We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Best as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is the only place we stay in Cabria. Got a terrific deal on Travel Zoo. We spent 2
nights in a king patio room. Everything was perfect. Becky is very helpful and gives
great ideas on what to do in the area. It is right across from the beach and has a great
jaquizzi and pool. Highly recommend the dinner package with dinner at Cambria Pines
Lodge. Yummy food, great service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    259
    80
    12
    8
See reviews for
194
409
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We spent a night at the Sea Otter Inn in Cambria as a stop-off between Monterey and Los Angeles. This was one of our shorter drives (in length, not in time taken!) so we just wanted somewhere to lay our weary heads.

The inn is directly across from Moonstone Beach, which played host to one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever witnessed. There’s no doubt that this is Cambria – and this inn’s – big selling point. There are rocking chairs out the front of the inn facing the ocean, but these were reserved – not sure whether this is something you have to do well in advance?

We were allocated Room #102 – right next door to the office. This meant we were disturbed regularly by guests using the (very noisy) ice machine right outside our room. The room was very “Laura Ashley” – chintzy floral bedspreads, lampshades, curtains, wallpaper– like there had been an explosion of petals in the room! However, the room was perfectly adequate for our stopover, and the bed was comfortable. There was a gas fireplace which we didn’t utilise, although temperatures dropped quite considerably after sunset.

A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the office – this was a little limited in choice but filled a gap until lunchtime.

Cambria itself has very little to offer except its beautiful beach and sunset. We struggled to find somewhere open to eat at just 8:15pm, with a lot of places closed, and those that were open were extremely pricey. We managed to squeeze in as the last customers of the evening at the Main St Grill – the food was plentiful, and cheap, but not particularly fine dining and we felt rushed by the staff sweeping, cleaning and turning lights off around us…

Despite its beautiful location, I would probably not choose to return to the Sea Otter Inn – or even Cambria – again. The Inn did nothing wrong, but there are probably nicer accommodations, and better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFletche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I agree with the review posted under mine by travelvirgo. I think we overpaid for what we got here. Granted, we did pay more to have a ocean front room with a jacuzzi tub. The tub was just a regular sized bathtub with jets, which we never used. I felt like it was inaccurately described to us over the phone as we thought we'd have a nice whirlpool. The one thing we were looking for in searching for a hotel on Moonstone beach was one with an outdoor hot tub and this place does have that. We enjoyed that each of the 2 nights of our stay. The rooms are outdated and they have soap, shampoo/conditioner in wall mounted dispensers which I think looks cheap. The breakfast was just okay and the coffee was absolutely dreadful.

However, the location is great and our bed was super comfortable. The staff was pleasant in our dealings with them too.

Would I stay again? Doubt it, but it could have been much worse. Overall, I think you can find a better value somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mere811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We have stayed on Moonstone Beach at least a dozen times and this is my least favorite. The rooms are very dated, feels like an old ladies house. Floral curtains, bad wallpaper, dated bathrooms, weird green towels, and cheesy nicknacks on the wall made me feel a bit like I was staying in a nursing home. The one good thing was the beautiful patio in back, but better furniture is needed out there to really enjoy the space.

Hotel staff was friendly, although I am feeling I got ripped off on the room. Thought I booked for $155 per night including 2 dinner credits, but never got a confirmation e-mail even after I called and asked for one. At checkout we paid $124 per night plus $100 for the dinners (apparently not included as I thought). I ended up paying about $40 more than I thought upon booking. The really dissapointing thing was that when I checked out Friday morning, as the man explained that I was infact paying $100 for dinner credits, the woman in front of me that was checking in was paying under $100 to stay friday night!

In the end, the hotel was about $125 not including dinner, but we would have eaten elsewhere if we knew we were having to pay for the dinner credits afterall. Dinner at Madeline's was excellent, but Cambria Pines Lodge was a little like dining in a nursing home. Would have gone to Black Cat Bistro instead!

For the same price, we could have stayed at one of our favorite hotels on Moonstone, Little Sur Inn, Moonstone Landing, or Fireside Inn. These hotels are much more updated and a better value for the money and we will likely return there instead of the Sea Otter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Clean room, bad value, mediocre bed (at least it didn't creek when we bounced on it) best part was the location accross from the tide pools. We had the front room with an ocean view and were unable take advantage of our two reserved wood chairs on the patio which over looked the hwy.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exile in Utah
Level Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We loved our stay here. We stayed two nights over the July 4th holiday. The beautiful landscaping and flowers were a real medicine for the spirit. Town was quite busy with tourists but we were able to find plenty of solitude on the beach. The inn is in a great location, right across the street from the beach. It was an extraordinary experience to watch the July 4th fireworks over the ocean! There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but town is just a few minutes drive. The inn has two pet-friendly rooms and we were VERY happy with ours. It was incredibly clean and fresh. Pretty linens (although the pillows could be a bit fluffier) and nice room decor. We liked that the heat (necessary all year on the coast) was provided by a gas fireplace. The bathroom is nice and I loved the soap/lotion provided...subtle relaxing scents. Usually those types of things are too strong and give me migraines, these were great. I'm mystified by some of the poor reviews I have read of the breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful! The coffee was great and there was a great selection of teas, including herbal. The pastries provided are made at a local Italian bakery and are delivered fresh every morning. Quite an array of them, delicious! and if that isn't enough there are cereals, oatmeal, and the ubiquitous hard boiled eggs and yogurt. The staff was friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was great. We look forward to staying at the Sea Otter Inn again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaBaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed here so we could visit Hearst Castle in San Simeon in the morning. The inn is only 10 minutes away. Very pleasant and quiet rooms. Nicely decorated accomodations and a good free continental breakfast in the morning. Free wireless internet access. Just be aware that if you arrive late make certain you have eaten because most restaurants in area cleose around 10 PM. Across the street is the beach where you can observe elephant seals on the rocks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing