We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Awesome Staff”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The room was very spacious with a separate seating area and fireplace. The Pelican Inn is located right across the street from the beach. There is a walking path that is along the coast with beautiful ocean vistas. Don't miss out on the ocean sunsets. The drive to the Hearst Castle is about 15 - 20 minutes. The staff was great. The night Manager Michael was a great host. The Inn offers a nice hot breakfast to wake up to. In the evening, they offer wine, cheese and other snacks... very nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCaltravelerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    249
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
211
563
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was a perfect location to see the Elephant Seals and close to Hearst Castle. The ocean is just a quick walk across the street and you could hear the waves crashing from your room. The staff was very friendly and full of information. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as well as the wine and cheese in the evening.

Room Tip: For couples, rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielmarc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, NY
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Loved our 2 bdrm suite, which for us (with 15 and 19 yr old boys, who appreciated their own space) was a luxury. Across the street from the beach. Only wish we had more than 1 night. Also a short 15 minute drive to Hearst Castle and to the elephant seal beach, which was mesmerizing. Beautiful sunset and an unexpectedly great meal at the Black Cat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We prepaid for a ocean view double queen (renovated) -when we checked in and saw the old dirty room, I was stressed! The place was over booked and they could not give us the room we prepaid for- they were not rude to me but the rest of my family, I left in the room. After much negotiation (about an hour) I was finally offered a credit. Took it and literally walk next store - Fog-catcher - and got a very nice room with an ocean view and a really good breakfast!

Don't offer something you cannot deliver! If people prepay- deliver on the original offer. My inlaws had to deal with the manager and supervisor - really rude - they tried to toss the my family out on the street. Not a good staff or business practice. Half the hotel in renovated - be careful most of the place is a dump!

Room Tip: Go to the Fog Catcher - smart staff, great family rooms, great breakfast, views and pricing! We just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations, as we pride ourselves on our service. Occasionally we are presented with challenges on a reservation and we make our best attempt to resolve the situation directly with the guest. I would ask for you to contact me directly to discuss the challenges that you experienced so that we may resolve them to your satisfaction, and again earn your confidence and loyalty as a guest of the Pelican Inn & Suites. Charles Yates – (805) 927-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Pelican Inn & Suites in mid February 2013. Our primary reason for visiting was to see the elephant seals mating and pupping on the coast, and to simply enjoy the surrounding area. The Pelican Inn was ideal and provided us with everything we wanted.

Located on Moonstone Beach, many rooms have beautiful views of the ocean, and even if you don't have a view per se, all you have to do is walk across the street and you're on the boardwalk. We could hear the waves crashing at night. There are at least two other beaches within walking distance that are good for tide pooling and rock collecting, as well as sea otter sightings! There are also two very good restaurants just a few doors down.

The primary elephant seal viewing areas are a 10-15 minute drive up the road, and the heart of Cambria with its myriad cafes and shops is about 10 minutes the opposite direction. Perfect! Hearst Castle is also within 10 minutes by car.

The rooms at the Pelican Inn are modest but very nice, clean, and spacious. The staff was very welcoming (especially Michael at reception), and we enjoyed the setting, the complimentary breakfasts and the complimentary wine/cheese/dessert in the evenings. A perfect home away from home, we will definitely stay here again, and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I highly recommend a room with a view. These usually (but not always) include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in oceanview room number 207--it was delightful--and our grown daughter stayed in room 208. Both rooms were nearly identical. Each has a sitting area with fireplace oriented toward the ocean, which is just across the quiet feeder-street with easy access to the scenic boardwalk. A spectacular view of ocean and a windswept cyprus greeted us each time we opened the door. Appointments were lovely, including numbered prints on the walls, comfy robes, and ample pillows on the king bed and couch. Breakfasts were better than most, and guests are encouraged to take trays to their room if they so desire. The property felt like a good, small British hotel. It is five minutes to the town of Cambria and less than fifteen to San Simeon by car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermaWashingtonstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our stay at Pelican Inn could not have been more delightful. The view to the Pacific is spectacular and our room (#208) gave us perfect viewing of the sunset each night. The room is well appointed. The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of pillows. The bath was well stocked with fluffy towels and nice amenities. The room included a refrigerator, micro and coffee maker. Wine tasting at 5:30 was very nice and featured some local wines and cheeses. The breakfast was delicious. Hot and cold items were available and the chef was tableside insuring everyone's satisfaction. I especially enjoyed walking on the boardwalk along the beach. It is just across the street and there are plenty of convenient access point. Very enjoyable. I also appreciate that we were able to walk to two restaurants that have ocean views. Life is easy and satisfying when you are a guest at the Pelican in.

Room Tip: Room 208 is great. Make sure to have an ocean view and upper levels have the best view, but lower l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing