We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay.”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
aluckytraveller
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here and were very pleased with our choice. In a great position
overlooking the beach and a quick stroll to a great bar/restaurant (can't remember the name). The room was clean and decor was tasteful the beds were most comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aluckytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    272
    83
    12
    8
See reviews for
206
440
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Stayed here April 27th-29th. The room was very nice. Becky was very pleasant on checking us in and out and good ideas for antiquing. We had a problem with our TV being set to loud and notified the front desk and we had a maintenance man there within a few minutes to fix the problem. The jacuzzi was wonderful and set to a nice temperature. Highly recommend the Sea Otter Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This was such a surprise and a very pleasent stay! We had a couble queen room with a garden patio. The room was clean and so cute! There was a fireplace that was controlled with a thermastat (i have been to rooms where the fireplace was controlled by a 15 minute timer!) which was very nice...the room stayed warm, but didnt get too hot. The garden patio was so cute, but it was too cold for us to use.
The breakfast was continental and had the typical affair.
overall out stay was very nice. We saw several people using the pool and jacuzzi.
The hotel is right across the street from the beach and a very short walk to moonstone beach bar and grill.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PearlCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

My husband and I went to the Sea Otter Inn over the weekend with our two small dogs. We had a wonderful time. The room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable (and I'm 8 months pregnant, so a comfortable bed was very important), and the location was AWESOME. Across the street from the beach in Cambria, and 2-3 minutes from downtown Cambria. It was a wonderful trip, one that we are sure to remember.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PersianMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolceVita123
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I would just like to say what an awesome experience I had at the Sea Otter Inn...Although the price was a bit high ($260.00) for one night, I must say it was well worth it, The front desk was so nice, The continental breakfast was simple yet satisfying, we even rented a movie from their collection, We used the jacuzzi late night and it was so relaxing. The room was immaculately clean, there were more than enough towels, the bathroom was spotless, the beds were super comfortable with goose down comforters and clean linens. We had great channels on T.V, Unfortunatly I wasn't able to use the internet through my macbook. The connection was weak. The location was great, so close to the ocean. It was quiet, quaint no problems, no disturbances whatsoever. I would come back time and time again!

  • Liked — Immaculatly clean and comfortable room
  • Disliked — The price was a bit high, and No Wi-Fi internet
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DolceVita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2008

My husband and I wanted to take a quick getaway/short second honeymoon and I had been planning this for months. After checking out many different places, we decided on the Sea Otter Inn. We were SO happy we did! The room was very quaint, with beautiful crown molding and two casement windows that opened to let in the wonderful sea breeze. Our room was very clean and decorated nicely. There was a small fridge, a microwave and a coffee grinder/coffee maker - so we could have fresh ground coffee every morning! The continental breakfast was very convenient too - pastries from an Italian bakery in town, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal & juice.

The man at the front desk, Don, was absolutely great! He couldn't have been more helpful and full of information on Cambria. He recommended JJ's Pizza for us for dinner one night - he was right! It was great. We also tried the Old Stone Station for lunch one day - their Chinese chicken salad is very good! I only ordered a half-salad - the whole order must be huge!

The one and only drawback was our bathroom window did not open - so no cross-breeze. Thankfully, we read reviews & brought 2 small fans for at night as recommended.

The Inn grounds are beautifully maintained with many different flowers - gorgeous! We will definitely stay here again - but next time with a garden view patio! I would recommend this Inn for anyone who wants a comfortable stay in a beautiful beachside town! We haven't been this relaxed from a trip in I don't know how long.

If you enjoy walking, take advantage of the boardwalk that runs all along Moonstone Beach, right across the street from the Inn - it's a long, beautiful walk along the ocean - you will see all sorts of wild flowers and adorable ground squirrels everywhere!

  • Liked — The special touches in the room and the friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — The bathroom windown did not open for a cross-breeze.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poohs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Stayed at Sea Otter again. The king patio rm was larger than the one that we had previously BUT visibly dirty & worn. Becky at the front desk would not honor the 50% coupon that we had, arguing that the coupon was only for those who were paying the "high season" rate. The coupon did not specify that & we booked our reservation online, which quotes high season rates, & May is considered the high season by Moonstone Properties (owns the inn). They shouldn't give out the coupon to guests if they won't honor it. It's just a scheme to get people to come back! We did call Moonstone Properties main reservations number & got the same explanation about the coupon. Rep we talked to was extremely rude & just hung the phone up at the end of the call.

Also noticed this time that the continental breakfast was set out rather sloppily by Becky. Seemed they were quite busy that weekend & couldn't handle the volume of guests. Becky mentioned that she had a bad time w/several other guests complaining about things just before we walked in the office door. Don't want to hear that kind of stuff - front desk should always be totally professional!

We have decided not to stay w/the Moonstone Properties chain again.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank norcalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing