We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and well kept with a great location”
Review of Little Sur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Sur Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
347 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Clean and well kept with a great location”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I was very impressed with this nice little inn. The room was large, with a fireplace as the heater, nice beds, great linens, large bathroom & very clean. The whole property was well maintained. The location on Moonstone beach is excellent. We got a room on the lower level in the back but still had a view of the ocean. We arrived Monday April 2, 2012 and the front desk lady was very surly. I thought maybe she was having a bad moment so I tried extra hard to be friendly and polite when I came back a few hours later, but she was definitely NOT friendly. In fact, downright hostile and dismissive. My son came for a hot chocolate during the afternoon snack time and she was rude & cold to him as well. We did not want to run into her again in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hello,
It is always our goal to ensure that all of our guests' receive the best service and hospitality possible. We are truly sorry to learn that your encounter with a member of our staff was not a positive one. Being a small family owned property it's critical to our success that every guests' experience is a positive one. We appreciate your feedback and will take this opportunity to communicate with our staff the importance of always providing superior guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a relaxing and memorable experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    155
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
108
282
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Big, clean room. Right across from the beach. Loved the fireplace in the room. Breakfast was plenty. Staff seemed really nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here on a drive up the coast.... Very nice. Clean. Right on the beach
Staff was great simplemcheckmin no hassles.
Great restaurant right next door.

Room Tip: Pay more and get the ones facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesisthekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at this hotel many times. Very pleasant staff and super clean rooms. You can tell the Owners care about keeping the property in top condition. A wonderful location right across from Moonstone Beach. Nice continental breakfast and afternoon goodies. The rates are always very competitive with the other lodging along the beach nut Little Sur Inn stands out as the best! Thank you for another great stay.

Room Tip: Go to Little Sur Inn's website to book your room. You will always get the best rate. The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you again enjoyed your stay at Little Sur Inn. Being family owned, we take great care and pride in ensuring that our property is always clean and up to date. We hope you visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We've been traveling to Cambria for years now and have tried many of the accomodations on Moonstone Beach Drive but once we tried Little Sur Inn it became our GO TO place of choice. The service has always been friendly. The rooms have always been clean and the view is outstanding. Having the Sea Chest right next door is an extra plus! We've had to choose other locations a couple of times because this one was booked and still haven't found anything we like better. Keep up the good work Little Sur! We'll see you soon!

Room Tip: Ocean View is best. We love the upper floor so we can enjoy our wine out on the balcony. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouplaWinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed multiple stays at Little Sur Inn as we take our guest satisfaction very seriously, it is our number one priority! We look forward to providing you with continued quality experiences in the future.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

What a wonderful place, clean, great view of the ocean and friendly staff. Had a second floor ocean view room which was large, bathroom was big also. If we had known that this place was as great as it was we would have stayed longer. Really enjoyed the fireplace.

Room Tip: Second floor gives you a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stopped in Cambria as the end of day one of our 3 day drive from LA to SF. After stopping at the Santa Barbara Mission and then Solvang for afternoon tea we arrived after dark. I wasn't up for driving into Cambria itself but had a nice meal a few places down at the Moonstone Grill which was fine.
LSI itself is nice and clean, great location on the beach (I was up early next day and strolled over to watch the sun come up). The room was, er, roomy, loved the fireplace (although as this is the heating system for your room it does tend to go on and off during the night - don't wake up thinking you're on fire) and the beds large but on the firm side. Breakfast was sufficient although there's not a lot of space (yes there are some chairs outside but in December that wasn't an option).
Its only 10 minutes to Hearst Castle and then a few more to the elephant seal rookery so location wise it was great. I'd originally had trouble finding somewhere affordable in Cambria and was going to settle for San Simeon - but one kindly TA member passed on the info for this place and am so glad that I stopped in Cambria rather than SS once I'd driven through it. Lovely location:)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan42Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sur Inn

Property: Little Sur Inn
Address: 6190 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Sur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Little Sur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Sur Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing