We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Not Perfect”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice But Not Perfect”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay on Moonstone Beach in Cambria with stunning views of the Pacific. The rooms are decorated lovely, and the breakfast baskets such a nice touch - particularly as we received a card from the staff congratulating us on our honeymoon. The Inn also has menus for all the local eateries at reception - which is a nice touch.
We did however have an issue when we came to check out. we had already paid for our room but the Inn had no evidence of this. It was only after I was able to access e-mails did it come to light that we had paid via a gift voucher. Despite there being an e-mail trail, this wasn't flagged on our account.

Room Tip: If you want to pay for your room before staying, make sure that take confirmation and ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    58
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
68
175
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed over the weekend with our Westie and loved this pet friendly inn. Appreciated the little welcome amenity upon arrival for our pup. The location overlooking Moonstone Beach was scenic, especially considering the great lawn set-up with the beautiful view. Enjoyed cocktail hour there at sunset before heading down the road a hop, skip and jump to the Seachest restaurant.

In the morning, the coastal fog had moved in and we noticed that the staff was on it wiping down the lawn furniture as guests emerged for their morning picnics. The complimentary breakfast basket they provide is simple, continental style and wholesome (pastries, bagels, juice, yogurt, fresh fruit). Overall, a nice stopover spot during our weekend wine tasting trip through Paso Robles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OC_traveler_529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place was perfect for our road trip through the coast of California. We spent two nights here and had a very relaxing time. Our room was newly renovated, but still felt warm and cozy. The staff was very nice. We arrived very late at night and they were able to accommodate our requests. Our little breakfast basket was also very nice. I wish there were a bit more hot foods though.
One word of advice is do not expect too much from the view. There is a parking lot in front of most of the rooms' windows so in order to see the ocean, you will have to look passed the parked cars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Rosa - Alps
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent two nights in Cambria Shores Inn with my wife. It was a great experience: perfect location, nice room, great breakfast and very friendly staff (Tim explained us a lot not only about Cambria, but also about California and USA in general).

I strongly suggest Cambria Shore Inn to anyone looking for a romantic place with breath taking view on the ocean.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maxdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stay at Cambria Shores Inn every year for our vacation and love that it is always a great stay. The rooms are clean and beautifully done, offering down comforters and fireplaces. The inn is just steps to the beach. The best part is their front lawn, where many guests enjoy a bottle of wine and snacks. It is best for a romantic getaway. I say this because we have a toddler and while she did great, it was hard to enjoy our wine and snacks. :) In the past, we have brought our fur baby along and this inn is so welcoming of fur babies. The only thing is that you have to hire a dog sitter if you want to go out to eat at night as dogs cannot be left in rooms. We always eat at Madeline's in Cambria, which makes the BEST banana's foster!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJGT_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socal
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We (with wife and teenage daughter) stayed here in early August 2012 on our way back from Oregon. My wife and I come to Cambria once or twice a year as a weekend getaway from Socal and have stayed at multiple properties along Moonstone.

We pulled in about 3:00 p.m. What can you say after walking into an office and having someone come out like this: "Welcome! I was just in the back making cookies and will be getting the brownies together shortly! Snacks will be coming out in a while!"

Was like coming home. Everyone who stayed here seemed to be outside just hanging out at chairs or talking. Dogs were enjoying themselves. Almost an old time resort feel, something we've noticed when we walked by here in the past.

Room was comfortable and nicely furnished. Little ante-room in the back provided fridge and microwave. Quiet at night and breakfast basket was a good touch. We'll have to bring our dog next time! A winner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here on August 7 2012 with my two kids. After reading reviews of Cambria was not sure if a good p,ace to bring my kids. I wanted a quiet small beach town to take them out of the hassle and busses of the city we live in. It was perfect......this hotel was super roomy, quiet, clean and so relaxing. Even my 8 year old son relaxed. It is a quiet town most restaurants close at 9pm, but it so peaceful and relaxing.

We did not have a dog but several did. You would never know the was dogs other then people walking around with them. Room did not smell, very clean. The fire place adds such homey feel. So many good things about this place. Loved the morning breakfast basket. The owners are so cheerful and friendly. Thank you for this place, I will come back again and again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 two queen beds ocean view. Large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schemer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
986 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Property: Cambria Shores Inn
Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing