We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with great seafood”

Sea Chest Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place with great seafood”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

What a great way to eat in the Camel area. This restaurant is so special. Everyone seems to be having a terrific time. You may have to wait for a table but you can chill on the beach or on a patio overlooking the beach. If your alone or a couple sit at the bar. Marco is amazingly friendly and the service is terrific.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudiacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    316
    143
    61
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's the Line for? So-so good ”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We heard this place was so awesome, but I would say "so-so" The hostess was rude. The restaurant was kind of dark and dingy. The waitress was very nice. The food portions are too big I think. Overall I thought it was okay. I was expecting a lot better considering the line out the door. They take cash only, and no reservations. Few drunks at the bar made for a not do romantic atmosphere!

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkisreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Come on ,add some spice !”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The fish was all well cooked but staff need to treat customers as guests and the older lady on the desk showed no warmth .The food was all average in terms of flavour and as Brit I would expect some seasoning on the fish and the potatoes ....come on ......rosemary or lemon or garlic or salt and pepper or all of the above ,come on ,such fresh fish deserves better treatment and better delivery .No effort for younger fish fans .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mroverall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geyserville, California
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“What's the Hype?”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Second time I've been here. Had the fresh halibut. Good but I've had much better. All four of us thought the same. Great service and despite the long line, they got us in way under the 40 minutes we were told. Got a glass of wine from the bar and went out to watch the whale activity. We all agreed that we like Moonstone Bar and Grill better. We went there twice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiannaC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh and simple”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was so glad to have read previous reviews mentioning no credit cards (but an ATM) and no reservations. We had perfect service from our server, Kaleia. she was thoughtful, very nice and efficient. I had a mixed plate of local and East Coast oysters...yum! Fresh, hot horseradish to make my own cocktail sauce and plenty of lemon. Dinners were plainly presented with lemon, tartar sauce (excellent) or cocktail sauce. Vegetables were simple with dried herbs. Dessert, a pear tart was delicious. No reason not to go here if you don't mind waiting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Chest Oyster Bar also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sea Chest Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing