We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and comfortable stop on the CA Coast”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and comfortable stop on the CA Coast”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My kids would have stayed here longer, but we had to move on. We stayed 1 night in a room with two queen beds and a fireplace. Very comfortable beds and clean. Charming and "homey" feel to the place. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast is set out in the lobby and you take it back to your room on a tray. Nice selection of fruit, bagels, yogurt, etc. Room had a fridge and coffee maker. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkluvs2read64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    272
    83
    12
    8
See reviews for
206
440
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CAS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spend two nights at the Sea Otter in a King room with patio, and it was just fine! The property's a bit long in the tooth, so it has a bit of a 60's feel, but it's extremely well maintained and our room was spotless. It's perfectly located next to an entrance to the Moonstone Drive boardwalk, and just a couple of doors down from the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, which is a great place to eat, morning, noon, and night, right by the beach. Internet and breakfast are included in the room fee, so the rates here are a pretty good deal versus some of the other hotels on the Moonstone Drive strip. We''ll stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fair-But-Tough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Sea Otter Inn often over the last 20 years. I've only stayed at another location once when the Sea Otter was full. The place is charming and immaculately maintained. The rooms are large and modern and clean, with super comfortable beds. There are two suites that are perfect for multiple guests. The outside appearance remInds me of an idyllic New England cottage. And of course Moonstone Beach itself can't be beat. I can't wait to go back again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Sea Otter Inn is very nice, quiet and relaxing. The people who run the Inn are very pleasant and accommodating. We stay two nights and enjoyed our stay there. Moonstone Beach is across the street with walking paths. Several good restaurants are within walking distance to the Inn but a little pricey. In Cambia we found a nice Italian restaurant where the food was absolutly delicious. The Inn is in a English garden setting and we have our own private patio where we could relax after a day in town. The room has a "fireplace" which was kind of cute, it did warm the room. The Inn offers a continental breakfast that you take back to your room as there is no dining room but it had a lot of choices to pick from. The pastries were very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgenung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a pretty little place this is. We arrived early but it was no problem as the receptionist checked us in and gave us our key, we then went off to see the elephant seals and our room was ready on our return. Very pretty room, a garden room, comfortable bed and everything you would need. Unfortunately, my husband had been waiting to see the first episode of Falling Skies and just before it started there was a power cut along the coast so he will have to wait to see it here in the UK next week!

The weather was very foggy while we were here which was a shame.

We loved the fact that there were loads of humming birds flitting around outside our room and spent ages trying to photograph them. The gardens around the rooms were full of flowers and were very pretty. I particularly liked the mailbox with a picture of a sea otter on it.

The breakfast was fine, a good continental breakfast which we took to our room, plenty to eat which set us up for the day. I would highly recommend this little hotel. I had checked out some of the others along Moonstone Beach Drive on the internet and they were mostly more expensive. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A King Garden room is a very comfortable choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent two nights here on a recent trip down the PCH. Location was awesome. Walk across the street and you're on the beach/boardwalk. Awesome views of the coastline and wildlife.

Room was very nice sized, and included small microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. We had a "garden room" - which meant that there was a door to a small private patio that had two chairs and a table. But it was completely "walled off" by hedges - so there was no view or anything.

Free breakfast was kind of awkward in that they place a variety of muffins, rolls, fruit, boiled effs, and cereal along the counter area in the registration area - which is a very small space. I'd say maximum of 3 people can be in the area where the food is before it gets very difficult to move around. You pick what you want, put it on a tray, and bring it back to your room. There were no plates - which I thought was kind of strange.

The man at the front desk was very friendly and talkative; The woman - not so much. She smiled - but trying to engage her in a conversation seemed painful. We ended up referring to her as "sunshine". :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myackanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Sea Otter in is simple, clean, and cute. It was the perfect place for a quick one-night stop on our drive up the coast. The view if the ocean in the morning (there is a little nature preserve across the street) is not to be missed. After watching the seals sunbathe, we were on our way up the coast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkerTalker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing