We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to Go Again”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ready to Go Again”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Everything is newly renovated, with quality sheets, duvet cover, thick towels, flat screen TV, DVD player, internet, light dimmers, remote controls, frig, microwave, and dishware.The layout of the motel is a traditional old fashioned "drive up to your room " style. You can hear cars come and go, but mostly you hear the waves! There are several pet friendly motels in the area, but this one really welcomes pets. They have doggy towels, a dog bathtub, bowls, and bones. If you want privacy, you've got it, but the central lawn entices dogs and people to socialize out front. We brought 2 goldens, and met several other friendly dogs who all had fun playing together. The boardwalk outside, and the Cambria dog park, near the entrance to town, as well as a dog beach 10 minutes away, directly under the Cayucos Pier, make for some happy cannines. I am very fussy about hair and smells and our room was immaculate. You'll like this place even if you don't have a pet, and the management and cleaning staff are super. Be aware that you must cancel before 7 days of arrival, or you may forfeit 1 night's charges...and there is a $20 cancellation fee anytime you cancel. There is also a small extra charge for pets, but well worth it. Prices are lowest during the week. -- There are 2 restuarants within a few blocks of the motel. In one direction is the Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, an overpriced, really bad place that smells, and kept me wondering if I was going to get sick all night after trying their shrimp scampi which was boiled in some strange liquid solution. Instead, try the Cambria Sea Chest Oyster Bar, which several people raved about for seafood, (no credit cards), just a few blocks in the opposite direction. We also ate at the Wild Ginger Cafe (Asian food) in town and liked that very much. Can't wait to go back to the Cambria Shores Inn, a great seaside motel.

  • Liked — Newly renovated, clean, good bedding.
  • Disliked — Strict cancellation policy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling-Goldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    58
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
66
173
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This is a little gem of a place. Recently remodelled by someone who clearly understands interior design; spotlessly clean, modern rooms, lots of nice touches (e.g. wine and nibbles available early evening), a great location and attentive staff. It's incredibly 'dog friendly' but if you're not into dogs don't be put off - there's no hint of 'dogginess' in the rooms thmeselves. We only had one night but would have happily stayed longer.

  • Liked — Clean, modern rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SalopHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Cambria Shores Inn was a great place to take my new puppy. Clean rooms and friendly staff. The only thing I didn't like was it is a motel. Lots of foot traffic walking by the room.

We even were staying at another hotel another time, because they were booked up. My dog got muddy at the beach and they let me use the dog wash. That was a life saver.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Disliked — Motel, foot traffic in front of the room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LogansHeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Cambria Shores Inn really is the place to go to Renew Your Spirit. I have stayed at this property several times since it has been remodeled, and I just can't say enough about it. The friendly staff, the comfy beds, the fireplace, the plasma television, the kitchen nook with microwave and refrigerator--a home away from home. But best of all, this inn is really dog friendly. They don't just tolerate dogs, they treat them as VIPs (very important pooches). If you have been feeling burnt out, as I had, this is the place to go. Warm cookies and a million dollar ocean view shared with your dog. What could be better than that?

Helpful?
2 Thank Wheatens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Cambria - my favorite place to go except this time.
Cambria Shores Inn recently remodeled SOME of the rooms but even at that, poor design, unpeaceful paintings. New towel racks don't hold the towels, large shower head which pours out in one spot, poor plumbing, dusty rooms, our breakfast in the basket was exactly the same for 2 days with mold on the fruit the second day. When informing the owner of its shortcomings and needed repairs, he became very defensive. What ever happen to good customer friendly service when its our time and money spent there??
Advice: Owner and Staff get some PR training and get a new interior designer, contractor, major facelift and cleaning staff who know how to clean.

Won't go back there again!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — Cambria Shores Inn
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank artwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I found this Inn on "dogfriendly.com" while I was searching for a place to stay along the northern central coast with my large dog. Often, when I travel with her, the only options are "Motel 6"-like accommodations. Wow, was this a pleasant surprise.
The location directly across from the ocean, the impeccably friendly service, and the newly remodeled rooms (decorated thoughtfully and tastefully) were enough to win me over. Add to that the continental breakfast delivered each morning in a basket to the door, and the succulent landscaping with the comfortable Adirondak chairs facing the ocean seducing guests to relax in the front yard. The owners are not kidding when they say they treat you like a family!
A common exchange I had with the guests I ran into: "We're going to make this an annual trip and return to the Cambria Shores Inn. See you next year!" And I for one mean it -- no doubt the others do too.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Dulce_Vida_SFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Just returned from 2 nights at Cambria Shores Inn. Our expectations were exceded. This is a compeletly-renovated place right across from gorgeous Moonstone Beach. The new furninshing are plush and top-of-the line. The staff is amazingly friendly and accomodating. This hotel is extremely dog friendly, too. We are going back in two months, and will be back again and again. Do not be dismayed by the reviews from 2005/2006 reporting dirty, ungly rooms. The place has been complelety remodeled. Our room was spotless. It had a fireplace; lovely bedding, artistic fixtures. This hotel is a gem.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank barbgomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Property: Cambria Shores Inn
Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing