We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we stayed on our way north and we stayed more on our way back south!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we stayed on our way north and we stayed more on our way back south!”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

specious ocean view rooms with fire places and wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    249
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
211
563
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent three nights in an ocean view king suite, approximately $350/night.

Good things:

Looks good from the outside. Cleaning lady did a good job every day; she's very talented with making hearts and swans out of towels. Could hear the surf whenever our sliding door was open. The Front Desk staff was very friendly Friday evening. The suite looked pretty much exactly as the on-line pictures indicated it would. My "sleep number" is 80 and the mattress was hard, so I slept well. (On the other hand, my husband (whose sleep number is 45) had a back ache from the hard mattress.)

Not so good:

Like most of the inns along Moonstone Drive these last few years, there appears to be a lot of deferred maintenance in the rooms. (Faucet pulled away from the wall; big chip in the bathroom sink; etc.) As we were backing up, pulling foward repeatedly trying to get our Ford Edge (hardly a monster truck) out of the parking space once more, my husband commented that The Pelican Inn might have the worst parking lot of any of the many places we've stayed over the past two decades. They have a large riparian area (whatever that is) that they should consider reducing in size in order to improve their parking accomodations.

Opinion:

We ate breakfast at the inn Saturday morning, in an environment with absolutely no ambiance. Typical buffet with fatty foods, undercooked bacon, bagels, bread, some fruit and yogurt cartons on ice. Sunday we went to Linn's for a very nice breakfast which we greatly enjoyed and highly recommend.

In my opinion, having enjoyed some superb wine and cheese offerings over the years (try the Blue Whale Inn), as well as fabulous dessert bars, Pelican Inn's offerings were the K-Mart version of both. Hotels do not have to offer these amenities. My advice is: "If you are going to offer them, do it right." Especially in wine country where many of the guests are very knowledgeable about wine -- and wine glasses.

Summary:

Not a bad stay at all, but for $350/night I had expected more.

Room Tip: BYOB and skip the wine hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great view,good value. Open the window and listen to the waves crashing. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast prepared fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We ended up needing lodging in Cambria on the way down the California coastline. This property stood out due to the friendliness of the staff and the availability of several types of rooms. The one we picked, a suite with balcony view of the ocean, was fine. The rate was very reasonable.
The hotel is evidently under new management/ownership. This didn't mean anything to me, as I had never stayed there before and had no expectations. What I liked best about the place was the extras...full breakfast buffet and dessert buffet. There was also, evidently, a wine happy hour which we missed due to our late arrival. The management is obviously trying hard to see to it that their guests are treated well.
I'm not a big fan of the "motel strip" type of locations, however, this seemed better than most. I would recommend it for a family or couple traveling through the area and looking for good lodging where you certainly get your money's worth.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cienpasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We didn't actually stay here but our credit card was deducted close to $500 anyway! OMG!
I can't believe what a crook this guy, Charlie, the manager, is. I have no idea if this place is even close to nice or not but one thing I do know is that the manager is a total looser and sleezebag who lies, steals, and cheats. He's got everyone on his staff right in line with him too. This place is a no go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Trust me. I'm passing on to you a 500 dollar piece of advice. Go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flowershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
The Managment and staff of the Pelican Inn & Suites invite all of our guests to provide feedback through TripAdvisor and other sites. We need to hear all views as they help us know what we are doing well, and not so well. As the General Manager I take each review to heart and learn from each and every one. We love hearing about how special we are, so please read our many reviews and judge for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Moonstone Beach in Cambria, CA:
This was a great trip for us and we enjoyed this hotel very much. Although this was a hotel room it had a step down and railing from the bed to a living/ sitting area with a fireplace that made it feel like a suite. The bathroom was large and nicely decortated.. The room also had a mini bar with fridge, microwave and coffee service. Our room had a balcony off the livivng room that overlooked the pool and had a partial, but nice view of the ocean. There was a nice private outdoor hottub that was always hot and ready to go. The beach is right accross the street..
Special highlights of the hotel were the daily full breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and then a late evening dessert and coffee gathering. These gatherings were so enjoyable and a nice way to mingle with the other guests who whould fill us in on local sites to see and good resturants in town. We all exchanged notes on where we had eaten dinner at the dessert and coffee gathering wach evening.
One local resturant that was great is the Sow's Ear: good food and prices with a homey atmosphere.
The hotel is a sister to the the PIne Lodge Hotel and resturant and the Pelican Cove arranged for a voucher for 2 dinners with a bottle of wine for $50 at the Pine Lodge resturant. What a deal! These were high quality fish and meat meals with good local wine from the Paso Robles wine valley which is just down the coast. The resturant was elegant with wonderful food and servive. It was surrounded by lush gardens with meandering paths and "garden rooms". Don't miss the "bedroom" that had a full bedrrom set planted with flowers.
I plan to make this a regular destination at least once a year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindawildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Pelican Cove Inn on a trip down the coast from San Francisco enroute to Santa Barbara...Not knowing much about the area, we were very happily surprised to find this beautiful beach location. While the price was on the high-side for the accommodations, the location can not be beat. A stone's throw from the beach, with walkway access in each direction, great restaurants and an easy ride to San Simeon and the Hearst Castle.....elephants seals and 4th of July fireworks added to the fun! A place we'd love to return to.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limerickbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Inn And Suites
Pelican Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing