We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Charming Property”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sand Pebbles is in a beautiful spot, just across the street from Moonstone Beach. The person at the check-in desk couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. You could tell she loved her job!

The property is very clean and well maintained. We were in room 204 and didn't purchase a ocean front room, but we had a fireplace in our room, a refrigerator and microwave and the room was spacious. The hotel is also quiet and in walking distance of the Sea Chest Oyster Bar (great food) and another Moonstone Bar & Grill.

We would stay here again and only wished we were staying more than 1 night! A great property that obviously is taken care of with TLC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Every day we strive to provide a superior customer experience. It is wonderful to hear that the Guest Service Host made you feel welcome and that your accommodations were comfortable.
Please come and see us again soon!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 833 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent one night here on the way to Monterey from LA. Staff were very pleasant and but the continental breakfast could be improved. Stayed in room 212 with a nice view of the ocean. A little pricey but on par with most hotels in the area. Could use a vending machine in the lobby for pop or bottled water. Would stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor near the front good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your room. I appreciate your comments regarding the vending machine and breakfast selection. I am planning on some additional items for our breakfast selection. The suggestions that we have received from our guest has made an impact on our management team. We look forward to providing our guest with some new items in the future.
Thank you for staying with us on Moonstone Beach. I hope that you return soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stopped here for a night on a Hwy 1 drive from San Francisco to LA. Overall it is nice for an Inn style hotel. Couple of downsides, not air-conditioning so was very hot at night on a 27 degree day. Rooms are quite small with low ceiling, and breakfast was nice but no savoury options. Service was very good, but make sure you don't arrive after 10pm as you have to go down the road to check in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpingewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in ocean-front room #117. The room was lovely but small. The drawbacks were that it did not have any drawers to unpack your clothes (the 3 drawers night hold a little underwear or socks) and there was a nightstand on only 1 side of the bed. However, I spoke to the desk about the nightstand issue and they moved a small stand in the room to the side of the bed, which worked out fine. The patio was not huge, but certainly big enough for the table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was big, with a jetted tub and separate shower. Also, the room had both water and wine glasses.

I thought the breakfast was very good for a continental buffet style breakfast. The pastries were nice and there was fresh fruit. Another potential drawback, however, was that there was a table for the breakfast room right outside our door. I was concerned about the potential for noise if someone used it, but we didn't see anyone at that table while we were there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware there is a breakfast room table right next to the doors to rooms 117 and 118.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your suggestions and I will most certainly bring this to the attention of our owners. We are always looking for ways to improve our product and service so we can make your stay as comfortable as possible.
We look forward to seeing you again, should you find yourself in Cambria.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Four of us stayed here in September. Our room looked directly out onto the ocean (most rooms have ocean view). This is basically an updated 50's motel. Our room was more updated than our friends room. $230/night is not cheap. Front desk staff was quite helpful. our room had a fireplace which we did not need to use. But it was nice to be able to open the windows and hear the ocean waves at night.
I give breakfast mixed reviews: The selection of pastries was good and included waffles made to order with chopped fruit for garnish. However the only protein was hard boiled eggs. The downstairs eating area for breakfast was very small, parts of it being in a dark corridor. Most people were carrying their breakfasts back to their rooms. If the person serving had mentioned there were trays for that purpose, we would have done the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of adding additional items to our breakfast selection. The waffles always seem to be a popular item, but your suggestions for adding additional breakfast items is a great idea. I appreciate your feedback and hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Another wonderful weekend in Cambria. The Sand Pebbles is a very relaxing hotel. The staff is very helpful. It is very convenient to walk to dinner at the Sea Chest and also to walk to the Moonstone bar and grill for lunch, drinks with big outdoor patio to watch the ocean. Beautiful! We have stayed many times at this hotel and also it's sister hotel the Blue Dolphin Inn. Ready to go back again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are sunny with better views in the morning light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindee1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were able to get a room for one night on a holiday weekend. Checkin was a breeze. We had a king bed with a partial ocean view. Nice fireplace but we did not get to use it. You can open your windows and hear the ocean at night. The beach and boardwalk is right across the street. Breakfast was really good, and the girl over seeing the food was very helpful. We wished we could have stayed another night to enjoy the hotel and area. Morro rock is less than 45 mins away, but this area is much nicer and glad we stayed here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $143 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing