We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Different Now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's Different Now”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We've stayed at this property 3 times over the past 10 years. Our experience this last time was not good. The infrastructure of this facility has been allowed to degrade. While that can't be blamed on the new owners. The way they handle the problems can be blamed on them.

We checked into our first room and the patio doors looked like they had been cleaned with Crisco! After maintenance came and cleaned the doors we realized the thermal seal on the doors had been broken and the doors were cloudy. (Not ideal for an "Ocean View" room with associated rate.)

So we asked to be moved. Our new room was upstairs and the windows had the same problem. Normally this wouldn't have been a big deal because we liked leaving the window open. This was not an option this time because we quickly learned the gas fireplace was not working.

We called the front desk and learned that maintenance had left before 5 pm on this night (Holiday.) The desk guy said he would come up and try to light the fireplace. He was not able to accomplish that task. With the temperature falling into the 50's the night was chilly and window had to be closed.

The following day maintenance came back twice to light the fireplace. When we arrived back at our room after dinner. The fireplace wouldn't light again. This time maintenace had left at 8 PM. Another chilly night and another night we couldn't enjoy the ocean view and ocean sounds.

I understand that it is going to take some time for the new owners to upgrade the current situation. I don't get why they wouldn't have the right people on call to fix problems. I love Cambria and I use to love this property. I strongly urge you to try another property until the new owners fix some significant problems.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a cloudy and chilly ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    249
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
211
563
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Pelican Inn and Cambria was very relaxing as expected. Our suite was spacious and accomodated my husband, daughter and I nicely. She had her own sleeper sofa in the separate living room (there's a door). We plan on returning to this property - the staff were nice and the breakfast was very good. However, I would recommend that The Pelican Inn upgrade their beds (the queen I slept on was too short - I'm 5'6" and my feet hung off the end), add sheer curtains s to the windows for privacy and install room safes for valuables.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9inCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe,Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at this little Inn while drving Highway 1 in July. Room was clean and nice size and the beach is just accross the street. Good free breakfast and only minutes from Hearst Castle.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our second visit and we enjoyed our stay. Only negative comment was that our room was a handicapped accessible one which we did not request. Also, the bed was King but my feet still stuck over although I'm only 5 ' 8" tall. They have a great wine and cheese time, desserts in the evening, and a very nice breakfast. Can't beat the location right across from the ocean on Moonstone Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maesraeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

specious ocean view rooms with fire places and wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent three nights in an ocean view king suite, approximately $350/night.

Good things:

Looks good from the outside. Cleaning lady did a good job every day; she's very talented with making hearts and swans out of towels. Could hear the surf whenever our sliding door was open. The Front Desk staff was very friendly Friday evening. The suite looked pretty much exactly as the on-line pictures indicated it would. My "sleep number" is 80 and the mattress was hard, so I slept well. (On the other hand, my husband (whose sleep number is 45) had a back ache from the hard mattress.)

Not so good:

Like most of the inns along Moonstone Drive these last few years, there appears to be a lot of deferred maintenance in the rooms. (Faucet pulled away from the wall; big chip in the bathroom sink; etc.) As we were backing up, pulling foward repeatedly trying to get our Ford Edge (hardly a monster truck) out of the parking space once more, my husband commented that The Pelican Inn might have the worst parking lot of any of the many places we've stayed over the past two decades. They have a large riparian area (whatever that is) that they should consider reducing in size in order to improve their parking accomodations.

Opinion:

We ate breakfast at the inn Saturday morning, in an environment with absolutely no ambiance. Typical buffet with fatty foods, undercooked bacon, bagels, bread, some fruit and yogurt cartons on ice. Sunday we went to Linn's for a very nice breakfast which we greatly enjoyed and highly recommend.

In my opinion, having enjoyed some superb wine and cheese offerings over the years (try the Blue Whale Inn), as well as fabulous dessert bars, Pelican Inn's offerings were the K-Mart version of both. Hotels do not have to offer these amenities. My advice is: "If you are going to offer them, do it right." Especially in wine country where many of the guests are very knowledgeable about wine -- and wine glasses.

Summary:

Not a bad stay at all, but for $350/night I had expected more.

Room Tip: BYOB and skip the wine hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great view,good value. Open the window and listen to the waves crashing. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast prepared fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing