We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We drove a couple hours south from home for a weekend getaway. The Pelican Inn is a great accomodation. We really enjoyed the included amenities of wine/cheese hour, full daily breakfast. The night manager Mike was a great help on our check in. Came around to our balcony to make sure we were catching the sunset!

The rooms are large, or the one we had. Fireplace, seating area, nice bathroom, robes. Bed nice and comfy. The carpet could have used some cleaning but that is just being picky.

Great, great location across from Moonstone Beach. If you stay, make sure you get an oceanview room to catch the magnificent sunsets. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view, maybe even choose 2nd floor, no elevator, just so you know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    242
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
194
543
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were driving from LA to SF up Highway 1 and needed somewhere to stay before visiting Hearst Castle the following day.This hotel was recommended to us by the concierge at our hotel in LA and overall it was a good place to stay in a pretty seaside location.We were meeting up with family and had four rooms all overlooking the ocean.Rooms were very spacious and clean,although the bathrooms were definitely on the small size.Coffee and tea making facilities in the room were handy.
Pool is small.Having free wifi was handy travelling with kids.
On site parking is a bit restricted in number and you may not be able to park near your room which is a problem if you have luggage .We didn't want to leave our bags in our vehicles overnight so had to wheel them some distance and then carry them up a flight of stairs.There didn't appear to be anyone helping with bags and no assistance was offered at check in or checkout. We were travelling for a couple of weeks so had a fair amount of luggage so it was more of a problem for us than it may be for others.
Charlie and the other staff were otherwise all friendly and helpful with useful tips on local attractions.The restaurant in Cambria that they recommended(Linn's) for dinner was very good although it was a short drive.The restaurant the night manager recommended initially(Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill) was in walking distance but when we got there it was full and they don't take reservations.
The included breakfast was pretty good and the kids enjoyed making their waffles.
Wine(Pelican Inn labelled) and cheese was a pleasant way to start the evening.

Room Tip: if you can get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawksforflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I just visited Pelican Inn and Suites and had an excellent weekend. We had previously stayed at other properties in Cambria, but now we will be coming back to the Pelican Inn. The staff was so gracious, from the desk clerks to housekeeping to maintenance, they created a very welcoming atmosphere. The property is well managed and maintained, the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. We had an ocean view room and the 80 degree Halloween weather in Cambria was superb. The breakfast that is included is fantastic, everything from ham, vegie scramble, waffles, yogurt, breads, oatmeal, granola and fruit. What more can I say the property was great, the location on Moonstone Dr. is not only beautiful but it is a short walk along the boardwalk into town for shopping and browsing. It is not often when there is not a single thing that was a negative. We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomers1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Overview: Stayed here for 1 night in October after driving down the Big Sur from Monterey. Arrived just before sunset in time to see the Elephant Seals just a couple of miles north of the hotel (a must). Stayed in a recently renovated 2nd floor partial ocean view room. Had an evening meal in the town of Cambria (short drive by car) and spent some time in the town the following morning before continuing towards the Yosemite National Park.

Pros:
1. Spacious recently renovated room.
2. Large clean bathroom with additional sink outside (his and hers).
3. Spacious seating area in room with gas fire and balcony.
4. Keurig coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave.
5. Large flat screen TV.
6. No noise issues except the sound of the waves!
7. Good breakfast with plenty of seating availability.
8. Nice wine, cheese and desert social every evening.
9. Very friendly staff at reception.
10. Swimming pool and hot tub.
11. Good access to beach and boardwalk across the quiet coast road.

Cons
1. Can’t think of any

If we returned to Cambria we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: From reviews it appears the hotel is in the final stages of a complete renovation of the property. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place to get away. This hotel has evening wine, cheese, appetizers, and desserts included in price. Also included full breakfast, not just donuts and coffee. Great service, very friendly. Located across from beach and walk paths. Rooms included fireplace, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Wifi also included. Don't forget your swimsuits, large spa also swimming pool. Very relaxing. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oaks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our first time at this Hotel and what a wonderful experience. Michael /Alia truly know how to make you feel welcome. Outstanding breakfast, wonderful views, beautiful gardens and benches to sit and enjoy the sunset. The wonderful wine and cheese offered every afternoon would just top off the day after walking on the beach. Hearst Castle is not that far away we spent over 5 hours there. The town of Cambria was very welcoming also. But going back to the Hotel was like going home. The rooms were large and clean and oh and the fireplace wonderful. Getting ready to book again for December. Come and enjoy you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Wonderful for an adult getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and your nice review. We love sharing the Pelican Inn & Suites...and you are right, we are a great place to Celebrate! Looking forward to your return visit! Cheers, Charlie Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I were first timers to Cambria, but it won't be our last. None of the hotels are actually ocean front because there is a road between hotel and beach, but because of the shape of the coastline some hotels are nearer the surf sounds. This hotel location does give a nice sound of ocean waves, which was nice. There are few cars going by at night and early morning so road noise is almost non existent. I loved the trail along the beach and we walked it every day. Breakfast was very good, which surprised me for buffet style. Only recommendation to owners would be to make second floor windows larger because it cuts down on ocean view, which you do not see at all if you lying down in bed. If you have a room on second floor with balcony, the view may be better. Also there is a bench by roadside (I suppose for shuttle?) out in front of hotel which drew some loud talkers and laughers until almost midnight. It seemed strange that anyone staying there would go to the bench by the street to talk and laugh so loud, when there are beautiful spots by the trail with benches and closer to beach. The thought did cross my mind that perhaps they weren't guests at all but just "the competition" trying to sour someone's opinion of the hotel. Regardless, perhaps management could monitor the situation?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laulea84Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing