We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got the last room in town.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Palms Motel to your Saves list
Cambria Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2662 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We got the last room in town.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a roof over our head for $150 on a Saturday. In contrast, we stayed in a 5 star hotel in the heart of San Francisco for $170 the night before.
The upside is, if you have your kids staying in a room next to you, you can hear what they are up to.
It's your average motel...just way over priced once we compare it to other places we have stayed in on this trip. The cute town it's attached to is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csaba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    76
    45
    10
    11
See reviews for
45
104
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a very good little motel...minimalist, but nice. Pergo flooring, real rattan chairs with leather cushions, mid-century desk, bathroom nicely tiled. Only clinker was the old sink vanity that was peeling a bit and had old bobby pins inside, which was a little yucky. Otherwise everything was very clean and in good shape. We were there for just one night and enjoyed our stay. It is an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoSoCak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Cambria Palms is at the end of Main St. on the west side of town heading out into the country, so you may hear owls hooting or see deer crossing the road if you take an evening stroll. We stayed several weeks in a nice unit at the back that has a kitchen and sliding doors which open to a garden where a fire pit is often lit at night.

Our oversized queen bed was great, very comfortable! The bathroom is roomy and remodeled with a shower but no tub. I believe all of the units in this motel have showers only which was fine with us. The kitchen is dated but very useful with a small oven and large microwave/convection oven combo, The refrigerator is medium sized, not the usual tiny frig in most motel rooms. A medium sized flatscreen TV is mounted on the wall in the corner of the room. Also in the 'living' area is a large divan and 2 wicker chairs.

Make sure you take a local paper, The Cambrian, offered in the office on Thursdays and read about local news and activities. This motel more than met our needs!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have easy access to the garden and fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anntd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Safe and comfy. Can't complain, very nice bed, has tv and clean kicthen felt safe staying here and staff really nice. Other than yukky tasting water, which isn't there fault! Not too shabby! Good price! :D

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherry_cools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September. This was an overnight stay for visiting Hearst Castle. Cambria itself is a lovely town and the sunset on Moonstone Beach is not to be missed. We stayed in the rooms next to the firepit. The room looked like it had been recently modernised. It was clean & tidy. I would recommend this Motel to anyone. The price was excellent and was about 50% less than what we paid elsewhere in California on our tour. The lady at the reception was very friendly and recommended places to eat in the town. A great little motel.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking firepit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie120c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recently stayed for one night at the Cambria Palms and was very pleasantly surprised - I think this will be the motel I use from now on when I visit Cambria, and I go there a lot.

I had stayed at the Palms a couple of years ago, when they were still in the process of renovating it. My experience was good at that time, but even better now, I was happy to see that they have added down comforters and that the floors are hardwood. They also have upgraded the TVs to flat screens instead of the little ones they supplied before. They added a bike rack outside with "cruiser"-type bikes the guests can ride into town.

My room and bathroom were clean, clean, clean - check-in was easy and pleasant, and the front desk person was very nice and helpful. Since I was just passing thru and only spending one night (and traveling alone), I didn't spend much time in the gardens in back, but they looked beautiful. They added a fire pit that was lit at sunset, along with chairs to relax in. I also took a walk down the street to the vacant lot/dog park (about a half block away) in the evening, and totally enjoyed myself listening to the owls in the trees, the creek, and enjoying the view. I found myself wishing that I could stay another night, but was unable to do so.

If you haven't been to the Cambria Palms for a while, I'd encourage you to visit it again - wonderful!
.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the motel (it's one-story) are the ones that lead directly out to thega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheadabovewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We made a spontaneous detour on our way back from Santa Cruz and couldn't believe the good price on this motel. We drove up, half expecting it to be a dump....but it was exactly the opposite. Very clean and tidy! The woman at the desk (I'm sorry but I've forgotten her name) was very friendly, helping direct us to an awesome place for dinner and making the reservation for us. Walkable to town and in a town so beautiful and charming (and in California) I can't believe there are places this decent for less than $100. Wow! No frills (pools, weight rooms) but we never use those things anyway, so it's nice not to have to pay for them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triciaoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.7 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Palms Motel

Property: Cambria Palms Motel
Address: 2662 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Motel located in Cambria along California's beautiful Pacific Coast Highway. Our guests enjoy a peaceful creek side location within walking distance to dining, wine tasting and shopping in the village of Old Cambria. Our accommodations are warm and comfortable, offering travelers a peaceful escape. Our property was recently remodeled in 2009 and guests will find that each of our 18 rooms has free Wi-Fi, new beds with 5 star quality comforters, in-room coffee, tea, and cable TV. We are a pet friendly establishment. Ask us for a complimentary wine tasting in nearby Harmony. Our beach cruiser bicycles are available on a first come, first serve basis. Take them out around downtown or to the beach! We are centrally located close to San Luis Obispo county's popular attractions. Hearst Castle & the Elephant Seals are 10 and 15 miles away. Paso Robles wineries are 12 miles away. We welcome tour groups, motorcycle clubs,and artist groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cambria Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Palms Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing