We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laidback charmer”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Sea Otter Inn, one of a string of small hotels on Moonstone Beach in Cambria. It is quaint, cozy, well situated, just a couple of steps from the boardwalk but also close to Highway 1, so if you're in the inner rooms (higher numbers, I think), you'd hear the cars from your room. They offer a continental breakfast - breakfast rolls, cereal, hard cooked eggs, yogurt, teas, coffees. Most of all, it is well maintained, clean. We booked a garden patio room, it had 2 queen beds, and a small private patio. Spring in Cambria is something else, all the flowers are blooming, deers roaming, rabbits and squirrels darting about, and elephant seals lounging.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GraceC925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 904 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We traveled to Cambria over spring break 4 adults 3 teen and 1 senior. We booked 2 rooms at the Sea Otter Inn. I called them directly to reserve our rooms rates were cheaper than all the other websites plus when I tried to book 2 rooms with 2 queen beds on line it stated only king beds available. The receptionist was very pleasant took my reservation for the 2 room with 2 queen beds with no hassle.

Quaint clean friendly hotel directly across from moon stone beach. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast offered in the front desk area. Coffee , tea juices,bagels, pastries, cereal. Enough to get you going for the day. You bring the tray back to your room to eat which was fine with us.

Visited Hearst Castle which was about a 10-15 min drive from the hotel. Drove up and stopped at another beach stop are to see the elephant seals all over the sand . That was fascinating.

Great places to eat in town. Wish we would have stayed a few more days it was beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trachiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic walkway steps away from the Pacific. Wonderful views of the shoreline and seals. We actually saw a mom seal nursing her baby just feet away from us. Great place to stay. Very quaint and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Sea Otter Inn in Cambria and loved it. We stayed in Room 126 with an ocean view. The room was very large, had a fireplace and the decor was charming. Two double windows with flower boxes filled with geraniums. Reminded me of an English cottage. The king sized bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and in good shape. I loved sitting in the comfortable chairs listening and looking at the ocean. Really nice to have the continental breakfast in the room before heading out for the day. The Inn had been recommended by a friend and we took advantage of the Travel Zoo special. Room was half the price of two other places we had stayed at on Moonstone Beach. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra cost to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everything about the Sea Otter Inn was wonderful; the cleanliness, the location of it right next to the beach with a lovely boardwalk, the comfortable room with the fireplace, the pool, the jacuzzi, the lovely gardens, the continental breakfast spread and friendliness of staff made the stay so awesome.

I also brought my dog with me, and this place being pet friendly was an A+ !

Room Tip: Seemingly every room is a good room. I stayed close to the pool , and it was super quiet since the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunwaterwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got this steal deal from a discount site and wondered how good they'd be since Im not familiar with the area. I was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness, cleanliness and decor of the motel. Its been carefully redone and the maintainence people do one of the best jobs of keeping this place up Ive ever seen. Their flowers and landscaping are the best Ive ever seen. What is really important to me is the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. They excelled in that dept. The front desk guy really went out of his way to attend to every question I had. He became my travel agent among other things. This is a beautiful, relaxing place and hope all will enjoy. Note: it wasnt warm enough to swim but take a dip in the hot tub. Its also super clean and great after a hard day of touring.

Room Tip: check for a steal deal of $69 per nite on travelzoo or others of the like. Thats half price and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1965kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pretty nice, with only minor problems. There are many hotels around here which are probably fairly similar. This is about as close as you can stay to Hearst Castle.

Pros:
- Nice location across a quiet street from the ocean. There's nothing built on the ocean side of the road, so it seems pretty nice. We only stayed the night, though, so we didn't really see it very well.
- Rooms, furniture, and bathrooms are pleasant.
- Staff is pleasant.

Cons:
- Gas fireplace is loud when switching on or off - it kept waking us up when it did this. As this is the room's source of heat, you won't avoid this if the weather is cool.
- Breakfast leaned a bit toward the unhealthy pastry side, though they were pretty nice-looking pastries compared to other hotel breakfasts. You need to bring your breakfast from the office back to your room on a tray.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,081 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $123 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing