We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

A small but very cute. Although not serve dinner but they recommended a place nearby which was exquisite. The breakfast buffet was included and was very nice. The rooms are very nice. They have no air conditioning but do not need it because Cambria is cold. The room had fire which was very romantic and cozy. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank liztorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    211
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
151
461
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Pelican Inn & Suites with my boyfriend. We had the traditional King ocean front room. The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Complete with a large TV, fireplace, and french doors to our patio facing the ocean. We were on the ground floor and so the patio is near the street, seperated by a bit of a garden. Then across from the street is the beach. Complimentary wine and cheese at 5:30-7:30 was a nice surprise. We brought it back to our room to enjoy on the patio and watched the sunset. Very Romantic!!
Things to consider... walls were a little thin. We could hear our upstairs neighbors stomping around... and if staying during the summer there is no AC.... but that is common on the coast and the room did have a ceiling fan. There are several neighboring hotels which looked just as nice... so search around for the best deal.
If you are looking for a quiet coastal getaway, Pelican Inn & Suites is a nice escape.

Room Tip: Ocean views always make the room for me! Especially if you don't see the coast often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stay in Cambria every year for our anniversary trying different hotels, and by far this one exceeded the others. The room was very appealing, our only complaint was the bathroom had water damage, Im assuming was from the jetted tub overflowing with carnal activity since its big enough for two, and they just didn't get around to repairing it properly. The noise from the upstairs tenants was loud, but the grounds were very well kept up and aestetically appealing and there breakfast and coctail hour had wide variety and very tasty. All in all, well worth the money.

Room Tip: higher floors have less chance of "neighbor noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I love to come to Cambria for our anniversary . We always stay at The Pelican Inn and Suites on moonstone beach. This October 2012 was no different. We arrived to a warm and friendly staff provinding us with all the information we needed to make our stay special. We were checked into a beautiful suite that had been recently remodeled The Tv was awesome a nice flat screen . The fireplace is always a special touch. The staff was very helpful in giving us great choices on where to have a wonderful anniversary dinner and their recommendation was great. They have a nice welcome appitizer/wine/tea reception starting @ 5:30 which is included with in your room price( maybe not the wine not sure we don't drink).they also have a great breakfast buffet in the morning. The atmosphere can't be beat. The rooms are clean and so are the grounds of the hotel. Upon checking out I inquired about the bible that was in our room and asked if they had an extra one that I could buy new or used. The girl @the front brought me a brand new one and said this is on us,Our stay was perfect and they ended it on a wonderful note. We will be back soon and always highy recommend this beautiful hotel on moonstome beach in Cambria.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been wonderful !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosmala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a nice hotel. we booked on Hotel.com. the hotel is in 3 sections and we were put in the building far from the office. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Room was small with a view of the ocean on the small patio. Will try on of the other hotels on Moonstone Beach Dr just for variety.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seenmanyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I stopped in Moonstone Beach during a drive from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We rolled in late after a day of hiking and were greeted with the Inn's complimentary wine and appetizer hour. It was the perfect start to a short, wonderful stay. The hotel is located on a short strip across from the beach. Any hotel on this road is going to be nicely located for the area, and a morning walk on the beach to check out the seals. Our room was super cozy with a view of the beach and a gas fireplace. I'd definitely recommend friends consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journo_Kash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel as it is:
1. Right on the ocean. Walking distance to Cambria, walking beach paths, state park, etc
2. Newly remodeled rooms
3. One of the few places that offers a wonderful selection of complimentary wines, cheeses, and deserts in the afternoon
4. Great selection of items for hot breakfast
5. Friendly staff
My wife and I have been frequent visitors to Cambria and this plates rates amongst the best as far as amenities and to where it does not break the bank either to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave66455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing