We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner in somewhat austere setting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cat Bistro

Black Cat Bistro
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice dinner in somewhat austere setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We ordered a delicious duck dinner. Very good wine selection at a prices to meet everyone's budget. The accompanying veggies could be better. The low point was the veg. pasta dish which the waitress assured us had plenty of vegetables. I can't remember the name of the pasta they use, but it's a tubular smooth one which I found tasteless and unsatisfying. The veg's were chopped so finely as to hardly be noticeable. I believe it was $17, which I found outrageously overpriced compared to what is available in San Francisco, but I suppose that isn't fair to do. The designer in me compels me to point out that the restaurant is a bit rigid and far from romantic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Designer-at-Large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    100
    36
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Black Cat Bistro was highly recommended to us by both family & friends. on a recent trip to Cambria. A delightful small restaurant consisting of small dining rooms delightfully decorated with ( a retrofitted older single family home?) unusual pillow backed benches, crisp white linen on the tables & quality stemware.
Pair this with a sophisticated menu & wines & great service - what a winner! The braised lamb shank was divine, the pasta was perfect, the bread delicious! Hint for the chef/owner: serve room temperature butter. The cold hard butter ruins your delicious bread.
Can't wait to return in the fall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good overall experience, but some odd dishes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

A mixed bag. Butter lettuce (w/ feta? and candied citrus) was delicious. Cayucos abalone was... odd. I've only had the Chinese prep for abalone before, so I found the Cayucos abalone lacking in size, although the texture was wonderfully tender. However, the accompanying fruit sauce completed overwhelmed whatever flavor the abalone might have had. Good mashed potatoes. Lamb shank was a little dry and the fried kale was a bit greasy. Steelhead was fantastic, especially the crispy skin. And the butter for the bread was cold, which is disappointing in the restaurant at this price point.

Polite and unobtrusive service, nice ambiance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alsyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, Ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cozy, good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The restaurant is small, but our group of six did not feel crowded. Our server was very friendly and helpful. We ordered the lamb shanks, seared ahi and a pasta dish. Everyone loved their main courses. The only slight complaint was that the lamb shanks were a bit too sweet. I had the grilled Caesar and found it to be a bit bland which was surprising given the description. But all in all it was a good experience and we all agreed we would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FOmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
246 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Cambria AGAIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

It wasn't a fluke, it really is that good. We ate here for the first time, when we visited last year, and we decided we had to eat here again just to make sure it wasn't a one time thing. It was just as good this time. We ordered three things and our assessments were that two were sensational and one was very good. Not bad for a small restaurant. Service was good and the place is just charming. We highly recommend it to you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Bistro also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Black Cat Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing