We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
459
223
49
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
223
49
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front pastries across the street hearst castle partial ocean view continental breakfast first floor sea chest restaurant large bathroom wood floors gas fireplace jacuzzi bath stayed here for one night santa monica restaurant next door oceanfront room a nice touch
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 747 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Oceanview room was perfect. A little cool for my Florida blood but a nice change.Easy check in and snacks, movies etc. in the office. Close to the Hearst castle which is worth seeing and a cute little shopping down right down the street.Room was clean and updated. We will be back.

Room tip: Oceanfront all the way!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hello,
We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay. The central coast is definitely a cooler climate, which is great when trying to escape the heat. We're glad you enjoyed our afternoon refreshments and our complimentary DVD selection. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location:
-------------
There are two interesting areas in Cambria:
1 - The waterfront where you have the water, the beach, the boardwalk, many inns a just a few restaurants
2 - The town center where there are lots of shops and restaurants but no access to the beach without rather long walk (4-5 min by car).

Moonstone Landing is perfectly located in the waterfront area, halfway between the start and the end of the boardwalk.

The inn
-----------
We upgraded to the 2nd floor Ocean View room for 50$ and it was really worth it. I'm sure it made all the difference. We could watch the sun set into the pacific from inside the room; perfect for a romantic wine and cheese dinner (there is a cheese store in town called Indigo Moon and several wine stores).

Large room, large shower, large Jacuzzi bath. Very clean, good bed.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. There's nothing better than being able to enjoy the sunset from your Ocean Front room with the balcony. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoy a trip to Cambria every few years, and this hotel was definitely one of the best. We had room #203, which was top floor, center, facing the ocean. It was perfect for relaxing, sitting in the cushy room chair with the sliding door wide open, ocean sounds, views, and breezes filling the room, seagulls and pelicans gliding by. The room was very clean -- white sheets, white bedspread, carpet, bathroom, floors. I prefer a little softer bed, (weighing under 130 lbs, a soft-enough bed is not easy to find), but my husband said the bed was very comfortable, and I do agree.
In this economy, two nights at August rates was a little pricey for us, but we needed the get-away and the perfectness of the room made the money seem well-spent. On our next visit to Cambria we'd love to stay here again!

Room tip: Second floor rooms facing the ocean, with private decks, are the very best! (Rooms 201-205) The first floor rooms facing the ocean are also great, with private patio areas. (I assume room numbers are 101-105.)
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Hello,
It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your ocean front room. Having one of the full ocean view rooms with patios or balconies definitely allows our guests' to really experience the wonders of the ocean and sea life from their rooms. We also have partial view rooms where guests can still enjoy a view of the ocean at a lower rate. Thank you for your review, we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked this hotel for just 1 night during our trip back home from Santa Monica via CA-1.

Since we planned this trip to be very relaxed with plenty of time to stop at different cities and places to take pictures, we wanted to sleep somewhere in the middle between LA and San Francisco. And so I found in Google maps this small and charming city called Cambria. It was hard to find a room because most hotels were full but I ended up booking at the Moonstone Landing, at Moonstone Drive, which is a street right at the shore, full of nice little hotels, houses and restaurants. We arrived around 7pm and we were lucky enough to watch the beautiful sunset right in front of our room!

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's small but was hands down the best room we stayed in our entire vacation. And the location was also much better than expected. We'll definitely leave this hotel wishing we could spend more time here.

And by the way, Cambria is also very close to the Hearst Castle (less then 10 miles), which was also in our itinerary so, everything worked out really well.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Hello,
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our property is an ideal location to stay at when visiting Hearst Castle. Thank you for providing others with your positive experience, we hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After driving down the Salinas Valley from San Francisco we were looking forward to a restful night. Moonstone Landing delivered and then some. The owner made us feel relaxed on arrival and the room was very clean and comfortable. We had a downstairs room at the side but the bay window still gave us an ocean view. Just across the road is the boardwalk and beach where we saw pelicans and seals. Our only regret was leaving the following morning but we were relaxed and ready to continue our journey.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Groughleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to get the rest you needed. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews