We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not made to feel welcome and shamed”
Review of Robin's Restaurant

Robin's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center Street
Description: International fare and farmer's market fresh. Located in a vintage home in the East Village of Cambria, Robin's has been committed to serving handcrafted global cuisine since 1985. Our commitment to seasonal, fresh, sustainable food & gracious service keeps delighted guests visiting time & time again. Experience authentic curries alongside Latin, and European flavors complemented by a fine, local, heavy wine list. Cozy indoor seating or dine in our lovely heated & covered patio. Sunday brunch & regionally themed monthly Prix Fixe dinners. We have a beautiful garden for small weddings & special events. Additionally, dining with your pooch is available in our garden.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not made to feel welcome and shamed”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we entered the restaurant, we had been laughing in the car about something really funny. We were still laughing when we entered the restaurant, and the hostess looked at us with complete disdain and said "oh, you must have been wine tasting," like we were a bunch of spring break drunkards (we are in our late 30s and 40s and we work at high-level jobs). We were not even remotely drunk--we were just having a good time, having not had a vacation from our stressful jobs in months. But, this person immediately made us feel unwelcome and terrible. She sat us way in the back and the waitress still treated us like we were unwelcome, even though we actually being quiet and actually very serious (talking about, of course, our stressful jobs). It totally ruined our night. I wouldn't go back there if you want to feel happy and welcome. The curry was good, but not worth the rudeness. The hostess had a lot of audacity to judge mature people who would be more than willing to spend $40 a meal plus wine and give good tips. But, we didn't get wine. . . because you ruined our very precious time that we rarely get.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerswithTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanny C, Public Relations Manager at Robin's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear TravelerswithTaste,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so very sorry to hear of disappointing experience with us as it's our goal to delight our guests, not shame them. What you have described should never happen and for that we are deeply sorry. Your review will be used in re-training staff on guest service and the expectation level for all Robin's employees.

Deepest Apologies,
Molly Kiely, marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    356
    114
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best salad ever!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch there and it was fabulous. Great service, and our entrees were delicious. I had the quinoa salad with grilled chicken breast. Fabulous combo of textures and flavors. My friend had the empanadas and was quite pleased. The service was great too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The menu is pretentious but the quality is not the best, e.g., the featured prime rib was neither tender nor juicy, the roasted beans were so dried out that they could not be chewed. It is irritating to get water only in a plastic bottle and a very small glass with NO ice (purportedly to save water).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Unusual and delicious. This place is rated number two for a reason. It's a must try! Try the Curry dishes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and Dog Friendly”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Everything from start to finish at this restaurant was amazing. We showed up at the time of our reservation and we were seated on the patio right away. We had an amazing salmon bisque soup with some great calamari. Dinner was just as exceptional as the appetizers. The bread pudding was great but not award winning. The wife and I definitely plan on going back with our pooch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank McKinleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robin's Restaurant also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Robin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing