We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view + Great Bloody Marys!”

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill offers our diners breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. Diners may choose to sit outside on our ocean front patio or they may sit inside where our large picturesque window allows a vast view of the ocean. We offer fresh seafood, steaks, and pasta. Our specialties include our creamy clam chowder and mouth-watering sauces that compliment every fresh seafood entree. For meat lovers, we offer a variety of juicy, delicious steaks. If you're a fan of onion rings be sure to order our Pork Chops; you won't be disappointed. We are known for our delicately battered fish and chips and our scrumptious fish tacos that make for a delicious lunch plate. Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also boasts a full service bar where we have a variety of beers and a wine list that features central coast wineries. For the adventurous drinkers, be sure to try something from our special cocktail menu. We take pride in our excellent service and being a kid-friendly establishment with a free toy for every child. While we love pets, we do ask that you leave your pets at home when dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill. When dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill remember to sit back, relax, and enjoy!
Amarillo, TX
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Amazing view + Great Bloody Marys!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Each time we visit Cambria, my husband and I make it a point to go here, sit on the patio and order a bloody mary and fish and chips. If you get a chance, sit at the bar on the patio--there's a view of the ocean across the street. The wait staff is friendly and everyone is always in a good mood due to the mild coastal weather. My mom always orders the cajun shrimp tacos and I know they are great as well! The real winner though is the Bloody Mary--spicy, strong and with pickled asparagus!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tumbleweed_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and the details you posted and hope you get a chance to dine with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    773
    318
    86
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very dependable - never disappoints”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our favorite meal at the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill is lunch. My husband and I order the bowl of spicy fresh clams and an order of the green salad with gargonzola and sweet walnuts and share them. He has a beer and I have a glass of white wine. This year on New Year's Day, we met friends there for dinner. No reservations were accepted, so we ordered drinks at the bar. We were given generous pours of scotch and gin. This time, my husband ordered the same menu selections, but just for himself, and I had a delicious rack of lamb. Our friends ordered fish, and everyone was pleased with their meals. We ordered wine by the glass, since we didn't want to share the same bottle. Moonstone is friendly and casual. We always feel comfortable there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your great rating and wonderful comments! We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you dining with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food in a fantastic location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Dined at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill last Saturday night for the first time and it was very good. We had seats inside right against the windows facing the beach. Enjoyed watching the beautiful sunset over the ocean before we went inside. Even though it was a Saturday night, we didnt have to wait long at all for a table - only a couple minutes. However, we did arrive around 5:30 to beach the crowd. I noticed on the way out there were several people waiting for a table, so a reservation might be a good idea.
Food was good all around. Between the four of us we had steak, scampi, salmon, and crab cakes. Everyone was pleased with their meals. The sides were all very tasty as well. Good food and good atmosphere for beach side upscale dining.
The only negative is that the restaurant is a little pricey, but I guess most everything in Cambria is on the pricey side. Our meals were about $35 each and that's without the wine. But if you're in Cambria, you cant go wrong with this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbrew3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and highlighting your dining experience. We appreciate your time and comments and hope you can dine with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Celebrate New Year's Eve!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a most spectacular New Year's Eve celebration on the deck at Moonstone Bar & Grill in Cambria. We went early as we were a party of six and did not have reservations, but we were seated right away on the beautiful, heated deck. It was a gorgeous night in Cambria-by-the-Sea and altho we were offered lap blankets, did not feel the need. Drinks were ordered and arrived promptly! The wait staff was extremely attentive and positive toward the small children in our party. Everyone was made to feel right at home. The food was delicious (as always) and arrived in a timely fashion. Seafood is their specialty, but there are steaks and other choices. Dessert was I n c r e d I b l e! Cheesecake from Heaven! This visit confirms how consistent Moonstone Bar & Grill service and food remains - holiday or not. (We also drive over for lunch on occasion.) This place never disappoints! Pricey this particular night, after all it was New Year's Eve..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Critter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time your took to write it and thank you for your loyalty. We hope to see you dining with us again soon!
Happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year's Lunch”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We always try to eat here during our annual Cambria vacation. The food is good and the patio view can't be matched. We went there for lunch Jan. 1, 2014 and decided to eat inside since the wait for the patio was 30+ minutes. An inside table was a 10 minute wait. We still good a great view and were rewarded with a terrific server, Richard. He made us feel that we were his only customers, checking on us, making sure the food was prepared the way we wanted. The Salmon Sandwich (excellent!) was $16.95 and the Cajun Shrimp Tacos (excellent) also $16.95. A split of sparking wine was $6.75 (Tobin James Dream Weaver - yumm!) and a Double Barrel Ale is $4.50. We had a very enjoyable, relaxing lunch. There is a lot of seating inside and out and you can expect to wait. The restaurant doesn't take reservations and closes between 3-5 pm - check the website for hours.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you dining with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing