We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cape Cod restaurant on the West Coast”

Sea Chest Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Cape Cod restaurant on the West Coast”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the minute you enter, you feel as if you have landed in Massachussetts.....A rabbit warren of rooms, tables covered with white tablecloths and a single rose in a bud vase....Lots of marine artifacts and almost kitsch-y, but not really, knick-nacks...In other words, a really fun place to take you away from California for a while.
Seafood is fresh, simply prepared....nothing extraordinary, but good, solid cooking and nice service with a smile ( to really make you feel that you are not in California!)
The bar was jammed with people watching the sunset from the front windows..All in all, a great evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mse1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    307
    136
    58
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Freshest Fish!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location on Moonstone Beach Drive. Cash only, 45 minute wait but WELL worth it! The Halibut was excellent! Nice wine selection! I highly recommend the Sea Chest!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Balconylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great option for the Cambria experience. Bring cash!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Be prepared to wait a long time and to pay cash. However, the bar has Trivial Pursuit and there is outdoor seating around a fire pit while you wait ( bring a jacket). It is expensive ($30 for halibut) but plenty of food. Ambiance is like an old ship; the lights even flicker. There is also seating at a bar around the kitchen and you watch the chefs. These seats seem to be quicker to get. Warning..there are no non seafood options that I saw. It's a lively environment that compliments any Cambria trip. Is it the only choice? No, But worth a try. $15 cork fee if you bring your own bottle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bring Cash, but it is worh it”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

It was surprising that we were there 15 minutes after opening and the place was almost full. When our party of 6 came in THEN they were full. We got the big table in the circle section that faces the ocean. We got the devil oysters for a starter; man, the oysters were huge! I we all ate some variation of fish ( go figure as this is the beach), it was prepared well and served hot. I recommend the chippino (-5 spelling); fish stew. You better bring an appetite; you will not go hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightning077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No reason to get so excited”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food was good but not wonderful, not great. When you read some of those comments - you are under the impression the food is to die for; not the case. A little pricy but all the restaurants in the area are around the same price. Would we return - No.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Chest Oyster Bar also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sea Chest Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing