We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location with charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location with charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over 4th of July weekend. We requested a oceanview room with a balcony and the only room left that they could reserve for us was a first floor with a raised terrace. When we arrived it was 12:30am and we went to our room. It ended up being a second floor room, which I was happy about, but it was one of the few oceanview rooms without a balcony! We only had a window! It was a nice room with an amazing view, so we stayed. The fireplace did not work, we asked maintenance to start it when we went out for the day, but it was not done when we returned. I asked Michael at the front desk and he did it right away.

It was a perfect location, but very pricey. The breakfast was free with a good variety and the afternoon wine and cheese was nice. e recognized the wine as the same wine served at the Cambria Pines Lodge which comes from Castoro winery. The jacuzzi was great, but no one seems to use it. The pool and jacuzzi are in different locations, which is inconvenient. Also, no lodging in Cambria has air conditioning, so if you get hot very easily bring a fan..we did. It only feels warm if you are in your room during the day. We would sleep with the window open and left the fireplace on..it was fabulous. It was very quiet at night and had no problems leaving the window open. The bed was comfortable. The shower drain kept closing and the tub would fill up with water, which was annoying.

It was a great hotel with the perfect location on the beach..but a bit pricey. If you have any physical limitations, get a first floor room because there are stairs and no elevator..it is only a 2 story building. Parking is tight. I would return.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    221
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
166
494
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved this little hotel in Cambria.It was a freezing day in June but it was lovely to walk into a nice warm room with a fireplace.Good location across from the beach and a nice walk away from the bar and grill down the road. Hotel offered wine and nibbles in the afternoon which was nice and they also served a lovely breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank activeanne684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose the Pelican Inn and Suites somewhat based on reviews, as a place to go for our wedding anniversary weekend. We absolutely loved it. First and foremost, the staff. Everyone is pleasant and helpful, and it feels like everyone who works there loves their job. That makes a great place even better.

The room we had was standard with "no view, " however, we faced the side of the property and could see the ocean and sunset from our window while sitting on the cushioned window seat. Best of all, we could keep our window open and get the ocean air and the sound of the waves. There was never any noise. The bed was comfy, the room was large (with a fireplace and fan), and the bathroom amenities were great. Few places give shower caps any more. Now only did they replace it daily, but they also had cotton balls and q-tips, along with shampoo and conditioner (separate) and body cream. There was a fridge and a microwave, too, and two basins. Our ONLY complaint was the rugs - they seem to be somewhat worn and in need of a little more vacuuming. Very minor compared to all the good here.

I noticed some people complain about the breakfast...I have never a nicer breakfast INCLUDED anywhere. Also, the staff in the breakfast room was great and accommodating. There was a full hot buffet, a little different every day, along with the standard waffles, breads, yogurts, cereals, etc. The food was freshly cooked and replenished as needed (no powdered eggs here), until and after the 10:00 end of breakfast. As long as people were there, they were feeding them. On Monday morning we had poached eggs on toast with hollandaise! When do you ever get that free? There was only one left when we arrived, just before 10, and the chef made another tray of them for just us. It was great! Add to that the happy hour, which goes from 5-7:30, and includes various (good) local wines, crackers and cheese, cookies and cakes (different each day), and other snacks which one evening included hummus and pita. Everything was constantly refilled as needed.

Hot tub and pool are not together, which keeps the kids out of the jacuzzi.

You can't beat the location...steps to the Moonstone Beach path, restaurants in walking distance, or a short drive (or walk) to the Village. Hiking trails are also in walking distance. It is calm, quiet and beautiful.

We will most definitely come back here, and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Quietest face the side, but front balcony is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

You cannot beat the location of this motel, it is directly across the street from the ocean. There were so many people just strolling and the shoreline resembles, La Jolla or Laguna Beach. It has some character; rocks, cliffs and yet easy beach access. Makes for a beautiful setting for the sunset. Many people had a glass of wine and just sat all along the road outside, I loved that.
The hotel was nice, we ended up with a room which faced the back of the motel (Hwy 101 is back there so no view and road noise) Pay the extra money to get a balcony facing the ocean if you can, I tried to upgrade but they were sold out. Walking along that strand, I did not notice many (if any) that offered those front (or even side) facing balconies as the Pelican did.
Michael was a great asset to the property, he was on it! You could tell he loved his job and was so helpful. The breakfast and evening fare offered were typical not much imagination there, but good enough to eat. The wine was tasty, maybe a bit more comfortable outside seating would have been cool...should take every advantage of that ocean steps away!!

Room Tip: If you don't get a balcony room, try to stay in room which faces the side of the hotel, we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We agree! Thank you for your nice review of the Pelican Inn & Suites. We have the most balconies and patios of any Moonstone Beach hotel, and provide truly personalized guest service with a smile! Looking forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel room was not the nicest but the location was incredible, the breakfast was decent and the hotel staff was good. If you are going to visit Hearst Castle this is a good choice.

We didn't stay at the Pelican Inn long enough to really get a sense of the place but I wish I had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Pelican Inn has a lovely location directly across from Moonstone Beach. We had a top floor ocean view room (a must), and it was so spacious! It was so nice to have the sliding glass door open all night and listen to the ocean! Not many Inns there have balconies, but the Pelican does! Everyone who works there is so pleasant, and when there were problems in our room, they corrected them immediately! The beds are very comfy and the complimentary breakfast buffet was pretty good. The wine and cheese cocktail hour was really fun! Overall it was very cozy, clean, quiet, and really prefect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staying at the Pelican Inn & Suites was wonderful. The entire feel of the hotel and having the abiltiy to look out over the ocean was wonderful. We took the walk along the boardwalk to watch the sunset. The breakfast were good but not great but we really didnt care. The staff made some good Cambria restaurnat recommendations which we tried. Overall a great hotel in a nice little town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing