We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large and comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large and comfy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at on Moonstone. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a fireplace in every room and for those on the second floor, there is a small balcony where you can relax and enjoy your morning coffee while taking the ocean view. Included with the room, wine tasting in the evening and a full breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    230
    53
    19
    17
See reviews for
183
516
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oswestry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Booked this on recommendation of someone in Monterey. Pleasant place and good location. Room adequate but carpets stained. This was the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in, but certainly not the best.
Cheese and wine plentiful and breakfast pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Managed to get the same room on our return trip from the bay area and loved it---the deck, jacuzzi and large room! Met interesting guests at the cocktail hour. Loved being able to walk along the ocean to the Moonstone Bar and Grill.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this location for two days. The Inn has 2 building. We stayed in the older unit, which had been remodeled. We were in a upstairs unit, with a partial view of the ocean. The unit was clean and comfortable. I found the toilet to be a little small for me ( 6'1 234lbs) and the bathroom was a little small. But we were Ok with that. The room was not very large, but it met our needs. It was quiet and close to the water. The staff was very friendly, especially the breakfast crew. The grounds were very nice and well kept. We were right across the street from the ocean. The rooms in our building, did not have air conditioning. There are several close places nearby to eat, and the Inn provided a wonderful breakfast every morning. We were fairly close to Hearst Castle and there is a small shopping area close by. We found the internet price to be less expensive, then calling the Inn directly. We would stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room and see if they will let you compare rooms in the older remodeled section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as a stop off on a drive from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Great midway point to rest up. The location is superb, right on the sea front next to the beach. Nice, clean, we'll kept rooms and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholasworrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 days at the here and had a great time. We had a partial view room with 2 queen beds. It also had a little sitting area. The view was beautiful from the patio right outside of our room. We were in room 109, right across from the pool, but it was too cold outside so we didn't swim. The hotel is right across the road from the boardwalk and beach access. The breakfast had a great variety of foods and the wine and cheese in the afternoon also included yummy desserts. Upon arrival our fridge was broken. We called and asked for it to be fixed. After 20 minutes I called again, and they had forgotten about us, but then quickly brought us 2 working fridges and left them for the rest of the stay. We will definitely be back soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shoshanaz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Pelican Inn and Suites so much. The room was large and well-appointed, with comfortable, cozy decor. The grounds were lovely, too; we enjoyed the variety of flowering plants and unusual succulents. The hotel's location is fantastic, with the beach right across the street. We could smell the wonderful salt air and hear the surf from our room. I would gladly return here and recommend the hotel highly.

One tip: Request a second-floor room so that you can enjoy the balcony and leave the windows open at night if you wish.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing