We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! What a surprise!”

Linn's Fruit Bin Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Preserves, bakery, gift baskets
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OMG! What a surprise!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stopped by Linn's by accident just looking for a place for lunch on our way upmthe Pacific Highway. I ordered the fried Chicken dinner and my husband ordered the Quice Lorraine. Both dishes were delicious. The treat was the desserts! I had the Pecan Pie and my husband had the Ollaliberry Cream Cake. I have never had a cake that delicious and moist. The pie was fabulous and I am a Southerner so I know good Pecan Pie. You must stop by Linn's and if nothing else have some great desserts!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmik1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    396
    108
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great stop along the way to Hearst Castle and Big Sur. Take food to go for the trip. The owner was very friendly and shared his homemade pickles with us. Everything was fresh, organic and delicious. The pies are great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColefamilyCommack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great desserts in nice setting”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We visited the newer location on Main Street in town. We had four different desserts, all were good however the lemon-olalliberry meringue had hardly any lemon in it. They do have pies and jellies that they will ship as well as a nice assortment of gourmet gifts-typical of what you might see in an upsale gift shop.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“MMMMM is the word!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Well we finally made it to Linn's, and we were not disapointed. It was as good as I had heard. We went in for desert ofcourse, but the menu had some yummy choices, so we had lunch/breakfast and desert. I had a beef sandwich with sauerkraut, mmm, and a soup of the day -like a chicken tortilla soup. my husband thoroughly loved his steak and eggs,the meat was cooked and seasoned just right. It was mouthwatering to say the least. Desert was BIG! cinnamon rolls, cheesecake and a brownie topped w vanilla icecream, fudge syrup. So if you are in the area of San LUis Obispo,about 30 min away off hwy101, give it a try. Its a sweet little town, with cute little shops and lots of stuff to see or buy! pick up desert and enjoy at the beach down the road. Its worth the trip!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovingpismodise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“$103 for dinners we barely ate”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We feel, sadly, that there are no really good restaurants in Cambria, and have tried almost all. Someone said Linn's had really great chicken pot pie, so we said, "Why not?" We will have a comfort meal. We discovered, though, that all four pot pies on the menu contained onions, which we can't eat. So we decided on the pepito-crusted salmon and the sea bass special. $26 and $24 respectively, which is a lot of money to pay in a coffee-shop type restaurant. Both fishes were overcooked and dry. You want your salmon to be succulent, slightly translucent in the middle, and juicy. This was not. I could not even eat 50% of it, nor could my husband his sea bass. Maybe we were wrong in trying to get well-prepared fish in a bakery restaurant, but if they have it on the menu, they should know how to prepare it. The waiter did not even notice or care that we didn't eat even half, and since he did not ask, I volunteered that the fishes were both overdone and dry. His response: "I'll buy your dessert!" (Mine, not both, a $6 value). Not the right response. Not the response I think would have been appropriate. The dessert was a "Boston cream pie." There were several problems: the cake was loose and crumbly, not tight and smooth as it should be; there was a tiny layer of cream filling; and a huge heavy slab of chocolate on the top that could not even be cut. It just lunged to the left and right. I think a place that prides itself on its baked goods should be able to produce a proper Boston cream pie. If you have had it right, you know how it should be.

$103 for dinners we barely ate. To be fair, $30 of this was in 4 glasses of wine, but still...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linn's Fruit Bin Restaurant also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Linn's Fruit Bin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing