We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really top notch in every way.”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really top notch in every way.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Whatever you look for in a hotel, they probably have it. Easy walk to the beach, dog friendly, great service, DVDs to borrow, clean rooms, friendly staff... they put a picnic basket with breakfast in it on a hook outside your door, and they bake fresh brownies every night. Hard to find anything here that isn't perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    57
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
65
167
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, Ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I and our dog, Lucy, love the Cambria Shores Inn. The location is right across from the Moonstone Beach Boardwalk, the service was excellent, as were the rooms.
Everyone we dealt with in the office was friendly, helpful and efficient. We loved having the afternoon snacks and cookies in the evening and the doggie basket that we received at check-in. The rooms were very nicely decorated, clean, updated, and spacious...not your typical hotel furnishings. We were in room 1 which is right next to the office. The bathroom was large with lots of counter space and was very nicely appointed.
The breakfast consisted of a banana, a few strawberries, 2 apples, a container of yogurt, a couple of small wrapped pastries, a bagel (which can be toasted in the office) cream cheese and a carafe of orange juice. They have coffee in the office all day. There is a microwave and a small refrig in the room, so I would suggest bringing your own breakfast items if what I described is not enough for you.
There is a doggie potty area with baggies and the owners are dog people so are very accepting and welcoming to the pets. We sill definitely be back the next time we are in the Cambria area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were traveling on CA Rt 1 and stayed near Hearst Castle at the Cambria Shores Inn. Obviously recently renovated it had beautiful design and comfort features. Our room had a gas fireplace, wonderfully comfortable bedding, wireless internet, cable TV, privacy screening on the windows that let in light without losing privacy as well as draperies to close when one needed to sleep. The vanity area had a frig, microwave, coffee maker, wine glasses. It even had a lighted extension mirror for makeup and fixing the back of your hair.( Big Plus). A hook outside the door was for the continental breakfast basket. In the afternoon the office served cookies, then cheese and veggie munchies and ending with chocolate brownies. Many guests sat out front with their munchies on the chairs among the landscaping to watch the boardwalk and ocean just 20 feet away. It is pet friendly and just a lovely place to be. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great motel with a great welcome, and right on the shoreline. The highlight for me was probably the basket of breakfast they hang outside the room in the morning - a great start to the day! The staff recommended some great choices for dinner, and we walked into the West Village easily; the East Village would be a bit of a trek however in the dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I have traveled to Cambria for 12 years. Recently we have been traveling with our dog. We've admired Cambria Shores Inn on our walks and decided to try it. What a delight! It is VERY clean, updated. The staff is wonderful, they give you a basket for your pet which includes a dog magazine, towel, flashlight, dog treats, and eating dishes. Every morning a basket arrives outside your door with breakfast treats.

Probably the best part is to sit out on the lawn and watch the sunrise or sun set. Everyone is so friendly and happy.

You just can't go wrong, but book early they do fill up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed here twice over the past two years and I'm only now taking a minute to share my experiences. Both times we brought our 80lbs Gordan Setter and he enjoyed it almost as much as us! They give dog lovers a little basket with dog treats, a dog blankets, and little flashlight for late night walks…it's really awesome. The view from the rooms are stupendous and their breakfast is very tasty. Oh and did I mention the cookies they have in the office that you can help yourself to? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rkwok68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the first time we traveled with our dog, Bradley. Frankly, it was only because our dog sitter was not available, but it turned out remarkably well. I was somewhat concerned about a place that allows so many dogs and was worried that the rooms might smell. I can assure you the rooms were clean and fresh. I'm not quite sure how they manage it, but it's a testament to their housekeeping staff! Our room was a bit small, but lovely. Nice bedding, very comfortable bed, nice fireplace, microwave and mini fridge, beautiful bathroom with a large soaker tub and rain shower head. They provide a simple fruit, yogurt and pastry breakfast hung on a basket outside your room daily. Wi-fi was fast and reliable in the rooms and outside on the patio. The property has lovely gardens and comfy chairs facing the ocean..which is literally steps away. I would highly recommend this place and look forward to going back again someday.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Property: Cambria Shores Inn
Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing