We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun dog Inn!”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun dog Inn!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a surprise! We have not traveled with our dog before and this Inn was a wonderful First experience. We were greeted with a 'doggie' basket at check-in- with mat, bowls, towel, biscuits, etc for the dog. The room was very clean and modern. There is an inside pocket door that can separate the kitchenette from the main room- and a 'back' door leading to a patio. The grounds were very nicely manicured and clean. In the lobby the 'people' snacks and dog biscuits were very nice The morning breakfast basket was a treat. Very pleasant to walk along the boardwalk above the beach. Friendly Inn keeper, Clean Inn and Picturesque surroundings- perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    58
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
67
173
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I arrived at the Cambria Shores Inn after a long drive. Tim checked me in and he couldn't have been nicer. They had coffee, brownies and cookies available which hit the spot. The location of this hotel is fantastic. They have Adirondack chairs out on the lawn facing the ocean. The boardwalk is across the small road. Our room was lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was left at our door in the morning. I absolutely loved it here and would have stayed longer except for the fact that I had reservations in Carmel that could not be changed. I will definitely be back at the Cambria Shores Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and our mini-Dachshund, Molly, had our first stay here recently. We go to Cambria many times each year but this is our first visit to Cambria Shores. What a jewel we have found!! This is our first time traveling to a motel with Molly and we cannot wait to go back!! Dog friendly is an understatement. Not to mention they treat their human guests equally well. The rooms are high-end and immaculate. The fireplaces are a wonderful touch as do the flat screen TV and the marvelously comfy beds. The owners made it so easy to travel with our Molly and Cambria itself is pretty dog friendly anyway. However, unlike many motels, you would never know there was ever a dog in the room. We had a lovely ocean view room and even though it was busy, the rooms are very, very quiet. The bathrooms are spacious and spa-like, with lots of grab bars, which came in handy since I am recovering from total knee replacement surgery. I cannot say enough good things about Cambria Shores Inn. I am so happy my birthday is next month...guess where we will spend it!

Room Tip: King deluxe...ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksondlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A joy to stay at, the Cambria Shores Inn is a traditional mom and pop motel, with the most friendliest and helpful welcome staff we experienced on our whole trip. We were upgraded to a larger room when we arrived - which was very kind of the owner. The rooms are so well considered, each having a log fire, kitchen facilities; are cleverly fitted in next to the bathroom - with everything you would need for a short stop-over. After a few days on the road, we really enjoyed a takeaway pizza, in front of the log fire, watching one of the rented DVDs from the front desk!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and really well thought-out extras like the breakfast basket; hanging outside our bedroom in the morning ready for us to enjoy in private in our own room, the fresh cookies available in reception, and the appetizer hour (nibbles and local cider) really made this stay special and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cambria Shores Inn to other friends. Oh and not to mention the view - straight out onto the ocean - possibly the best view from any hotel we've been to!

Room Tip: When booking, make sure you request an ocean view. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay on Moonstone Beach in Cambria with stunning views of the Pacific. The rooms are decorated lovely, and the breakfast baskets such a nice touch - particularly as we received a card from the staff congratulating us on our honeymoon. The Inn also has menus for all the local eateries at reception - which is a nice touch.
We did however have an issue when we came to check out. we had already paid for our room but the Inn had no evidence of this. It was only after I was able to access e-mails did it come to light that we had paid via a gift voucher. Despite there being an e-mail trail, this wasn't flagged on our account.

Room Tip: If you want to pay for your room before staying, make sure that take confirmation and ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed over the weekend with our Westie and loved this pet friendly inn. Appreciated the little welcome amenity upon arrival for our pup. The location overlooking Moonstone Beach was scenic, especially considering the great lawn set-up with the beautiful view. Enjoyed cocktail hour there at sunset before heading down the road a hop, skip and jump to the Seachest restaurant.

In the morning, the coastal fog had moved in and we noticed that the staff was on it wiping down the lawn furniture as guests emerged for their morning picnics. The complimentary breakfast basket they provide is simple, continental style and wholesome (pastries, bagels, juice, yogurt, fresh fruit). Overall, a nice stopover spot during our weekend wine tasting trip through Paso Robles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OC_traveler_529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place was perfect for our road trip through the coast of California. We spent two nights here and had a very relaxing time. Our room was newly renovated, but still felt warm and cozy. The staff was very nice. We arrived very late at night and they were able to accommodate our requests. Our little breakfast basket was also very nice. I wish there were a bit more hot foods though.
One word of advice is do not expect too much from the view. There is a parking lot in front of most of the rooms' windows so in order to see the ocean, you will have to look passed the parked cars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,888 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Property: Cambria Shores Inn
Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing