We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Go to Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Go to Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Been going to The Sea Otter Inn for quite a few years. Very comfortable, clean and friendly. We usually go mid week and are able to get very reasonable rates, they have specials through the year. I love the location, right across the street from the ocean and walkway. We like the rooms with the little patio off the back. The patios don't have a view. But really nice to take your coffee or wine out there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindyjsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    253
    78
    12
    8
See reviews for
186
393
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We wanted to stay close to the ocean and have a fireplace and these lovely rooms more than met our requirements! The rooms were immaculate, roomy and beautifully decorated as a beach front area should be. It was convenient having a lovely continental breakfast included. There was a long boardwalk across from the hotel for beach walking. We had dinner in the nearby village of Cambria only a few minutes away. I loved the comfortable feel of the whole area. Great place to stop and enjoy the quiet and beach. Priced competitive to other properties on road.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

A perfect midwinter getaway! A nice little gem on the central coast. Well appointed room with fireplace which was perfect for a chilly breezy evening. Continental breakfast was included in the price. The property grounds were attractively landscape and when talking to the office manager found out that the property owners also owned the Cambria Nursery and Gift shop in town. We decided to check it out and found it to be a fantastic find. Not only were there several buildings with wonderful gifts, antiques, and home décor, there were numerous paved paths that wandered all around the nursery displays of plants and flowers. A truly great discovery. No crowds, no hustle bustle.

Room Tip: Stop earlier in the day to secure a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Living in the Desert during the summer, this visit was a great refresher. The air was clear and nippy
and the beach(right across the road from the Inn) was beautiful to stroll by in the morning, or late afternoon. The room was comfortable, with a complimentary continental breakfast daily.

The nearby village was an "Artists" colony with custom jewelry, featuring the local moonstones
found on our "Moonstone" beach. Good restaurants, and very friendly shopkeepers, etc. You
won't find a Denny's or I-hop here....not permitted.Good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had a great time with Family, staff was very friendly and helpful. Next time we will stay in the front of the hotel facing the beach, those are king size bed only. We had our family so we needed a suite. Spa was nice and relaxing, pool a little cold. Very nice breakfast. They need to add a wine and cheese hour in the evening. Very clean rooms, and quite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in a suite here. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was not fancy. The whirlpool tub was just a regular tub with jets on the side; not what I expected. Everything worked, so no complaints. Perhaps I would stay again if in the area. The Inn is across the street from the beach, so we took a walk and took some pictures of the seals that were in the ocean. Excellent location, if you are into things like that.
The Inn has no restaurant, but there are restaurants close by. The continental breakfast is somewhat adequate and is a time-saver.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianAndMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I found this hotel from tripadvisor, It has good reviews so I book it. I stayed at cambria with my husband for 1 night only, but he loved the hotel and the town as well. The rooms was cozy and clean, the hotel staff was friendly. Definitely a romantic place to stayed away from the city, and relax! If you are looking for a nice hotel choose this!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessazerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing