We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as advertised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just as advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

While doing research on hotels near Hearst Castle, I came upon a string of about nine restaurants on Moonstone Beach road. All of them have a great view of the ocean, which is literally right across the street where people walk, jog, and just sun themselves. We chose this hotel because the website pictures of the rooms showed comfortable furniture, and that is a requirement for my husband and I.
The reception desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast that is included has most of the items you would expect from cereal to scrambled eggs, bagels, sausage, and fruit. The one thing they could improve is to cut the fruit into bitesize pieces. They take melons and slice them into chunks with the rind on. Then you have to take the small pieces and cut the melon off or hold slice in your hand and eat out of rind.
We stayed in a waterfront "suite", but this suite with a bedroom and living room, does not have separate rooms. After 25 years of marriage, we have learned to get two separate rooms, because one of us likes to watch TV and the other likes to read. Unfortunately, that was not an option. The room had our favorite Keurig coffee machine and 3 different kinds of coffee, which was a great way to start the day.One of my favorite days included a cup of coffee drunk while resting in the window seat and reading a book. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room with full frontal view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mai2centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    221
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
166
495
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in a king suite room at the pelican inn. Plenty of room for us and our 11 year old daughter . Ashleigh was so helpful in recommending great restaurants robins and linns for our dinner . The pool was sheltered from the wind and a sun trap and walk accross one road and you are on the moonstone beach . Peaceful , only 10 mins drive to hearst castle too

Room Tip: King suite 104 on the ground floor , very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

From the moment we arrived, our regret was that we were only there for one night.

Right on the sea front, the three buildings and gardens are immaculately well kept. We checked in and were informed that there was complementary cheese, biscuits and wine in the dining room! This is the first time we've ever seen such a gesture and after a six hour drive, that was more welcome than you can imagine.

The room was in perfect condition and very well appointed, with fridge, coffee machine, large TV and small balcony with seating. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Staff were polite and helpful, especially when we asked for dinner recommendations.

The selection at breakfast was perfectly adequate, with a choice of hot buffet or continental.
We didn't try the various facilities (e.g. pool, hot tub etc) but they looked pleasant enough.

We would happily have stayed for longer and if ever in that part of the world again, would most certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had an upstairs suite facing the ocean and it was beautiful. The view was amazing! The room was clean and our housekeeper was ever so nice. The outdoor spa had some temp issues, but they were quick to resolve them. This was a great get away and it really was worth every penny. The staff were well informed about what's in town and made sure you were having a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your great review and you are right...the Ocean views are amazing! We take pride in what we do and look forward to your return visit soon! Thanks again, Charlie Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in an ocean front room. Could not open the patio door due to corrosion. The rooms are ok. Could use some updates but clean. The breakfast included hot food and make yourself waffles. Lovely garden in front of the hotel. I would stay in the sister hotel the blue dolphin ad it is a little nicer

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hyknski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We made plans to spend two winter nights at Moonstone Beach and, after much research, decided on an ocean front room at Pelican Inn. We were not disappointed! Every encounter with staff of this establishment was positive and friendly. The owner should be very proud of them all!
Upon check-in, we were undecided as to whether we'd prefer a first or second floor room, so we were offered keys to both so we could compare. How often does that happen? Never! We chose the first floor room, which had a fireplace, a jetted tub and a king bed. Our only concern was that it had no desk chair for our computer. We mentioned this at the front desk and they offered one of the chairs from the breakfast room! It was just what we needed.
Our ocean front room had a small parking lot and a road between it and the ocean, but that didn't really matter to us. When the fog cleared, we had our ocean view!
Pelican Inn and Suites offers an evening wine, cheese and dessert reception, which you can enjoy in their breakfast room or take back to your room to enjoy the sunset. The breakfast buffet opens at 7:00 (great for early risers!) and includes meat (ham or sausage on the days we were there), two kinds of scrambled eggs (plain and embellished with peppers, onions, spinach, etc.), bread for toast, bagels,
waffles you make yourself, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea.
The quality and quantity of the breakfast was exceptional.
Across the street there is a boardwalk that stretches along the coast and encourages walking and running.
We really enjoyed our stay at Pelican Inn and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I recently had a mix up with my reservation at another Moonstone Beach hotel that is somehow affiliated with Pelican Inn. Danielle, the Asst. Gen. Mgr. of Pelican Inn sent me here, matching the (very good) rate I had reserved. The charming young woman who checked me in could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The room at Pelican was fabulous, very spacious and comfortable. The bath was spa-like, with a huge jetted tub and separate walk-in shower. A very comfortable king size bed, with down pillows. And did I mention the fireplace? All in all, I was ultimately thrilled with the outcome of this mixup. Thanks especially for the gracious concern and commitment to my ease shown by the staff at both establishments.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review! We LOVE our guests and always do whatever we can to make our guests feel like family! We are so fortunate to have had just the right room at the right time to make your stay special. Danielle takes pride in offering the best personalized service around and is our "Star" Rescuer! We look forward to seeing you in the near future! Charlie Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing