We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently traveled to Big Sur and on the way stayed here in Moonstone Beach. What a charming Inn. Step out your door and you are on the boardwalk overlooking the black sand beach. The rooms are very nice, ocean breeze with a gas fireplace, the perfect combination. They also have an amazing breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon! Score! The most impressive part of this property by far the staff. Michael, the afternoon manager, with his beaming smile atop his 6'6" frame was a pure delight. He made this 60th wedding celebration trip so special. So turn off your cellphone (no need to do that actually), unplug and enjoy this very cool Inn.

Pix M.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a night here after visiting Hearst Castle with wife and 2 daughters. The friendly staff upgraded us into a ground floor room with pull-out sofa, as the one we booked didnt have one, for no extra cost. Clean and spacious room with modern electronics and a gas fireplace. Look out to the Pacific Ocean with a stunning view. Taking a few step toward it, you can hear the white capped waves padding the shoreline. With the sun or moon in the sky, it's THE picture of seaside vacation.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful place for our 10th Anniversary. When we checked in we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary". Our room was located on the second floor and was a room with a king size bed. There was a wonderful sitting area with a fireplace which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had a balcony looking out at the ocean which was great -- just opened the sliding glass door and could hear the surf. The afternoon wine and cheese tasting along with dessert was a very nice touch. There is a wonderful walking path along the shore line just a short way from the ocean. I loved this place and would love to go back. San Simeon and Hearst Castle are only about 10 minutes away, and we enjoyed taking 2 tours of the Castle. The only drawback to the second floor is that there is no elevator, but one of the fellows working at the hotel came and got our luggage and took it up for us! Wonderful staff and you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We liked this place so much on the way down that we booked again on the way back and will stick with it for any other SF-LA trips. Right across the street from the ocean, with a lovely long boardwalk along the bluff. This street has elbow-to-elbow small hotels and a few restaurants, but they don't interfere with the enjoyment of natural beauty as they are all low key. Our room was large, with a separated comfy living room area with fireplace. The decor is clean and simple; low key elegance. The full hot breakfast buffet is luxurious, as is the generous wine-and-munchies setup in the late afternoon. We took our wine glasses and treats to our tiny balcony and basked. The small outdoor hot tub was a possibility that did not call to us. The staff was exceptionally cheerful and helpful. We found an excellent standard seafood restaurant a couple of doors away. Delightful stay all round, for a very moderate price.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room both times and got upgraded to a beach view on the first floor one time, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very nice long weekend here! Amanda at the front desk was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and things to do in Cambria. The room was clean and we loved the gas fireplace, the ocean view and sunsets. They offer a nice breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese tasting. We will be back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nalyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Refreshing hotel, with lots of nice little touches. The rooms are a bit different from the usual cookie-cutter layouts one finds; our room, for example, had a window seat. The location, just a stone's throw from the beach, is outstanding. One can watch surfers, stroll the beach, view the colony of ground squirrels, or just gaze at the waves. Nice hot breakfast buffet which was kept well-replenished. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we thought we would choose this place as it has such a beautiful area around it and I have to say the quaiity and vaue are fantastic
Our room was comfortable ,good size everything you would expect
They do an afternoon reception for wine and nibbles ,we popped along and it is one thing extra that they do which adds a great touch ..enjoy a glass of wine and some cheese !! very popular
Breakfast was again very good with plenty to choose from
value ,,very good and there is plenty of other places to stay down in Moonstone Beach but we were glad we choose this one

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $147 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Cambria
Pelican Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing