We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beachside inn in Cambria”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely and clean seaside inn near Hearst Castle. However, no air conditioning so very difficult to get to sleep until around 11:30 because it was so hot. We just turned the fan on high and opened the windows and waited for the cool breezes to set in. The payoff was that we got to enjoy the sound of the crashing waves on the beach all night. We had two different rooms on the second floor, both on the north end. One was a corner room that had partial ocean view and the other had a full ocean view. Both rooms were excellent...beautifully decorated and very clean. The included "breakfast" was a different story. A real weak spot. The only protein I saw was some hard boiled eggs. Otherwise they had waffles, yogurt, bagels, etc. and a very small room to eat in. We ended up sitting in the hallway to eat.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and one is available, go for a second floor ocean front or partial view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheGrovesinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We did a double take on the comment about the air conditioning as our general temps in Cambria are quite mild and there is rarely a need for air conditioning, but you must have been here during one of those rare days when it gets very hot. Our complimentary breakfast is offered as a courtesy to our guests. We try to do more than a normal continental breakfast and have some additional offerings like our fresh waffles. We wish we had the space to expand and make a full breakfast, but we do the best we can to make it a step above a normal continental. Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 838 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a good place to stay for anyone visiting Cambria. The hotel is attractive, has good parking and the room was spacious with comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. We had a side-room with partial ocean view and the sound of the ocean rolling in through the shutters was a bonus.
The breakfast facilities were not ideal, in our view, as there was limited seating for guests at any one time; we ended up sitting at a different table from the kids (2 teenagers).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Catdaz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for the review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are pleased you had a chance to experience the ocean sounds, they are quite refreshing. We are aware that our dining room is small, but we wanted to offer a bit more than the usual continental breakfast for our guests and since it is so popular, it can be full at times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Travelling down the coast from SF to LA, we stayed for a night in room 217 I believe... it was upstairs ocean view. The room oozed coziness! We opened the shutters and windows to enjoy the "natural a/c" breeze and sounds of the waves all night. I enjoyed the love seat facing the windows as I read all of the personal notes from previous travelers left in the room's journal. The bed was the most comfortable of our whole ten-night trip! I so want to return, but stay longer and enjoy the beach and boardwalk.

Room Tip: choose ocean view or balcony! A must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Sand Pebbles Inn. We are so happy you had a chance to experience the area a little bit and we look forward to hosting you when you have time for a longer stay. There really is so much to do around Cambria, one day is rarely enough time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Perfect location on Moonstone Beach. Open your window and hear the ocean all day & night. Well kept property and breakfast was ample and hosted by a staff member. Nice ameneties. Would stay again. Seems most rooms have ocean view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frugalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for the review of Sand Pebbles Inn. The ocean sounds are quite soothing and really restful! We so appreciate you sharing your experience here, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This small, friendly hotel has very easy access to Heart Castle and we basically chose it for that reason. But it turned out better. It is a very nice place – just off the highway and right on the beach.

Our room was on the side of the hotel but it was still quiet and we could easily hear the waves breaking during evening and night. The room had comfortable beds, a gas fireplace and all other amenities were just fine.

Service is generally very friendly. Breakfast is good with all the regular items for continental breakfast and hot waffles. There is a server present who are pretty strict regarding the amount of fresh air she wants in the small breakfast area – we ended up moving out in the hall as the draft from the ocean was too much (too cold).

Would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hotfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at Sand Pebbles Inn. We are pleased you had a chance to visit Hearst Castle and to explore the local area a bit. We appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Large room, very clean, super friendly staff. Free breakfast. Since it is right on the beach and if you have a room facing the ocean you can watch the sun set over the Pacific. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itraveltheworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was probably our worst experience ever at a hotel in the U.S. About half an hour after our arrival, I mentioned the fan was not working to the front desk, where the clerk was chatting with two other employees. Another employee suggested to use a switch near the entrance door to activate the fan and the attached light, while another said they would come check it out. Back to the room, the fan's light did work but the switch cord appeared to be stuck and there was no way to start it. By then the room felt like a sauna. My wife was not feeling well and wanted to nap, so I could not open the window to get fresh air, and I did not want to have someone come and work on the fan at that time. Later on I told the clerk at the reception that someone needed to go fix the fan in our room and he said this would be done. By 9 p.m., nothing had been done, the front desk was in the dark and all doors locked. We had to let the windows open all night to get a bit of fresh air. The cost for the room was almost $ 300. Good luck.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, all they want is to fleece as much from you while penny pinching on your comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jccachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. First of all, our apologies. We clearly dropped the ball and we will review this with our staff to be sure we have a system in place to prevent this from ever happening again. As you can see from our other reviews, this is definitely not our customary level of guest service. It is our goal for all of our guests to leave with a great experience and wonderful service...and we are genuinely saddened when that is not the case. We hope you have another opportunity to visit us and create a much better memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $129 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing