We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice on Moonstone Beach Dr”

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill offers our diners breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. Diners may choose to sit outside on our ocean front patio or they may sit inside where our large picturesque window allows a vast view of the ocean. We offer fresh seafood, steaks, and pasta. Our specialties include our creamy clam chowder and mouth-watering sauces that compliment every fresh seafood entree. For meat lovers, we offer a variety of juicy, delicious steaks. If you're a fan of onion rings be sure to order our Pork Chops; you won't be disappointed. We are known for our delicately battered fish and chips and our scrumptious fish tacos that make for a delicious lunch plate. Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also boasts a full service bar where we have a variety of beers and a wine list that features central coast wineries. For the adventurous drinkers, be sure to try something from our special cocktail menu. We take pride in our excellent service and being a kid-friendly establishment with a free toy for every child. While we love pets, we do ask that you leave your pets at home when dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill. When dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill remember to sit back, relax, and enjoy!
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice on Moonstone Beach Dr”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner with grilled swordfish and iron-flat steak. Food came with a distinctive grilled flavor. Even our 8 and 9 year old daughters loved their pasta. While our waitress sometimes was too busy to come around, Jim, the manager, made a point to check on every patron. He ran after me for 200 feet to hand me the hat that I left behind.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write a detailed review. Your business is important to us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    750
    304
    86
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - Too Bad About the Food & Drink!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently went to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill for Happy Hour drinks and appetizers. What a beautiful location, just across the street and a stone's throw from the beach and crashing surf. Too bad the food is so mediocre. The selection of wines available by the glass is very limited and the choices abominable - this is a crime, as Cambria sits right next to major wine growing areas of Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo and Edna Valley. This is one of only two restaurants on the tourist strip of Moonstone Beach and has the best location of any restaurant in town - too bad that it is such a DUD!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMESINTHAILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We strive to serve good food with good service in a great atmosphere. Our wine menu has 42 selections of wines all for the central coast of California except one.
Your comments will be shared at our next staff meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for view and certain food items”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are locals and have been coming here for more than a decade. We love certain dishes, but wouldn't rate 4 stars for everything, so this rating is geared to our tastes. Our favorites are clam chowder, Cajon Shrimp Tacos, Fish & Chips, Eggs Benedict (Sunday Brunch only), great salads, and for dinner Scampi. However, they have a large menu selection so something for everyone is available.They have a full bar and drinks are fairly good. Good outdoor casual seating for families as well as couples. Service is generally good and the staff is friendly. Views are great, only ocean view restaurant in Cambria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discriminating1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for listing your favorite items. Your comments and opinions are important to us. We take them seriously and use them at our staff meetings. Thank you, also, for being a loyal customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very popular and didn't disappoint”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great Service and our meal was just right! Shared an entree of Asian fish cakes then we both had the Angus Steak cooked to perfection. I chose the smaller 60g serve which was perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank karinr613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your rating. We appreciate your time and business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We sat on the patio which is just lovely. They are known for their clam chowder, which won rave reviews from our table. The remainder of our meal was very average, but too expensive to recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Your comments are important to us. We will use them at our next staff meeting. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing