We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean But Plain”
Review of Little Sur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Sur Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Little Sur Inn was clean, quiet and a nice location. We had a room with a corner window that had a pretty good view of the ocean. The beach access was right across the street. The room was very plain and could have used a touch of color to add some ambience. All in all, no complaints but it was a little pricey for just an average room.... but guess for being right across from the beach the high cost would be expected. The continental breakfast was tastier than what the chain hotels offer. If you need a clean place in a decent area this is a good choice.

Room Tip: They have ocean view rooms in the front which cost more, but we thought the view (partial) from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 523 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was an excellent stay. A cosy, friendly, relaxed inn on the ocean front. The room was large but felt homely, with a table large enough to use and a working gas fire linked to the room thermostat. Comfortable bed and a good bathroom. Sadly this was a one night stop for us, but I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank your for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing a quality stay for our guests'. We look forward to having you stay with us againin the future. Thank you for choosing the Little Sur Inn.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The wife and I had completed a cruise to Vancouver B.C. and decided we would do a casual "road trip" back home to southern Ca. We stopped by the Little Sur Inn on our final night away and were please to find a room still available seeing how Memorial Weekend was just a day away. We absolutely loved this place! Clean, cozy, comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, we didn't get a "balcony" and the view was still good. The best thing was the Fireplace in the room, that was a real nice touch. The staff was friendly and we found their rates VERY REASONABLE.......We paid only $125 for our one nights stay.....where else can you get a clean,ocean view room for that price.?! We will definitely stay there again.
P.S. on another note, the Seafood Restaurant next door was very good but but kinda expensive.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Front" face the ocean , and have a Balcony as well as a Hot tub. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We make every possible effort to provide an enjoyable stay for our guests'. Thank you for providing your positive feedback, we very much appreciate it. Thank you for choosing the Little Sur Inn.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We always enjoy staying at this little inn. The rooms are large and very clean; the beds are comfortable with nice linen; the view from our room facing the ocean is wonderful; the staff is most helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ocean-front room are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I was very impressed with this nice little inn. The room was large, with a fireplace as the heater, nice beds, great linens, large bathroom & very clean. The whole property was well maintained. The location on Moonstone beach is excellent. We got a room on the lower level in the back but still had a view of the ocean. We arrived Monday April 2, 2012 and the front desk lady was very surly. I thought maybe she was having a bad moment so I tried extra hard to be friendly and polite when I came back a few hours later, but she was definitely NOT friendly. In fact, downright hostile and dismissive. My son came for a hot chocolate during the afternoon snack time and she was rude & cold to him as well. We did not want to run into her again in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Hello,
It is always our goal to ensure that all of our guests' receive the best service and hospitality possible. We are truly sorry to learn that your encounter with a member of our staff was not a positive one. Being a small family owned property it's critical to our success that every guests' experience is a positive one. We appreciate your feedback and will take this opportunity to communicate with our staff the importance of always providing superior guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a relaxing and memorable experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Big, clean room. Right across from the beach. Loved the fireplace in the room. Breakfast was plenty. Staff seemed really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhyWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here on a drive up the coast.... Very nice. Clean. Right on the beach
Staff was great simplemcheckmin no hassles.
Great restaurant right next door.

Room Tip: Pay more and get the ones facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplesisthekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sur Inn

Address: 6190 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $143 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Sur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Sur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Sur Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing