We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Sea Otter Inn. We were pleasantly surprised with the Inn. Check in was super easy and we were settled in our room within minutes. The room came equipped with a working gas fireplace and a back patio. We ate our breakfast every morning on the patio in the warm sun. Breakfast was very basic, cereal, bagels, pastries, fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Just enough to get you going. The coffee was a disappointment and next time I think we will bring our own. The Inn is directly across from Moostone Beach and the boardwalk. One could walk all the way into Cambria if you didn't mind crossing Highway 1 (there is a stop light). We did walk all the way to the highway and it probably took about 15 minutes. It is very nice to be directly across from the path as we took our morning walks along the ocean. We used the hot tub, which was rather toasty and I believe the pool was heated as well. The pool area is enclosed and protected from the wind. We will definitely stay here again when we travel back to Cambria.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    275
    83
    12
    8
See reviews for
214
456
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Sea Otter Inn. It's a great location (on a road with a lot of other inns, motels) and has a fantastic view. The rooms are comfortable - we were there in May so not having air conditioning wasn't an issue. The continental breakfast is limited and you have to take it back to your room to eat because the office/lobby is very small.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty52Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Cambria was a stopover night stay on our road trip. I booked Sea Otter Inn because their prices were the most reasonable. We have 5 adults and got the suite room.

The suite was located in the far end of the building, beside the pool. The weather was still cold in mid-April, so even with no air-con it was comfortable sleep. The suite has a room, a living room and 2 bathrooms. In the living room, they have 2 sofa bed (queen size) which we used for the 3 adults. The suite is very spacious and clean. Even though the sofa seems to be a little dated but it didn't really bother us.

Breakfast was included which is nice. The breakfast is simple continental breakfast with juice and coffee laid out in the small office which was where we check-in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiaochu1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dove Canyon, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Sea Otter Inn is a clean and comfortable small inn on Moonstone Beach in Cambria. The property is well maintained, there is a nice pool and spa, and the rooms are quiet. A free continental style breakfast is served in the office in the morning for guests to take back to their rooms. The inn is located directly across the street from the beautiful Moonstone Beach boardwalk which is really nice for a walk at any time. We walked there in the mornings and saw harbor seals as well as sea otters at play in the coves. Farther down, there is a nice park as well. The Moonstone Bar and Grill is within walking distance for a great dinner or afternoon drinks while watching the sunset.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle will avoid Hwy 1 noise, but this really isn't much of an issue as there isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a Queen Queen room for a two night stay. This room is not as cozy as travelers say it is. The room was dark and dingy! The carpet was dirty, the beds are old and the 4 pillows (if you want to call them that) are horrible. I did love the soft water! There is no AC and it does get warm in the room. The room has two small windows, but they don't have screens. It is difficult to have the windows open especially when you have travelers walking by. The continental breakfast was nothing special (bagels, cereal, boiled eggs, hard pastries, juice and coffee.) I witnessed a young gal working the front being rude to another traveler. Breakfast is served in the same small office which holds about 4-5 people at a time. We paid $99 a night. I wouldn't pay more than that! I must say that we have stayed at several other hotels along Moonstone and our goal is to try and stay at every one. I wish I had more positive things to say about this hotel. This by far is our least favorite. Rating this hotel average is being kind.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Avila01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld, australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay..we were lucky to get something quite late..seemed to be busy in all the hotels that weekend. Staff very helpful, beds comfy, and had a fireplace too...very cosy. Nice spot for walks, close to town. Breakfast was self serve..were able to take back to our room, and enough for our needs. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anniepotts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had never been to Cambria. By accident - and the aid of an internet discount ($79 a night)- it seemed just about perfect to stay at the Sea Otter Inn to enjoy the California Central Coast. It was. Perhaps any of the travelers who stay at the motels along Moonstone Beach would be thrilled to just sit and stare at the surf or stroll along the boardwalk trails. The location is lovely. In March there are foggy mornings and breezy blue skies during the day. If you are smart enough to visit a local winery, evenings are best spent toasting your good fortune. Within minutes in one direction you can be antiquing and eating, minutes in the other direction brings majestic seals & Hearst Castle.
In the middle of all this is the Sea Otter Inn - charming, cheerful and cute. The staff was friendly and welcoming, as was the decor. In the morning, a quick scamper to the office and you can fill your breakfast tray with pastries, yogurt, fruit, juice, and coffee to be enjoyed back in your room or on an Adirondack chair facing the ocean.
Oh yes - definitely again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsGoWithStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing