We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
paciific grove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent one very restful night in an ocean facing room and slept soundly with the beach noises in the background.
The breakfast the next morning was one of the best we have had in a hotel. Nicely done scrambled eggs, plenty of sides and many choices of beverages.
A definite winner!

Room Tip: Ask for an room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmichael2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    228
    53
    19
    17
See reviews for
183
514
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The property: The hotel is beautifully done and the rooms are charming. Ours was a 'Jacuzzi suite' not facing the sea - actually it was all the way at the back. It had a working fireplace, a king bed and a jacuzzi. The rooms and corridors of he hotel smelled fresh and clean.

Location: Right next to the beach. You can get rooms facing the sea. The beach is a beautiful one (Moonstone beach) which is know to have colorful sea glasses wash ashore- so hunting for them is a popular obsession. Not easy though - after about forty fine minutes, we found one!! The boardwalk is very nice and stretches all the way around the beach and there are plenty of people walking, running, sitting on the benches facing the sea etc. The beach is a few miles from downtown Cambria - which is a quaint little town with lots of eating options.

With the room: They had a complimentary wine and cheese tasting in the evening which real nice! The breakfast too was hearty with two types of egg, ham, cereals, waffles, assortment of bread, fruits etc. Parking is available in the lot and there is no separate charge for it.

Service: was good. Friendly at the reception and in the restaurant.

The best part was the great deal we got on the hotel as a walk-in reservation!! - 90$/night including taxes! We drove in at about 3:30 pm; so maybe we got some unsold room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This looks like an amazing property that we would love to stay at when we visit in May to celebrate our anniversary and birthday. On the website there was a rate of 152.00 quoted. When I called and spoke to Michael and asked for the best rate, the lowest rate he quoted was 250.00. He specifically said the was the best rate after quoting me 3 different room types and rates. When I told him there was a rate of 152.00 on line he said he forgot to mention that rate. I really appreciate when a property quotes all of the rates and lets the client make the decision of room type and rate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank masonkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have been coming to Moonstone Beach in Cambria California for over 25 years. I believe I found this place, or was guided to this place by chance. For whatever the reasons; we all have times where we seek answer's or guidance to the things that are troubling us in our life. I'm a Senior Citizen now, but I wasn't back then. Once I found this place my heart and a piece of my soul never left. I have returned here at least once a year for the last 25 years.

From my large, upstairs Suite, my balcony overlooks the majestic ocean and shoreline. A wooden boardwalk built upon the cliffs, follows the shoreline and acts as a pathway for what seems to go for miles. Along the path you will find stairways that lead down to the beach and tide pools. The air is clean and clear. The sound of the waves rolling up on the shore at night. Well, its like a soothing lullaby that helps me sleep.

In the morning a buffet breakfast is being served in the cottage. Always a variety of muffins, toast, waffles, potatoes, some sort of eggs, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee and juice. I like it because you are always welcome to make a tray and take it up to your room. Go out on your balcony and enjoy the view. In the late afternoon they usually have a wine and cheese hour, and before bed they put out a yummy dessert tray. They really do go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

You have many choices for daytime activity. The town of Cambria proper is just a 5 minute drive away. There you can find shops, stores, galleries, restaurants, and some awesome wine tasting experiences. If you like nature, then this is a small slice of heaven. Hiking paths, the tide pools, and the birthing place of the Sea Lions. If it's history you fancy...Then you can visit Hurst Castle in San Simon, which is about a 12 minute drive up the coast, north of Cambria. You can do as much or as little as you wish.

This is where I come to let my heat, soul, and spirit run free. It has, and always will be a place of peace and harmony. My footprints have been left in the sand many times.

Room Tip: All rooms are not suites, and all rooms are not ocean front. In my opinion the best suites are those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Upon arriving the Pelican Inn and Suites immediately felt comforting. They offered hot apple cider at the reception desk, and the check-in girl was amazingly sweet. We planned a late tour at Hearst Castle and she made sure to setup a dinner reservation so we could find somewhere to eat when we got done. Our room exceeded expectations. The view of the ocean was awesome, and the fireplace in our room was cozy. My only complaint was the fact that our room was on the first floor and neighbors could see in our room as they walked by, but whatever. The breakfast was DA BOMB! Gourmet cooking (potatoes, meats, huevos rancheros, breads, coffee, tea, etc.). YUM! Board games were offered for entertainment as well. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambo54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We wanted a nice place to celebrate our anniversary. This place has EVERYTHING! The free hot breakfast alone was worth about $10-15 per person, per day. The Wine Reception was very nice, too.

The room was clean and very comfortable. The fireplace was so delightful! Walking across the street to the beach was another plus. No other place in the area could come close to all of the luxuries and amenities for the price. We will try to be back at least once a year!

Room Tip: We had the "Standard King" room. It was perfect for us. They also have suites and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent three nights at the Pelican Inn & Suites and really enjoyed our stay. We have visited Cambria at least once a year over the past five years and this was our first time staying at Moonstone Beach. We really enjoyed the change of scenery and the property.

It started off on the right foot with the helpful and courteous staff that checked us in and continued through the final check out. All of the staff we encountered during our stay was very pleasant and that is always appreciated as a guest. The property offers a nice evening appetizer/desert/wine in the evening and a buffet breakfast in the morning. Both were well maintained and replenished as needed.

The room was well furnished with a fireplace, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. We were given a room that was ocean view that was on the main 1st level with a patio area to enjoy the sun and view. The property is just across the street from the ocean as all the properties along Moonstone Beach Drive….so we were able to have easy access to the beach and the boardwalk.

Our room was supposed to have been newly renovated but I am not sure as to what was done. Parts of it felt fresh but the tiling in the bathroom and some paint in the bath area felt a little dated. There was also a footprint sized stain on the carpeting near the entry so my guess is the carpeting wasn't new. Even with those comments the room felt clean and comfortable.

We did see that they were doing room renovations during our stay. The room next to ours was having work done on it. This is not an inconvenience if you are going to be out and about during the day. If you planned on staying in the room during the day you might want to request a room away from the renovations to minimize being disturbed from the construction.

We enjoy going to Cambria. Since this was our first time to the Moonstone Beach area it was a pleasant treat. We enjoyed the access to the beach that we don't get from staying in the downtown area. The local restaurants at Moonstone Beach were closed until after Christmas so we had to drive to Cambria for meals. It only takes a few minutes to get there by car but is a bit ambitious by foot on a cold night.

We definitely are open to returning to Moonstone Beach and the Pelican Inn & Suites on our next visit to Cambria.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing