We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had an amazing stay at this seaside hotel. The location is perfect for walks on the beach (pebbles, not sand). The staff were beyond helpful --- they went out of their way to ensure our visit exceeded expectations. There were videos and games for the kids, a fireplace and the location is close to some great restaurants. In the morning, it was a short drive to see Elephant Seals and Hearst Castle. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    207
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
200
462
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We had only decided to stay in Cambria so that we could get an early start at Hearst Castle, but we wished that we had planned to stay much longer from the moment we arrived.

The location of the Sand Pebbles Inn is excellent, right across the road from the beach and the boardwalk. We arrived on a wild, windswept evening, and the view was gorgeous as the sun set over the sea. The next day, after our tour of Hearst Castle we rushed back to walk along the beach, then watched the sea otters cracking open shellfish as we walked along on the boardwalk. It was the perfect place to relax for a few days.

Our ground floor room had a partial sea view and we enjoyed being able to see the sea, and to hear it, particularly when falling asleep.

The staff was very friendly, and breakfast was good, particularly the waffles as other reviewers have mentioned. There are only a couple of tables in the breakfast serving room, so most guest take food back to their rooms to eat, and our room had a large table so it was not a problem.

Our room was large and comfortable. It was not the most modern looking room we have stayed in, and was more dated than we had expected from the outside appearance of the inn, particularly the bathroom, but it was very clean and well maintained. The large whirpool bath, fridge and microwave were welcome additions.

We would definitely stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn again. Next time we would plan to stay longer and probably go for one of the higher standard rooms with a full sea view if the budget stretches further.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Ask for a first floor balcony room- you'll be glad you splurged. Two things: a killer view of the ocean (180 degrees of horizon line) and a clean comfortable room with an outdoor patio and a great king bed (and seeing the ocean from one's bed- who doesn;'t love that?). Everything else was gravy: the boardwalk on the bluffs right across the road and the beach below; the Sea Chest restaurant practically next door; the off season lack of traffic, the quiet... lovely lovely lovely.
We were only there one night but we didn't want to leave. The staff (of one anyway) was lovely, professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugterranian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed in Room 117 for four nights in mid-May. This room had a patio facing the ocean, whirlpool bath, separate shower, king bed with fireplace. All was lovely and comfortable except for the wind, which might have been extraordinarily active for that time- we couldn't sit out on our patio the entire time we were there! Other than that, it was a great location for traveling to Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, Monana de Oro State Park ,etc. Also, the boardwalk across the street was an excellent place to walk, irregardless of the wind. The best restaurant was Wild Ginger with simpe but delicious specials - everything was well-prepared, the owner was gracious with service and recommendations for other eateries and the meal was well-paced and relaxed. The Black Cat Bistro had good food, but the service was so slow and lackadaisical that we still hadn't had our salad course after an hour. We were tired and hungry after a long day of sightseeing and trekking at a local state park, the last thing one needs is to feel forgotten in the corner.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs58ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I recently stayed three night at the Sand Pebbles Inn. I chose the hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews & the generous discount they give to AAA members. We arrived in the late evening and checked in to our King partial ocean view room. We had just missed the afternoon tea served from 3pm-6:30pm daily. In the morning, continental breakfast was served from 7am - 10am. The waffles were delicious!

Sand Pebbles Inn was very comfortable and we did not want to leave!! Everything was excellent: the staff, the location, the bed, the linens, the hot shower & awesome bath products. We also loved the cookies that were waiting for us each day when we returned to our room. Hopefully our travels will bring us back someday soon. It was one of the more pleasurable hotel stays in recent memory.

Moonstone beach is stunningly beautiful & walking along the path in front of the hotel was so nice even if it was cold & windy. This area of California is amazing as far as natural beauty goes. We chose Cambria as a base for exploring the area. It took us about two leisurely hours to drive up to Big Sur. We stopped to see the elephant seals near San Simeon. One day we toured Hearst Castle. Another day we drove down to Pismo Beach & San Luis Obisbo. There are so many fun things to do in the area, it really has something for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_in_my_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn in Cambria, CA, where we celebrated our 5th Anniversary, and this little gem exceeded all expectations.

The location is perfect as it is situated directly across the street (very light traffic) from gorgeous Moonstone Beach. The Inn is clean inside and out, and the staff was extremely friendly. We always felt taken care of, and we were treated as if we had been friends for a long time. There is plenty of parking. They have board games available in the reception area (no charge), as well as cold water and newspapers.

Our room, #214, is considered a partial ocean view, but we were pleasantly surprised by the row of windows giving us an exceptional view up Moonstone Beach (you can see the waves coming in while lying in bed). The building next door is low, so it doesn't block the view. There is a completely covered trash bin outside (in its own little building), but it was never an eyesore since the room is on the second floor. The room has a very comfy king size canopy bed as well as a gas fireplace. The heater worked exceptionally well for the cool night. The bathroom was clean, had plenty of counter space with all the typical amenities, and the water pressure in the shower was great. There was also a small microwave in the room, a small closet and an armoire with TV inside. There was a small, round table in the room as well with two chairs next to the window where we enjoyed some wine and cheese when we arrived, and our morning breakfast the next day. Speaking of which, breakfast (included) had the basics (milk, juice, coffee, fruit, yogurt, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fresh waffles made to order). There are small tables in the hallway for eating on, but we took our meal up to our room in order to enjoy the view while we ate.

Directly in front of the Inn is Moonstone Beach. It's all of a 10 steps away across Moonstone Beach Drive. The beach itself is situated about 25 feet below street level, and there are plenty of stairs to get down to it. For those who prefer a picturesque walk, there is a boardwalk that runs along above the beach (at street level), and it is not strenuous at all. Plenty of picture opportunities.

The town of Cambria (west) is a mile away (1-2 minutes by car), and there are plenty of little shops and restaurants to enjoy. We ate at Madeline's, and the food and service were outstanding. We also enjoyed some wine tasting at the Moonstone tasting room. There is a Cambria (east) about another mile up the main street, and it has lots more shops to explore. We had lunch at The Black Cat, which is a hip, little cafe serving excellent food.

If you are looking for excellent accommodations in a beautiful setting then you won't be disappointed. We weren't, and when it comes to an anniversary (guys) you want your wife to be happy and comfortable. We would definitely return to the Sand Pebbles Inn our next time up the California coast.

Oh yeah, almost forgot, Cambria is about a 20 minute drive away from Paso Robles (very beautiful drive on Hwy 46) where there are numerous wineries to enjoy. Our favorite is Bella Luna (in Templeton).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YOPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed at the Sand Pebbles Inn during a weekend getaway to tour Hearst Castle, where I met my sister and her husband. I had not been to that part of the California coast before, so was really unfamiliar with lodging options and the like. Based on reviews, we took a chance on rooms at the inn, and were pleasantly surprised.

The inn is located in an area that is primarily residential in nature, though in a stretch where several small inns are sited. Immediately across the street was a wooden walkway along the short cliff overlooking the ocean. So it is in an ideal location for those who love to be close to the ocean.

My first impression upon arriving was that the customer service was excellent. The staff was very friendly, and - likely because of the small number of rooms - were attentive to each guest. The gentleman who checked me in knew that my sister and her husband had checked in before me, and had placed us in nearby rooms. He also walked me to my room, took a moment to show me how the heating units and such worked, and ensured that I was satisfied with the room and its cleanliness.

The room itself was cozy and very comfortable. There was a small amount of wear in the carpets and on some of the fixtures, but everything was in good working order and exceedingly clean. That remained the same throughout the stay. The room I stayed in had a queen bed. The bathroom was quite large, and featured a jacuzzi-style tub and massage-type shower. There was a microwave and coffeemaker in the room (with excellent coffee provided for brewing). There was a wall-mounted heater and electric "fireplace", as well as a ceiling fan for heating and cooling. The windows were also easy to open to allow the marine air to circulate through the room.

Even though I was on the first floor, and the main set of windows was level with the parking/driveway, it was exceedingly quiet throughout the length of my stay - no matter if it was day or night. So it was quite relaxing to be able to fall asleep to the sound of the surf across the street.

There was a basic continental breakfast provided in what the staff referred to as the "tea room". Fruit, waffles, yogurt, eggs, and a few other items made up the basic options, so it was a good start to the day.

Parking was a little bit compact - a few diagonal spaces were available near the lobby, while parallel parking ringed two sides of the inn - but is was easy to get in and out.

In terms of price, the room rates were perhaps a tad on the high end. They did offer AAA rates, so there was some value in comparison to other lodging in the immediate area.

All in all, the Sand Pebbles Inn was a very nice place to stay. I would definitely stay there again if I return to the area. The only items that keep me from rating this a full 5-out-of-5 is the value and rooms, and that is only because I am unsure whether all travelers would be comfortable with the room rates and the rooms themselves. However, judging from previous reviews and my own experience, I think that the majority of travelers would be as pleased with their stay as I was.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Generic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing