We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A one night stop on our travels down the PCH. Overall, pleased I suppose. Cute and charming room. Outdated bathroom. Fireplace was a nice touch and the room decor was pretty. Loved that it was literally across the street from the beach. Front desk staff wasn't exactly friendly and that's a shame. Did have to kill a spider in the tub and a beetle on the bed and that's no good either. For the price though, I think we did okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starrygirlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Sea Otter Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We're glad you liked your room, the fireplace, the decor, and our location on Moonstone Beach Drive. Please accept my personal apologies that our front desk staff did not meet your expectations. We will take your feedback to heart as we do our best to live up to our goal of treating every guest with kindness, courtesy, and a welcoming spirit. Sorry you found a few uninvited critters in your room; we will inform our pest control technician.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    259
    80
    12
    8
See reviews for
193
408
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

LOCATION – Very easy to find, right on the main road through the town. Hotel is just across the road from lovely Moonstone beach and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

ROOM – Nice, cosy, traditional décor. The room we stayed in had a fireplace in living area with large sofas. It also had two bathrooms with toiletries and hairdryer, a utility sink, coffee maker and microwave. Large bedroom with large table and chairs.

HOTEL & FACILITIES – Peaceful with pretty gardens and a small pool. Parking right outside room. Good breakfast in reception that you can take back to your room, with a good selection of food, teas and coffees.

We were upgraded due to a change in someone else’s booking, but the lady who delivered this good news to us at reception did it in a rather brusque manner, which was a bit odd. But the man in the reception at breakfast time was charming.

VALUE FOR MONEY – Yes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Over_Land_And_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great little hotel directly across from Moonstone beach. The rooms were quaint, nice sized and clean. Not fancy. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The inn offered a special via Travelzoo so we quickly swept it up for a Mother-Daughter trip. We arrived around 3pm to a beautiful view of the ocean just steps from the hotel. The rooms were CLEAN, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good, nice selection but just a warning, a bit ackward because its offered in the lobby which is about 8x5 feet of space; you select the items and take back to your room. Otherwise, its a very nice experience primarily because just across the two-lane highway is a boardwalk that follows the coastline to some of the most beautiful ocean scenery I have seen in a long time.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room with a fireplace. Oh! the fireplace is connected to the temperature contro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshnLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

As promised this hotel sits across the street from the beach in easy walking distance from several restaurants and access points to the beach. It really was lovely to be able to just step out our door and be at the ocean.
The room and service were pretty standard. The 'fireplace' is not so much a fireplace as it is a furnace with a class cover so you can see the fire. It clicks on all night and is REALLY noisy! Not really the romantic fireplace you might be hoping for.

Room Tip: Only the front room provides access to the charming outdoor seating that many pictures feature, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This motel is Perfectly situated on Moonstone Beach. The wonderful boardwalk is just across the street offering easy access to the beach and a great walking experience for those who want to stay up out of the water and sand. A decent restaurant is also within walking distance. Motel management serves a better than usual array of breakfast foods in the morning. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the in-room fireplace. The price was reasonable although I understand rates are higher at other times of the year. I regretted not having brought a swimming suit since the pool was amazingly warm. Hot tub also looked inviting. I'll definitely be returning to the Sea Otter Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A classic Moonstone Beach drive property, carefully maintained, and upgraded. Quiet (except for noisy plumbing) and popular with the mature crowd, and elephant sea lovers during the off season. Look for specials at the web site.

Room Tip: The 2 queen standard rooms are fine and come with microwave, fridge and coffee maker. We like the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoofly96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing