We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sunset on an ocean front the balcony sipping wine after driving the Big Sur”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in Moonstone for 1 night as part of a road trip from San Fran to LA Sep 2012.

We decided to stay in Cambria as we were travelling south from Carmel that day on the Big Sur drive and we wanted to chill out after the drive and see Heart castle (10 miles from the hotel) the next morning.

Booked an ocean front top floor room (201) with beautiful ocean views and watched the sun set on our balcony sipping a bottle of vino we picked up in Napa earlier on the road trip. It was a perfect end to the day!

201 was a huge room, clean, great big jacuzzi tub an flat screen TV. Hotel had nice friendly staff as we were feeling lazy the seafood restaurant beside the hotel (Sea Chest) was convenient although the food was only just ok. While the room rate is not cheap ($250) it is well worth your while to splash out on an ocean front king bed room....go on you deserve it!

If we are ever in the area again we will definitely stay in Moonstone Landing.

Room Tip: Splash out on an upstairs ocean front king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portofella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your experience with others. We love to see when guests enjoy the full potenial of their stay, ie; enjoying the sunset from your balcony while sipping on some wine, nice seafood restaurant directly next door, and last but not least, a great place to relax after the drive through Big Sur. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 683 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Oceanview room was perfect. A little cool for my Florida blood but a nice change.Easy check in and snacks, movies etc. in the office. Close to the Hearst castle which is worth seeing and a cute little shopping down right down the street.Room was clean and updated. We will be back.

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hello,
We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay. The central coast is definitely a cooler climate, which is great when trying to escape the heat. We're glad you enjoyed our afternoon refreshments and our complimentary DVD selection. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Location:
-------------
There are two interesting areas in Cambria:
1 - The waterfront where you have the water, the beach, the boardwalk, many inns a just a few restaurants
2 - The town center where there are lots of shops and restaurants but no access to the beach without rather long walk (4-5 min by car).

Moonstone Landing is perfectly located in the waterfront area, halfway between the start and the end of the boardwalk.


The inn
-----------
We upgraded to the 2nd floor Ocean View room for 50$ and it was really worth it. I'm sure it made all the difference. We could watch the sun set into the pacific from inside the room; perfect for a romantic wine and cheese dinner (there is a cheese store in town called Indigo Moon and several wine stores).

Large room, large shower, large Jacuzzi bath. Very clean, good bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHotSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. There's nothing better than being able to enjoy the sunset from your Ocean Front room with the balcony. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoy a trip to Cambria every few years, and this hotel was definitely one of the best. We had room #203, which was top floor, center, facing the ocean. It was perfect for relaxing, sitting in the cushy room chair with the sliding door wide open, ocean sounds, views, and breezes filling the room, seagulls and pelicans gliding by. The room was very clean -- white sheets, white bedspread, carpet, bathroom, floors. I prefer a little softer bed, (weighing under 130 lbs, a soft-enough bed is not easy to find), but my husband said the bed was very comfortable, and I do agree.
In this economy, two nights at August rates was a little pricey for us, but we needed the get-away and the perfectness of the room made the money seem well-spent. On our next visit to Cambria we'd love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing the ocean, with private decks, are the very best! (Rooms 201-205) The fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Hello,
It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your ocean front room. Having one of the full ocean view rooms with patios or balconies definitely allows our guests' to really experience the wonders of the ocean and sea life from their rooms. We also have partial view rooms where guests can still enjoy a view of the ocean at a lower rate. Thank you for your review, we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked this hotel for just 1 night during our trip back home from Santa Monica via CA-1.

Since we planned this trip to be very relaxed with plenty of time to stop at different cities and places to take pictures, we wanted to sleep somewhere in the middle between LA and San Francisco. And so I found in Google maps this small and charming city called Cambria. It was hard to find a room because most hotels were full but I ended up booking at the Moonstone Landing, at Moonstone Drive, which is a street right at the shore, full of nice little hotels, houses and restaurants. We arrived around 7pm and we were lucky enough to watch the beautiful sunset right in front of our room!

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's small but was hands down the best room we stayed in our entire vacation. And the location was also much better than expected. We'll definitely leave this hotel wishing we could spend more time here.

And by the way, Cambria is also very close to the Hearst Castle (less then 10 miles), which was also in our itinerary so, everything worked out really well.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Hello,
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our property is an ideal location to stay at when visiting Hearst Castle. Thank you for providing others with your positive experience, we hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After driving down the Salinas Valley from San Francisco we were looking forward to a restful night. Moonstone Landing delivered and then some. The owner made us feel relaxed on arrival and the room was very clean and comfortable. We had a downstairs room at the side but the bay window still gave us an ocean view. Just across the road is the boardwalk and beach where we saw pelicans and seals. Our only regret was leaving the following morning but we were relaxed and ready to continue our journey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Groughleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to get the rest you needed. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July whilst on a holiday driving up the Californian coast.

The B&B is located directly opposite the pebble beach, which is stunning! The scenery was amazing and was also only a 25 minute drive from the elephant seal beach too.

The B&B was lovely clean and we was upgraded to a large double queen size room, with partial ocean view. The room had coffee making facilities, electric log fire, dining table and the beds were very comfortable. There is also free parking.

The owners provide a selection of games and DVDs for use and have a cheese hour in the evening and continental breakfast.

Another plus point is the gorgeous Sea Chest Restaurant & Oyster bar right next door. Had a wonderful meal here.

Would go back tomorrow and recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLu_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hello,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially appreciate your recommendation. Many guests such as yourself enjoy our free complimentary library of DVD's, as well as our selection of games and books to enjoy during their visit. Our gas fireplaces are also enjoyed by many as they provide a wonderful ambiance as well as heat. We are fortunate to have the best seafood restaurant in town, The Sea Chest, located directly next door to our hotel, thereby emlinating the need to drive anywhere for dinner. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $141 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing