We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambrian magic on a plate!”
Review of Robin's Restaurant

Robin's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center Street
Description: International fare and farmer's market fresh. Located in a vintage home in the East Village of Cambria, Robin's has been committed to serving handcrafted global cuisine since 1985. Our commitment to seasonal, fresh, sustainable food & gracious service keeps delighted guests visiting time & time again. Experience authentic curries alongside Latin, and European flavors complemented by a fine, local, heavy wine list. Cozy indoor seating or dine in our lovely heated & covered patio. Sunday brunch & regionally themed monthly Prix Fixe dinners. We have a beautiful garden for small weddings & special events. Additionally, dining with your pooch is available in our garden.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cambrian magic on a plate!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Cambria has been described as being populated by urban refugees. It is a small town that is home to a group of highly educated, artistic people with style and flare. This comes together in some culinary magic at this wonderful restaurant. I am usually highly leery of any restaurant that serves American, Thai and Indian cuisines on the same menu; believing that most restaurants do better focusing on one cuisine or a particular fusion. In this case, I stand corrected. Here you will find fun and creative dishes that change up frequently and if you are interested in a fair selection of wines this is the place. The last time I was here, I enjoyed a beet salad with fresh greens, an escolar fish done to perfection on a bed of grilled vegetables and a glass of albarino wine. My business guests enjoyed tandoori chicken and pad thai. We shared a goat cheese cake with marmalade for dessert. Can't wait to stop by this restaurant next time I am in Cambria!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMadScalpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    359
    115
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, Ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Four of us were shopping downtown and stopped in for a light lunch. We had our dogs with us and were delighted to find that they had a lovely outdoor area. It was protected from the wind and adjacent to a beautiful garden. We ordered the salmon soup and some homemade chips...both very good. Our dinner reservations that night were for another restaurant, but we decided to change them and come back here with another couple in our group and we were so glad we did. Again we sat outside under the heaters even though they were not all that necessary. It was quiet and we even had lovely background music provided by the cafe behind us. Between us we ordered the duo beef, duck, tarragon chicken, and lamb sausages as mains and salmon soup and beet salad for first courses. Everyone raved about their dishes. This was probably the best meal of our trip. The service at both lunch and dinner was excellent. It is a charming spot with great good and we will definitely be returning to Robins on our next visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FOmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
249 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“One word: DeDe”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a simply lovely meal at Robin's on our last visit. It was in the midst of some truly unusually warm weather. The back patio was, however, lovely in the evening. All of our meals were first rate but it was our waitress, DeDe, who MADE the evening for us. She was attentive and knowledgeable but on top of that she was funny and cheeky and we had a great time talking to her. What ever she is earning, they should give her a raise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I went here for our first anniversary dinner. The restaurant is in a lovely little downtown area that I didnt even know exists! The food was good. It wasn't quite as mouth-bursting-flavorful as I expected, but it was so fresh. For the price, I expected a bit more flavor, but it was still very good, along with attentive service. Definitely make a reservation!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summerlaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
330 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good food, stingy portions”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely place, inside & out, with a relaxed, casual atmosphere. Service was good, not great. Our food was delicious but over-priced. For $14 we got about an ice-cream-scoop-sized blob of curry chicken salad... really, it was almost laughable except that we felt ripped off (& we ARE used to tourist area prices; this was simply too much). I doubt we'll return; there are so many good restaurants along the coast where we feel we get our money's worth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaisVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robin's Restaurant also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Robin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing