk got me some so that was a relief. The place is very clean and new looking and the rooms are fancy with nice large tables to seat people. The food they serve in the evenings on the first night was very surprisingly good; olives with olive oil, cheese, crackers, dips...it was nice because I was too tired to go out again that evening. The breakfast the next day was good and had bakery pastries, cereal, bagels, some yogurt in a dish. Over the course of my days there during the Christmas holiday the food portions they put out got smaller and ran out; be it in the evening or in the morning. One evening when I got there after they put out the spread for all, the dip portions newly placed were tiny; maybe a few tablespoons for all. That was surprising compared to the first night and when you consider it was the holiday. Cereal also ran out at breakfast where there was none to be had. Customer service is excellent. I would recommend and go back, although I felt more could have been done to acknowledge the holiday of Christmas. Maybe put out some egg nog or wine; have a bigger tree; a little less carbs at breakfast, maybe easy to eat fruit like bananas, hard boiled eggs...hottub had no heat the first night; didn't try it again..overall because the staff was so friendly and service oriented and nice and the rooms were so luxurious and clean I give it a 5; I don't know how much it costs though as it was paid for me. Location is excellent, nice and quiet; great workers there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayReview216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that some items seemed to be running low during our breakfast and afternoon refreshments, we will be addressing this internally to avoid it from happening in the future. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $164 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing