We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy but felt slightly unwelcome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Sur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Sur Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy but felt slightly unwelcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Spacious room with fireplace. Very clean and homey. Offered great choices both for afternoon snacks and breakfast. Felt a little bit as though as Brits we were a novelty to the staff. Beautifully placed for a walk on the beach and not too far to walk to the main street for restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delight57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    153
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
105
276
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay here. $99.00 for a partial view room, totally worth it. We walked across the street (literally) and watched the sunset. So beautiful. Great location. Only concern was that the hotel staff left at 9pm...and left a number for emergency. Didn't like the fact that no one was there, it made me feel uncomfortable. Other than that, perfect. We might come here again!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and were pleasently surprised. Our room was ready early, and it was big, clean with a nice fireplace and table in front of a big window. We could hear the ocean from our room. We had our 2 year old with us and she had a blast too. The snacks were ok, and the breakfast was filling. The rooms have mini fridges and microwaves which worked out for us considering our daughter eats randomly. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in cambria. We will be back for sure next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IwentonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

There is a ton of ocean front hotels on Moonstone Beach Drive but I chose this one because of the excellent reviews. It was nice but not that great.
The room was good - spacious and clean.
When we arrived, it was Happy Hour time which was advertised in their brochure as offering wine and cheese/snacks. Instead, they were apple cider, and when we asked about wine, the receptionist dismissed our question, repeating that they were serving apple cider.
Breakfast was rather sad - very bad coffee and sad pastries.
Other than that, the hotel was pretty nice.
We'll definitely try a different one next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2TravelBayArea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

I guess we lucked out on booking early because we got room 15, front of the hotel facing the ocean, king bed, fireplace, HUGE room for $175 per night. I was curious and called to see what they would charge if we came in the next day - $260. We've stayed in various places along Moonstone Beach over the years - we liked this one the best. The only negative about the location (and it's not that big of a deal) is that it seems to be the most popular place along Moonstone for all the surfers to park - and there were a lot of them. We would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at 2am! There were NO street lights and the entire hotel was in darkness. (the drive on Highway 1 took longer than expected...) The front desk was closed! Thank goodness the people running this place had the decency to leave a key in the envelope taped to the door for us (we had prepaid for the place at US$ 110). The hotel is kept in lovely shape - its quite charming and relaxing - fits well since its in Cambria. Toiletries are superb! I took it all home with me! Breakfast is very nice with a lot of healthy options and fruit. Wonderful place - great if you're looking for a warm, relaxing, quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I love this town! I love this street and now I also love this hotel! The Little Sur Inn definitely was top notch in service, value, presentation and cleanliness!

We were booked in Rm 23 (specially requested from reading another review on Trip Advisor) which is on the 2nd floor right behind the the oceanfront rooms, but our view alone was PLENTY and just so worth the savings! We loved the layout the king size bed, a round able by two large windows and seating for 4. The fireplace setting was just very romantic and a perfect place to stand while staring out your windows at the ocean.

I love the toiletries they offer! My husband loved the oatmeal massage bar soap they have! The bathroom was indeed spacious and the shower pressure was great! Large wall mirrors and good deep sinks.

I could go on and on but if you want a great stay, nice furnishings, good price, lite breakfast in the morning followed by some evening treats and especially the ocean whispering in your ear all night long! This place has it all! Thanks Little Sur Inn for making our stay fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letstalktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sur Inn

Property: Little Sur Inn
Address: 6190 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Sur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Little Sur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Sur Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing