We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Cambria”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My stay at Sea Otter Inn was a very pleasant one. It's location right across the beach is convenient, and allows easy access to it as well as the broad walk. By virtue of the fact that it's situated in Cambria already guarantees it that it has a wonderful scenery and backdrop. The place is simply lovely to be.
The room is very clean and well kept, and it's obvious that the housemaid takes pride in doing the work. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast is provided although you would have to bring it to either your room or anywhere else to eat. Nonetheless, I do find that the Sea Otter Inn is a worthwhile place to stay in Cambria. You would not be wrong in doing so.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 951 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent one night at the Sea Otter Inn while driving up the California coast. Room was nice and the bed was comfortable. A light breakfast was included. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRVLALOT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Beautiful property, walk out your door, look to your right and you gazing upon the ocean. Got a fantastic rate, Room furnishings lovely. Continental breakfast adequate., Definitely would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Love the Sea Otter Inn and will definitely return. The motel is located across the street from Moonstone Beach, which is definitely preferable to staying in the town of Cambria. It’s only 6 miles from Hearst Castle and about a 10 minute drive from the elephant seal beach. They have a heated pool and a hot tub that is open til 10pm. It’s about ½ the price of any of the motels on Moonstone Beach Drive (we paid $79/night off season). It’s also dog friendly, but they only have 2 “pet rooms” so book early if you bring your dog (which by the way you should – the beach is across the street!) The staff is also very nice. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: room 114 is pet friendly with 2 queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Husband and I were not planning on going on vacation this year due to a desire to pay off our existing debt, but due to a couple of fantastic sales on eBay (thanks Daddy for keeping that first issue of Sports Illustrated) and the fantastic deal we got at Sea Otter Inn, our vacation was a success.

We normally stay at another B&B and pay more than $175 nightly – a valid price, but one we could not afford this particular year. Sea Otter Inn was much more reasonably priced and, after I read its reviews, I decided to book it, sight unseen. And boy, were we pleasantly surprised.

When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the woman behind the desk (wish I got her name). She immediately found our reservation and gave us our keys (yep – KEYS, not key cards). We went and viewed the room and immediately requested an additional night’s stay, which she promptly arranged.

The rooms look exactly like the one in the photo. King size bed. DOWN comforter. KING SIZE pillows (I did a happy dance for these). Private back patio with two chairs and a table in case we wanted to enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine. Yes, there’s a fireplace – it’s actually the room’s heater, controlled by a wall-thermostat. Full bath with shower/tub combo. Immaculately clean. Comfy bed. Comfy chairs. Yep, we were going to stay.

Breakfast is your basic cold-continental breakfast. Yogurt, pastries, bagels, toast, English muffins, fruit, eggs, etc. But since there’s protein (eggs and yogurt), that’s all husband and I need to start the day. And the pastries were a delightful indulgence. Oh, and the coffee’s superb (and I’m picky) AND available all day.

But the most charming part of the place is the beautiful garden. Sea Otter Inn is owned by the same people that own Cambria Nursery. The gardens are lush and full of flowers and hummingbirds. Even the private patio has flowers – fuschia, flowering maples, and more. If we decided to sit outside (a little too chilly), we would have had to fight off the hummingbirds. Like a retreat, but you don’t have to do any weeding.

Location is awesome. Across a two-lane road from Moonstone Beach. In case you haven’t been there, Moonstone Beach is not a location where you park your umbrellas and let the little ones play in the sand. This is a rocky beach – full of tide pools to be discovered at low tide and accessible by a short staircase. Wonderful to explore. The beach has a easy-to-walk wooden boardwalk along the top of the cliffs. The sunset is gorgeous!

Yes, this is our new go-to place in Cambria. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: As for the rooms on the right side of the hotel (same side as the office) - they have the private pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3CatMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Room was great size (2 queen beds!) plus a fireplace (wasnt quite cold enough to fire it up though). Pretty good location - right by the water, although a long walk to go into the "main street" of town. Room was clean and breakfast selection was decent to take back to your room. Got a cheap rate for the room so awesome value overall!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very scenic location with charming staff. Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocalaamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $140 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing