We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Best Hotel On Moonstone Beach with the Best Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel On Moonstone Beach with the Best Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I love to come to Cambria for our anniversary . We always stay at The Pelican Inn and Suites on moonstone beach. This October 2012 was no different. We arrived to a warm and friendly staff provinding us with all the information we needed to make our stay special. We were checked into a beautiful suite that had been recently remodeled The Tv was awesome a nice flat screen . The fireplace is always a special touch. The staff was very helpful in giving us great choices on where to have a wonderful anniversary dinner and their recommendation was great. They have a nice welcome appitizer/wine/tea reception starting @ 5:30 which is included with in your room price( maybe not the wine not sure we don't drink).they also have a great breakfast buffet in the morning. The atmosphere can't be beat. The rooms are clean and so are the grounds of the hotel. Upon checking out I inquired about the bible that was in our room and asked if they had an extra one that I could buy new or used. The girl @the front brought me a brand new one and said this is on us,Our stay was perfect and they ended it on a wonderful note. We will be back soon and always highy recommend this beautiful hotel on moonstome beach in Cambria.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been wonderful !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosmala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    210
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
151
460
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a nice hotel. we booked on Hotel.com. the hotel is in 3 sections and we were put in the building far from the office. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Room was small with a view of the ocean on the small patio. Will try on of the other hotels on Moonstone Beach Dr just for variety.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seenmanyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I stopped in Moonstone Beach during a drive from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We rolled in late after a day of hiking and were greeted with the Inn's complimentary wine and appetizer hour. It was the perfect start to a short, wonderful stay. The hotel is located on a short strip across from the beach. Any hotel on this road is going to be nicely located for the area, and a morning walk on the beach to check out the seals. Our room was super cozy with a view of the beach and a gas fireplace. I'd definitely recommend friends consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journo_Kash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel as it is:
1. Right on the ocean. Walking distance to Cambria, walking beach paths, state park, etc
2. Newly remodeled rooms
3. One of the few places that offers a wonderful selection of complimentary wines, cheeses, and deserts in the afternoon
4. Great selection of items for hot breakfast
5. Friendly staff
My wife and I have been frequent visitors to Cambria and this plates rates amongst the best as far as amenities and to where it does not break the bank either to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave66455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located right across the street from the ocean which is the only reason I gave it 2 stars. The room itself stunk so bad of old musty, sweaty smells it was difficult to notice anything else. It definitely needs fresh paint, new carpeting, new furniture and new mattress and bedding. That's the only way you could possibly get the stink out of the room. The bathrooms needed to be upgraded as well. I would not recommend staying here unless you like smelling nasty musty odors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZardLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Pelican Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to post a review. As the General Manager I take all reviews seriously.We take pride in offering the best newly renovated ocean view rooms and suites on Moonstone Beach in Cambria. We had just completed extensive renovations to your suite prior to your stay, including NEW carpet, drapes, wall paper, furniture, LCD TV, bathroom fixtures and more. I am truly sorry that there was an unpleasant odor in your room, not typical at the Pelican Inn & Suites. Please contact me, I would like to discuss your stay with us. cyates@pelicansuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican Inn and Suites on a trip along the coast from LA to San Francisco. As we had never been to the area before, Pelican Inn and Cambria was a great stopover point for our leisurely drive. The Pelican Inn was quaint and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding very up to date.We loved the room/hallway furnishings and in the winter, the fireplace would be great addition. We booked a partial ocean view room and partial would be the key word here. Yes, we could see the ocean but you had to step clear out onto the little "porch" (barely big enough for two chairs) to see it. One thing that surprised us was the lack of air conditioning. I know this isn't unusual in California but we were unaware. We were there on a fairly warm day and we remarked that in the summer, the rooms could be hot. We opened the door to the hallway and our door to the outside to get a breeze to blow through. There was also a ceiling fan. The door to the outside didn't have a screen so all night we were sleeping on the first floor with a partially opened door. Not the most secure setting but it did provide us the relief we needed temperature wise within the room. The parking was "adequate" but very, very tight for our building in terms of number/size of spaces as well as the space required to pull out and maneuver. When we came back from dinner at 9 pm we had trouble finding a parking place. It would be nice if each room were assigned a space. The breakfast buffet was the usual fare, adequate to start your day. Access to the beach and boardwalk was great. Spent most of our daylight hours there. The reception staff was helpful in giving us advice on places to eat. We would definitely stay here again but would be more specific on our room requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way down Hwy 1 to LA. Lovely hotel, beds super comfortable, loved the cheese and crackers in the afternoon, and buffet breakfast in the morning. Very clean, and very spacious. Across the road from the beach, if we ever come back to the USA wouldn't hesitate in staying again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSVGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing