We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience.......”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Enjoyed our Mother/Daughter and grandkids getaway so much at the Pelican Inn. Beautiful surroundings, steps from the ocean and walkway along the shore of beautiful Cambria. The room was great, the breakfast was very good with a great variety of choices, and I want to mention the afternoon tea/wine complimentary refreshments and snacks which rounded out a wonderful day.

Highly recommend this place. Staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all - excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    249
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
211
563
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loved our 2 night stay at the Pelican Inn. The inn was quaint and the room comfortable. It was so nice to be able to get up in the morning and take a walk along the boardwalk. The view of the ocean from the room was an added bonus. Breakfast was hearty and the afternoon snacks were nice. Would definiately return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is really charming, great location, friendly staff. We got the ocean view suite for two nights. The room was nice and clean with a cozy fireplace and a little balcony. The bathroom could have been nicer, looked a little old.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A very nice inn in a beautiful, convenient location for visiting Big Sur, the Hearst Castle and the Central Coast wine country. We had two rooms and both were spotless and well decorated with gas fireplaces. The bathrooms were clean and updated. Staff were helpful and courteous.

The town of Cambria is a very short drive from the hotel and there was a good choice of restaurants, our dinners in town were excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had the most relaxing visit. It was during off season, not a lot of people in the area. There is a hot breakfast every morning, the chef was so good, he would ask us what we would like for the buffet the next morning. It was under some construction at the time we were there, but didn't bother you at all. We were upstairs in the back with only one adjoining room, but no one was in it. The room was lovely. Pool was great.

Room Tip: They were will to upgrade us to a full ocean view room, but why pay the extra money, when the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice place, but do to the Housekeeping issues....i could not rate it any higher. We stayed FOUR nights and we asked on TWO different days for our bed sheets to be changed. BOTH days they were not changed. We had the SAME sheets for our whole stay. Also....we had 1 day to SLEEP in as long as we could....even though our Do Not Disturb sign was on our door, the maid knocked and knocked and knocked at almost 10am. I answered the door, looked down at the RED Do not disturb sign and looked at her. She saw i was in my pajamas and laughed and said sorry in her broken english. I informed the front desk of everything we experienced...she told me she would make a note to tell the manager, she took my name, phone number and email to make sure the mgr could contact me. STILL, i have not heard anything. I received a survey regarding my stay and put everything on there that I experienced...but never heard anything. The hotel does have a great location....but so do all the other choices of hotels on Moonstone beach.

Room Tip: We were located RIGHT next to the bridge that everybody walks on to go to the dining room for breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scrapgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and taking the time to fill out our survey. We are so sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations when you stayed with us here at the Pelican Inn & Suites. This is not up to the Pelican's standards as you can see from our other Tripadvisor reviews. We pride ourselves on being a green, eco-friendly hotel and have cards in the rooms to let us know if you would like to have the bed linen replaced or not, and am very sorry that there was some confusion in that regard. Please call us directly so that we may resolve any issues you have, as we would love to have the opportunity to have you as a guest again. Charles Yates - (805) 927-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a group of six: an elderly couple and a family of four. Upon request, the Pelican set us up in adjoining rooms on the first floor. Since one of our party has trouble walking, it was refreshing to see ramps for even small steps, and getting in and out was easy. The rooms were very simple and cozy. There was a fireplace in each room, but not what we had imagined: the fireplaces are gas and are located behind glass panels, taking away some of the charm of the fireplace. It is a quick 50 yards between the hotel and a beach walk that goes on for some distance. This stretch of beach is rugged and beautiful, and nice that it is so close. The wine and cheese hour was very simple and "ok". At breakfast (included), the room was very crowded, but the breakfast was very ample and with good selection. The hotel is very well located for adventures in the Cambria area. The staff was approachable and helpful. If you are looking for simple and sea-near for a reasonable price, this could very well be your place!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view and a fireplace. If you are there for more than overnight, you'll want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing