We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill offers our diners breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. Diners may choose to sit outside on our ocean front patio or they may sit inside where our large picturesque window allows a vast view of the ocean. We offer fresh seafood, steaks, and pasta. Our specialties include our creamy clam chowder and mouth-watering sauces that compliment every fresh seafood entree. For meat lovers, we offer a variety of juicy, delicious steaks. If you're a fan of onion rings be sure to order our Pork Chops; you won't be disappointed. We are known for our delicately battered fish and chips and our scrumptious fish tacos that make for a delicious lunch plate. Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also boasts a full service bar where we have a variety of beers and a wine list that features central coast wineries. For the adventurous drinkers, be sure to try something from our special cocktail menu. We take pride in our excellent service and being a kid-friendly establishment with a free toy for every child. While we love pets, we do ask that you leave your pets at home when dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill. When dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill remember to sit back, relax, and enjoy!
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had dinner with some friends. None of us loved our meal. The clam chowder was flavorful but floury. The coconut shrimp were nothing special. Service was fine but the food is over pricedand disappointing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. I have noted your complaints. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    713
    291
    79
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Anticipating a low-key evening of good food on the Central Coast of California, we headed to the Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill in Cambria. We walked in only to have a shrill manager yelling the credit card machines were down and they would only be accepting cash. We put our names on the list and my husband left to search for ATM machines throughout this remote ocean town. Within moments of his departure, the shrill women walked through casually and said, oh did you hear our credit card machines are back in service? A 2 minute crises? Meanwhile, with no phone service, we could not contact my husband. They called our table immediately but would not hold it until my husband returned from his hunt to find cash. We reluctantly headed to the table only to find one of the most overly inflated priced menus for average food we have ever seen. Recognizing that this was a well disguised tourist trap we left and continued to try and hunt down my poor husband who was still searching for cash. BTW, we had a lovely dinner 3 miles north on Highway 1 at the Best Western's Cavalier restaurant. We highly recommend that one!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebrook49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I apologize that you were handled incorrectly. Mechanical errors are never easy and I'm so sorry you were inconvenienced. This situation was a learning experience for my manager and your dining experience has been discussed with everyone on my staff. Lessons have been learned.
My sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Moonstone must...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We found the restaurant delightful and the food fabulous. Great service. Went for a supper and a lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank we2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bad Night, Maybe?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Not impressed by this restaurant. Came recommended by our hotel. Not very clean, dated decor, service so-so, food only OK for the price. There are better places around. That said, the outdoor patio is quite nice, if a coastal view is desired.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VMykles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. The health department rates us as an "A" and we pride ourselves on that rating. We redecorated our entire dining room this year with new tables, chairs and artwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location, excellent food, friendly/awesome service...this is a MUST in Cambria. Our server, Victoria made our evening the best. Go enjoy it all...it's memorable.

Helpful?
Thank ADVann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your time and your rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing