We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stay for us”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Otis, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal stay for us”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were driving from LA to SF on highway 1 and wanted to stop near Hearst Castle. The property is right opposite the beach and although we didn't pay the upgrade for ocean view, we still had a partial view. The rooms all have fire places, and the bathrooms were huge and surrounded by marble. The receptionist, Mary, was extremely helpful. There were crackers, cheese, and olives in the lobby at check in, and we also took advantage of the free DVD movies in the lobby - each room has a DVD player. During our visit in Nov. The lobby was closed from 9 pm to 8 am, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofSunsetTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    204
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
101
420
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We love staying at Moonstone Landing. We have stayed here at least three times and each time has been a great experience. The rooms and especially the bathroom are spacious and very clean. I do agree with other reviewers that upstairs is better. I have noticed some noise from the restaurant next door at closing but it didn't last very long so didn't bother me much. Besides I always wear earplugs so I sleep through it all. I highly recommend Moonstone Landing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Got upgraded to oceanview room for a fair price. Very clean room. Love the bathroom! Ok breakfast for complimentary. Will go back for more vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeycritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This place is great!!! On the shore with a great view!!! Great service super clean rooms -great food walking distance. Comfy beds
Try the moonstone bar and grill also try the redwood cafe on main st. Try this place out u won't b disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantisbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We loved staying at this family owned hotel/motel on Moonstone Beach. We booked a downstairs room, the northern corner in the front (105) and it had a kind bed with the jacuzzi bath and faced the ocean. The first night I heard a lot from the room above, but wearing earplugs the other 3 nights did the trick. Earplugs are highly recommended if you are a light sleeper.
The breakfast and the evening snacks were adequate. The only negative was the checkout time of 11:00 a.m. That is just unreasonably early. Our flight wasn't leaving until 9:00 that evening and even though we offered to pay to stay in our room until 5 (a half day's charge), the answer was NO. Our room was not taken for that Sunday evening, but they would not even consider it. They did allow us to check out slightly later, and the checkout was really the only negative. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator. First floor rooms hear the noise from above. If you don't turn off the DVD player...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loriglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stay at this hotel all the time, and usually love it and the staff is always wonderful. But as other guests have mentioned, staying down stairs can be annoying and our amorous neighbors above us made the 3 am wake up call not attractive, not counting the turning on of the spa tub at before 6 am even more annoying. We will never stay down stairs again. The hotel is starting to get a little long in the tooth and could do with some maintenance. But will probably stay again as long as the room is upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is our favorite place to stay for many reasons.Falling asleep in that big comfortable bed with luxurious sheets is oh so wonderful, two days here are as refreshing as a weeks vacation. The service is excellent, friendly and personal. Close to town and walking distance to restaurants. A quick drive to Hearst Castle and many wine tastings. No smoking (yay).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristiKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing