We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Find”
Review of The Rigdon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rigdon House
Ranked #8 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Find”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

For some reason, husband plugged this B&B into his GPS. Destiny. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night. We had one of our teens with us and they had their own room adjoining ours so everyone was happy. Very spacious and great bathroom with lots of space. My understanding is each room is filled with different antiques. This setup is perfect with teen kids.
Lots of DVD's to choose from and a very cozy sitting room. Breakfast was delicious. Love the lemon cakes. I find the room rates reasonable and quite competitive to the other places we checked out in the area.
Plus it was so foggy it didn't seem to make sense to stay on the ocean. We loved being right in the town.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaLondonbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    74
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
54
169
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

For my birthday, I planned a nice, relaxing getaway to Cambria for the weekend. So what's more relaxing then a bed and breakfast??? Wasn't too sure seeing as it was our first bed and breakfast ever...But why the heck not right??

So we made reservations for Suite #17(Highly Recommended)...

The Burton Inn is separated into two buildings: The main building is where breakfast is served and evening wine is held along with a few of the suites and the second building houses the rest of the suites. #17 is located in the second building on the top floor.

When we walked into our suite, the first thing we see is our huge, luxurious looking bed! To the left is the living room where you have a tv, couch, table with chairs, fridge, microwave, and toaster. I had no idea we would be so equipped!!!

Back to the bedroom area. You have another bigger tv that has a dvd player/VHS player (What the heck is a VHS player??? =) ) The closet was as big as ours at home, and has a dresser inside.

The bathroom was very nice, clean, and spacious. The tub was awesome (took advantage of it both nights I was there)! But no lock on the bathroom door...I have a very nosy husband folks; I need a lock!

Breakfast in the morning was very relaxed and filling. There was one hot item each morning made to order, along with steel cut oatmeal, fresh fruits, fresh baked pastries, juices and coffee. Wine and Cheese in the evening was fun...I love talking and meeting new people!

Plenty of parking in their lot or on the street.

The Burton Inn is exactly, what I think, a bed and breakfast should be: A place to re-coop, relax, and let go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leshaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

All the staff at the Burton Inn were friendly, attentive and professional. The B&B is right in the middle of town, so shopping was convenient. My wife and I came here for our anniversary, and I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have stayed at the Burton Inn 4 years ago and wanted to visit the area again. Making the reservation on the wed and via a phone call was extremely easy. On the phone it was a pleasant and interesting conservation. I was given additional information about the area and special events. When we arrived the place was just as good as the last time we were there. The facilities are in excellent condition, the room was large and clean. This year the breakfast was included and it was the best we have enjoyed. Much better than a standard bed and breakfast room. The location is center to many stores and eating places. You park the car and its easy to get around. It will be our place of choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed for one night at the Burton Inn and were really pleased with our experience. Checking in was a breeze and the owner (I think) was very friendly. The room was in fact a suite and really spacious. The bed was one of the most confortable hotel beds I have slept in. It was quiet at night which counts for a lot for me.
Each evening there is a 'get-together' with wine and nibbles in the library which was a great idea as we found out lots of information about the area and which restaurants might suit us from the other guests, many of whom seem to come time and time again to this hotel. Probably can't get a better recommendation than that!
Breakfast was included and very good although the breakfast area is somewhat small if the Inn is full.
The complimentary wi-fi was a big hit with my husband.
We would definitely stay here again if we were in \Cambria.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju-ju60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This is a wonderful all suites Inn that has the biggest suites we have ever stayed in and is a perfect location to visit Hearst Castle. Everything was so comfortable and we were made so welcome. The breakfasts were very good and I really can't fault the place. It was very nice to sit every evening at 5 pm in the lounge with a free glass of wine and meet people from all over.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I stayed with my retired parents in The Burton Inn for two nights and we had a lovely stay. The Inn has a very refined feel to it. You feel you are staying in an intimate hotel rather than it being a B&B. We were invited to drinks on arrival in the lounge where you could meet others visiting the area, but you could just as easily decline and do you own thing. The location is great - right on the nicest street in Cambria, full of good places to eat and little shops to browse. And you are only five minutes drive to the coast, or fifteen up to Hearst Castle.

My parents room, on the ground floor, was so beautiful, with lovely drapes and antique-looking furniture. My mom said she felt she was a princess, staying in such a beautiful room. The only "down" comment I would make is that the bathrooms were beginning to look a little older, but they were still clean certainly didn't feel run-down at all.

Breakfast was lovely too - a big spread of all sorts of food. And Shakira was there to help answer any questions we might have.

We would definitely stay there again if we went back to Cambria - which I hope!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyingva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,624 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.4 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rigdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rigdon House

Property: The Rigdon House
Address: 4022 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-3002 (Formerly Burton Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rigdon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famed Cambrian landmark dating back to 1865, The Rigdon House showcases impressive two-room suites with more than 600 square feet of comfortably elegant space, our suites offer guests all the comforts of home. Family suites provide parents and their children uncompromising comfort with private bedrooms and cable TV. Located in the beautiful village of Cambria, The Rigdon House is a delightful hotel, set in the midst of fine dining, shops, and unique galleries. Indulge yourself with the timeless historical elegance of one of the most celebrated hotels in Cambria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your The Rigdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Cambria
Burton b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing