We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a beautiful setting with a chilly wind (ask for a blanket when outside!)”

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill offers our diners breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. Diners may choose to sit outside on our ocean front patio or they may sit inside where our large picturesque window allows a vast view of the ocean. We offer fresh seafood, steaks, and pasta. Our specialties include our creamy clam chowder and mouth-watering sauces that compliment every fresh seafood entree. For meat lovers, we offer a variety of juicy, delicious steaks. If you're a fan of onion rings be sure to order our Pork Chops; you won't be disappointed. We are known for our delicately battered fish and chips and our scrumptious fish tacos that make for a delicious lunch plate. Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also boasts a full service bar where we have a variety of beers and a wine list that features central coast wineries. For the adventurous drinkers, be sure to try something from our special cocktail menu. We take pride in our excellent service and being a kid-friendly establishment with a free toy for every child. While we love pets, we do ask that you leave your pets at home when dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill. When dining at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill remember to sit back, relax, and enjoy!
Evesham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful setting with a chilly wind (ask for a blanket when outside!)”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely if somewhat chilly meal here over Easter. At 6.45 when we stopped by the sun was shining and it was a lovely warm evening. However we were told no tables would be free for 30 minutes so we said we'd go for a walk on the beach and be back in 45 minutes. When we returned we were shown straight to our table but it was now dark and a lot colder. the manager came straight to us and gave us lovely warm blankets which made us both warm and happy and made our meal much more fun.
Food was great; the kids ate from the very reasonable kids menu and my wife and I ate two courses from the three course menu anyone who can put away three courses has a bigger stomach than me!). The food was great as was the service. My scampi dish was a treat and came with beautifully cooked vegetables; something that I always think is a sign of quality.
Our meal for two adults and two children came to $90 with two kids main courses. One adult having a soup and appetizer and another having a soup and a main. Kids had soft drinks. Adults had a beer and a couple of glasses of house red.
I've come very close to awarding 5 stars for this review but have only given four because while the food was very good and I have no complains it wasn't anything outstanding. Still very highly recommended though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenimGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your opinion and hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    773
    319
    86
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“if you sit outside, it can get cold!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we had fried oysters w/ chipotle sauce. Okay. I had swordfish (slightly overcooked), wife had seared scallops--delicious, but you had to eat quickly while outside, as things cool off FAST. People VERY friendly--service was EXCELLENT.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BimBam976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your comments and feedback and hope that you will try us again so that we may have a chance to improve your dining experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious meal and beautiful coastal location”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ate dinner at this restaurant about a week ago, following a Spring break trip to Hearst Castle. Our motel was just down the road within walking distance, so we decided to take a chance and were glad we did.

Food was super fresh and perfectly prepared (my daughter even ate all of the vegetables!) with generous portions. Service was attentive, and the owner went around to every table to make sure everything was satisfactory. Loved the "Moonstone Mary" cocktail and highly recommend the sea bass; the sauce was amazingly good. Would definitely go here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate your thoughts and hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Large dinners only; great location”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our experience was average to good. We got there just after sunset and there was a half-hour wait for an inside table. So we got a couple beers from the bar and took them to the outdoor patio overlooking the ocean while we waited. The bar had no beers on tap and no Dos Equis. I settled for a bottle of Corona and my wife got some American beer.

We should have looked at the menu before entering for dinner. When we got the menus we saw there were no smaller-portion meals like sandwiches, etc. We weren't all that hungry and really just wanted a beer and a burger. The menu choices are all large dinners, mostly steak and seafood, with most priced around $25. I got the flat iron steak which was quite tasty, with mashed potatoes, and nicely prepared vegetables. My wife just got a salad, which was really disappointing -- plain lettuce right out of a bag (seemingly) and nothing else, and she ate little of it. So I got more food than I wanted and my wife was still hungry when we left.

It's a great location, though, and if you get there before sunset (or afterwards if it's warm outside) and want a large dinner, you'll enjoy sitting on the outdoor patio.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobHEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I appreciate your feedback. Splitting entrees is always an option and I hope our waiter offered that choice to you. If you are ever back in our area again, please give us another try so that we may have a chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate here recently since it was walking distance from the Fogcatcher Inn where we were staying. We arrived after sunset so sitting on the patio would be too cool but looked nice on a sunny afternoon. I had the Sea Bass which came with a orange,ginger sauce which was wonderful. Hubby ordered Coho Salmon with a basil cream sauce also delicious. Both dishes were excellent, prices are not extreme. We brought our own bottle of wine, they have a $12 corkage fee which is reasonable compared to other restaurants in the area. The manager came around to the tables to greet the customers and ask how the meal was added a nice touch. Great experience we will visit again. We love Cambria and loved the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your wonderful comments. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back visiting soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing